Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 1,574
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Del Norte High School 5

Posted September 05, 2013
- a parent
We have 2 kids at Del Norte and have had such a positive experience during our time here. As a military family, we moved here 2 years ago and chose this area of San Diego based on the Poway school district reputation. This is by far the very best school our kids have attended! Both our kids have found it easy to make friends and become a part of the academic and athletic communities. The principal is amazing and inspires these kids to be better citizens. The teachers and coaches are the most professional we have ever dealt with. I couldn't agree more with the reviewer who said that it is like a private school education. Can't say my kids feel there is too much emphasis on money -- our kids have attended schools all across the country and sadly, that is just something that exists in a lot of places these days. Del Norte has a lot of students who come from families that value hard work, integrity and excellence in academics.

Del Norte High School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
We moved here 3 years ago from another state, and started my daughter as a freshman. We thought it would be challenging for her to fit in not knowing anyone, but she has truly blossomed at this school. The students and parents are some of the best we have ever had, and the quality of the education she has received is outstanding. She could not be happier and has taken advantage of AP classes offered, Del Norte Network broadcasting, and many other activities. We have been welcomed with open arms into this community and school.


Del Norte High School 2

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Del Norte has great academics. They encourage students to do well in school. The only problem is a majority of the students. They're wealthy and are very conceited about what they have. Some students have picked on my daughter because she doesn't live in a big house or have nice clothes. Parents on the other hand are very stuck up. A lot of them gossip about other students and their situations they go through and that's completely unexceptable. My daughter's experience here has been terrible and is now attending RB. I wouldn't recommend going to Del Norte.

Del Norte High School 5

Posted July 27, 2013
- a parent
Del Norte High School is amazing! if you are looking for private school quality without the snobbish attitudes this is it! Great teachers, technology, positive student body, great sports, beautiful and safe campus. My daughter is being challenged to reach her potential and is very happy at DN. She had an incredible Freshman year. Students are always encouraged to be positive, the bad apples get addressed right away. The principal is very involved and is a man of high integrity which shows in his leadership. We are so incredibly blessed to be Nighthawks! I highly recommend this school. This school is a 10 not an 8 in my book.

Del Norte High School 5

Posted March 30, 2013
- a community member
Del Norte is a great school. Transferred in from Aliso Niguel in OC, which was socially a very bad school, and overcrowded. PROS: Super, super academically competitive and brand new and very technologically advanced. Really friendly student body and it's made really easy to get involved in tons of extracurriculars. 1600 people overall, so a closer community feel. CONS: Very large class sizes and doesn't offer as many APs/Honors classes as more established schools. Definitely some very disorganized teachers among mostly wonderful teachers. Not much shade- you feel like you're roasting out there in the spring/summer. Trimester schedule limits AP students. 3 finals a year=stressful. Overall an amazing school, especially if you get involved. Very happy to be here.


Del Norte High School 5

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
Excellent teachers, strong principal/school leadership. Students are friendly. Great opportunities to participate in great School Clubs.

Del Norte High School 5

Posted April 27, 2011
- a parent
Great academic school with an up and coming athletic program. There are many opportunities for students to become academic and athletic leaders and team players. Give this school a couple of more years and it will be more competitive with the surrounding established high school sport programs...Rome wasn't built in a day!

Del Norte High School 4

Posted October 14, 2010
- a community member
Although I'm am not a student of Del Norte, I heve heard many things about the school from my friends who decided to go there. Because it is a newer school, the technology that is provided there is top notch. There are also many available leadership opportunities within the school for the students there. In terms of its physical layout and educational schedule, it is like a mesh of Mt. Carmel and Westview. However, it is currently limited in the number of classes it can provide, especially for the junior and senoir grade levels.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Del Norte High School
16601 Nighthawk Lane, San Diego, CA  92127
(858) 487-0877
Last modified Del Norte High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Del Norte High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top