Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

We are an online/blended, independent study high school within San Diego Unified School District. We are not a charter school. Students come to iHigh for a variety of reasons, although the common thread is the need for a more flexible coursework schedule than a traditional high school provides. Successful online students must have the maturity to be self-directed, self-motivated, and able to effectively manage their time. We are WASC-accredited. Our core and AP classes are UC a-g and NCAA approved.
March 27, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


iHigh Virtual Academy
Grateful to: no rating

Posted March 27, 2016
- a school leader
As principal, I would like to thank our students for their hard work and inspiring stories, our families for their trust and ongoing support, and our faculty and staff for their ongoing dedication to our students. We are a very small staff with a small annual budget and a very big mission to provide a high-quality online program in an environment that cultivates motivate, independent, lifelong learners. There may be times when we fall short, in which case I would appreciate hearing directly from any dissatisfied stakeholders so we can collaborate to address your concerns.

iHigh Virtual Academy
Teacher effectiveness: no rating

Posted March 27, 2016
- a school leader
We strive to recruit experienced and effective traditional-classroom teachers who are motivated to embrace the mission of online/blended learning. We provide extensive training in using the online learning management system, as well as in effective strategies for online teaching and learning. Since 2013, the majority of iHigh teachers have completed the 100-hour national certification training in online/blended learning through the San Diego County Office of Education.


iHigh Virtual Academy
Amount of homework: no rating

Posted March 27, 2016
- a school leader
The online courses include a sufficient quantity/quality of written assignments to gain approval from UC a-g as college-prep courses. For most online courses, there is an activity and assignment due for each school day. There is an assignment calendar (pacing guide) built into each class, to ensure that students keep on pace to complete the class by the end of the term. Students can expect to spend about one hour per day per class, even if they are working from home, to complete the assignments for each class. Students quickly learn that procrastination on assignments quickly snowballs into a very stressful situation. Early intervention by the counselor and/or Supervising Teacher includes assigned time on campus until students who have fallen behind are able to catch up in their classes.

iHigh Virtual Academy
Develops grit: no rating

Posted March 27, 2016
- a school leader
Each student has a Supervising Teacher who helps monitor student progress, along with the school counselor. Students have a pacing guide for each class. Early interventions, including assigned time on campus, are employed to help students keep pace with their coursework. Quiz re-takes are available as an incentive for students who wish to review a lesson and improve their scores. Most teachers provide feedback on written assignments and allow motivated students to re-submit for a higher grade. Students can view their grades and course completion rate in real-time, and receiving immediate feedback on computer-scored assignments. This combination of features helps keep students motivated and determined to do their best.

iHigh Virtual Academy
Develops respect: no rating

Posted March 27, 2016
- a school leader
Respect breeds respect. We take an active interest in each student starting with the admissions interview. We care about each student's goals and reasons for wanting to transfer to iHigh. Once enrolled, each student is supported by caring teachers who respect each child's needs and employ strategies that promote student success. Students learn to respect their teachers and fellow students by being immersed in a small-school environment where student voices are encouraged and valued.


iHigh Virtual Academy
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted March 27, 2016
- a school leader
iHigh serves a variety of students with various special needs and circumstances that have attracted them to our non-traditional program. The small-school culture of our school provides a nurturing environment where students get to know each other due to small class sizes. iHigh teachers strive to build a positive rapport with all of our students and to promote caring, understanding, and acceptance among the students.

iHigh Virtual Academy
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted March 27, 2016
- a school leader
Honesty and accountability are essential in on online independent study program. Students sign an Academic Honesty agreement as part of the enrollment process. The agreement explains the serious consequences for violations such as plagiarism. The Student/Parent Handbook outlines school rules and policies, which are equitably applied to all students. The teacher, counselor and/or principal will collaborate with the parent/guardian in the event that disciplinary action is needed.

iHigh Virtual Academy
no rating

Posted March 27, 2016
- a school leader
We are an online/blended, independent study high school within San Diego Unified School District. We are not a charter school. Students come to iHigh for a variety of reasons, although the common thread is the need for a more flexible coursework schedule than a traditional high school provides. Successful online students must have the maturity to be self-directed, self-motivated, and able to effectively manage their time. We are WASC-accredited. Our core and AP classes are UC a-g and NCAA approved.


iHigh Virtual Academy 2

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
I am concerned about the status of the school itself. From unprofessional teachers to budget blues, it appears that iHigh is no place for anyone. The city has not lived up to its responsibility in financing the campus and so, teachers and students are forced to work in very cheap environments, inside classrooms that appear to have been thrown together within a few minutes. There really are no after-school activities or even sports teams for that matter to take part in, which only adds to the boredom. Please understand that your son/daughter could most definitely receive an education at iHigh, though there is so much that he/she would be missing out on from avoiding the traditional high school experience.

iHigh Virtual Academy 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
My son is attending the online version of the school. He has had the same teacher for the past two years who calls almost every morning to check up on him and see how things are going. Whenever he has troubles, he is able to have an instant chat with any of the online teachers. They have been great. When he was very behind in Math, they helped him by giving him summer school with only the remaining assignments being due. The student has to be self motivated and be able to follow through. If the student cannot work without supervision, they would be better off at another school. Other than that, this is a perfect school for students who do not wish to go to the typical public high school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

iHigh Virtual Academy
3939 Conde Street, San Diego, CA  92110
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (619) 764-5440
Last modified iHigh Virtual Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12
Top