Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
6 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Private schools aren't allowed to take all those standardized tests, so lessons are focused on deep understanding, not just memorizing. And the longer school day lets us have real discussions, with research and exploration. One time we got interested in the plan the city had to cut down shade trees and replace them with palm trees. We researched and analyzed the actual proposal, looking at the photo-shopped before and after photos. Then we wrote letters and planned to go to the public meeting about it. A newspaper was interested in interviewing us after we made our presentation. But the topic kept getting postponed, two or three times, and then the plan was dropped so we never got to go. So maybe we made a difference, even though we never got to share our letters. It was cool. And that longer school day allows us to limit homework to class work that wasn't completed in class. We believe that parents shouldn't have to fuss with homework at the end of a long work day.
November 19, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
3 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Renaissance Village Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Little to no homework as they school day is 9:15 - 5:15 which allows parents and children to have a life rather than doing busy work. Great life/career preparation.

Renaissance Village Academy 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Both of our kids are enrolled in this school and have been for several years. We are pleased with the schedule, curriculum, staff and facilities. It is ideal for working parents and there are many activities that you cannot find in most schools (large or small), such as martial arts, piano, art, cooking, gardening and more.


Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
Being unfair gets you in trouble. Not a punishment, really, but you have to talk to Miss Nancy and explain what you did and why. Then you have to apologize to whomever you were unfair. You get in less trouble if you own up when you do something wrong. Everyone gets a warning the first time they do something wrong, with the consequences clearly laid out for all the students to understand.
Posted November 19, 2015

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Private schools aren't allowed to take all those standardized tests, so lessons are focused on deep understanding, not just memorizing. And the longer school day lets us have real discussions, with research and exploration. One time we got interested in the plan the city had to cut down shade trees and replace them with palm trees. We researched and analyzed the actual proposal, looking at the photo-shopped before and after photos. Then we wrote letters and planned to go to the public meeting about it. A newspaper was interested in interviewing us after we made our presentation. But the topic kept getting postponed, two or three times, and then the plan was dropped so we never got to go. So maybe we made a difference, even though we never got to share our letters. It was cool. And that longer school day allows us to limit homework to class work that wasn't completed in class. We believe that parents shouldn't have to fuss with homework at the end of a long work day.
Posted November 19, 2015

Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
RVA has a longer school day, so learning is done through class work rather than homework. If a child doesn't finish work in the allotted time, it can become homework, but the only standard assignment is 20 minutes of reading a day. Miss Nancy doesn't believe that parents should have to fuss with homework at the end of a long work day.
Posted November 19, 2015


Renaissance Village Academy 5

Posted February 02, 2013
- a parent
My son went to Renaissance Village Academy for 2 years, and loved it. RVA is truely the school you wish you could of gone to as a child. My son loved all the activities like drama, karate, weekly gardening, learning Russian and even a fun river rafting adventure. My son would still be going there had it gone through High School. Learning at RVA is fun, yet challenging I highly reccomend checking out their website and visiting one of their many free events or open houses http://rva.us.com/.

Renaissance Village Academy 5

Posted April 25, 2012
- a parent
Our son attends RVA & we couldn't be happier with this decision. Education at RVA is about the whole child, not about teaching to a test. Having a place where he can feel part of a group of like minded students has done wonders. Karate, drama, organic gardening, field trips & more add to the classroom lessons. Our son has found a love of gardening he never had before as a result of their weekly garden work. I strongly encourage anyone to contact our director, Miss Nancy, with questions and to set up a time to come visit. This is truly a one of a kind experience where our son can be all that he can be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Renaissance Village Academy
9988 Hibert St., Suite 301, San Diego, CA  92131
(858) 564-9622
Last modified Renaissance Village Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Renaissance Village Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top