Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public charter
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Coleman Tech Charter High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 17, 2015
- a student
Not only does this school develop respect in the students but it encourages us to show respect

Coleman Tech Charter High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 17, 2015
- a student
this school definitely builds a warm heart inside a student because everyone is so caring and kind that its contagious


Coleman Tech Charter High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 17, 2015
- a student
Because this school has many good people who are hungry for success its hard to not follow. The teachers also encourage us to be the best of our self's

Coleman Tech Charter High School 5

Posted September 17, 2015
- a student
this school has given me an exceptional experience. It is full of great energy and positive influences. The teachers try the best they can to make a connection with the students.

Coleman Tech Charter High School 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a student
I chose to attend Coleman Tech Charter HIgh School because I wanted to stay in the charter school system having previously attended a charter middle school. CTCHS was a perfect fit for me. I love how it is a smaller school, which made it easier for me to transition into high school. I also like how the classes are set up. The teachers are amazing and strive to make classes fun, yet educational. The way they teach, through different and innovative instruction, makes it so much easier to learn, retain information, and orient ourselves around current events leading to community engagement and civic mindedness. I like CTCHS, and am glad that I chose to attend this school.


Coleman Tech Charter High School 4

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
I felt the school did a good job of reaching out to all students and creating a learning environment where they could work in classrooms with teachers who took a personal interest in them as students and as human beings. The class size was small so students could receive individual help while also working in groups to learn collaboration. The English 12 teacher was especially innovative in her teaching methods reaching students who may have originally not had a good experience in English. She reached out to the community to provide real world learning and an opportunity for her students to hear from people that may very well employ them in the future. The school provided great information about college going and all the teachers were willing to meet and discuss each students progress anytime. They all communicated well and made sure everyone was well informed about their students work, strengths and needs. I would recommend this school to students and families interested in a school community where the focus is the students, helping them meet their greatest potential.

Coleman Tech Charter High School 2

Posted August 19, 2015
- a student
As a former student of CTCHS, I was appalled by some of the things that went on there. The administration handles some issues terribly, and the academics are nothing to brag about. Teachers are quite lenient about many things, and some of them are deeply unprofessional. The principal, Dr. Wahab, is also extremely unprofessional. There is a very loose curriculum and some of the teachers do not uphold any piece of it. Despite that, these teachers are never held accountable for failing students because they are the friends of Dr. Wahab. Classes are far too simple and, therefore, the students do not learn to their potential. I found myself unsatisfied with coursework very often. THERE IS NO BOOK READING IN ENGLISH 12. Seniors in English 12 are NOT required to read or report on any books. How is that college prep? There were once very good teachers there, when I started during my sophomore year, but their positions were terminated at the end of that year. Those were arguably the best teachers on campus. Unsurprisingly, all of Dr. Wahab's friends still hold their teaching position. Dr. Wahab's close friend is the English 12 teacher that has NO CURRICULUM. The administration is skewed quite badly. I would NOT recommend this school to potential high school students. It is unorganized and the learning structure is poor. There are some very great and honest teachers there, but they are not the majority anymore. The growing school has good intentions, but the execution of said intentions are poor, and all and all do not benefit the students in the long run.

Coleman Tech Charter High School 5

Posted May 21, 2015
- a community member
CTCHS states that they are a "college going and beyond" school, Well my son just got a 4 year scholarship to San Diego State University because of the wonderful education he received to CTCHS. Do not let the word Charter fool you, THIS IS A FREE SCHOOL. Like you, we looked long and hard for the right high school to send our son too. We have raised 3 kids and have 20 years of high school experiences here in San Diego because of our kids age differences, We have even done home school because the normal district schools could not provide a safe, proactive learning environment. So we knew what we wanted in a high school. I was really impressed by the fact that the teachers all had college degrees in the subjects they were teaching. Most had two degrees!!. But after meeting with Dr Wahab MD and Dr McCurdy PH.D we knew that we had found the right school. Over the last 4 years he has had full support from the teachers and staff. The small class sizes are a huge advantage for personalized input from the teachers. As a parent the staff is easy to talk to and have a lot of caring when it comes to your child. It is a good fit for any type of student. Dr Wahab's has built a wonderful school, and her free "FOCUS" nights where she teaches you about the various college systems, costs, financing, prepping your student and gives you the inside track from the admission people themselves, was indispensable in planning our sons path to college. I highly recommend this school and its wonderful staff.


Coleman Tech Charter High School 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a student
This school has a great facet on technology. Having been built a few years before, this is one of the most modern and updated schools in the area. If you want to do something with technology, this is the school for you!

Coleman Tech Charter High School 5

Posted March 17, 2015
- a student
After joining the Coleman Tech community, my self esteem and confidence has incredibly boosted. Coleman Tech paves a bright path that many teenagers need to be led to begin walking on, builds the sense of community the psyche craves, and provides a safe place for those who are commonly known as outcasts.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coleman Tech Charter High School
3540 Aero Court, San Diego, CA  92123
(858) 874-4338
Last modified Coleman Tech Charter High School is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Coleman Tech Charter High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top