Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 380
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Adobe Bluffs Elementary School 3

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
ABES was much better under the leadership of the previous principal. The current principal dismisses serious parent concerns and is at best inept. Although there are some teachers who embrace special needs children, the principal does not and sits silent during IEP's just as a figurehead. There are several outstanding teachers, but several abhorant ones too who are frankly emotionally abusive to some children. I am not the only parent who feels this way. I know 5 families who have pulled their children out of this school to home school them. New leadership and proper oversight of burned out/ inappropriate teachers has been needed for several years now. Good school scores mean nothing if children's self esteem is damaged.
1 person found this helpful

Adobe Bluffs Elementary School 3

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
There are some truly fantastic teachers at this school. The principal is very involved which is nice. The problem is the parent community. Discrimination runs rampant. If your child is not the right ethnic race, or you don't make enough money to support the foundation or the PTA regularly, or if your kids has any special need whatsoever, it's a tough school to be a part of. The Foundation and the PTA have too much influence over this school.


Adobe Bluffs Elementary School 1

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
The teachers in this school are not that much mature to understand that when they make a mistake and are told by parents, they need to admit that they were not right. It's that simple! Instead they lie to you. My kid does the home works properly, except one time that she didn't finish it while she thought she did. The teacher said she lied to her Instead of being positive and say that possibly the kid didn't listen to her expectation for homework. This school makes me sick. They face with kids as if they are 50 or 60 years old not just an elementary age who still needs guiding in a positive way not condemning them to lying. Talking with the principal regarding that? It's a big joke and wasting your time since he won't take your side no matter what. It becomes even worse if you come from a different culture which means that they discriminate your kid easily at this school. They take you and your child self-steam away instead of providing a healthy environment . Not a nurturing, mentally healthy school at all. Like this incidents has happened many times to others too. The website doesn't let you leave a review without giving star/stars. Otherwise I would give it a zero!
1 person found this helpful

Adobe Bluffs Elementary School 3

Posted April 26, 2013
- a parent
The issues I've had here that is taking away two stars from my original review at the beginning of the new year is that aggressive behavior from other children is prevalent. As much as the district talks about the core characteristics, which include "respect" and "kindness", the fact is that many kids have none when it comes to interacting with their peers. It's more than a challenge for an otherwise thoughtful child when constantly exposed to this negative behavior from other students. The worst part, is that the teachers do little. "Yard Duty" have been reported to completely ignore an upset child in favor of chit chatting with another monitor. They also claim they don't see ANY of the issues that have come up on a daily basis. I'm exhausted from trying to deal with the problems that arise on the home side that originate at school. I've had conversations with the school about this to no avail. I tried working with them. The bottom line is that it falls to the parents, most of whom are not teaching their children how to treat others with kindness and respect. Sad. I'm removing my child from school and will be homeschooling beginning this coming year (2013/2014).
1 person found this helpful

Adobe Bluffs Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2010
- a parent
We were new to Adobe Bluffs last year. Our family is so happy of be a part of this great school.


Adobe Bluffs Elementary School 4

Posted January 28, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Adobe Bluffs Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
This is an amazing school! This is my daughter's first year here- 4th grade- and it's been fantastic. She's lucky to have a creative and supportive teacher (Mr. Knorr) who understands how to motivate, encourage & teach kids better than any teacher I've known to this point. He's also great at working w/ students & their parents on an individual level. The principal, Mr. Atkins, seems to support the teachers by providing a great environment for them to teach. I agree w/ other comments that the entire environment is conducive to not only learning but also loving to learn; from parents to teachers to support staff to the PTA and the kids themselves. I've seen my daughter grow & excel here, and she absolutely loves it. I'm lucky that she goes there and can't wait for my son to start there next year!

Adobe Bluffs Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
Yes this school rightly deserves a 10/10! My son went here for 4 years, he's had wonderful teachers especially Mrs. Bollish (K) and Mrs. Marks (2nd-3rd). They have a special type of class where the student stays with one teacher for two grades. This does help because by the start of the 2nd year, the teacher can quickly and easily give your child the attention and help they need because they already know their strengths and weaknesses. They had great activities like Diversity Day, Thanksgiving Potluck, and Winter Carnival. Academics was great but so was the atmosphere! Great PTA. The kids at this school were all really polite and kinda sheltered, meaning they didn't act tough or old for their age, they didn't know about swear words or promiscuity or things like that, they were just happy little kids. I know that comes from having strong and loving families.


Adobe Bluffs Elementary School 1

Posted January 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Adobe Bluffs Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2006
- a parent
This school is an excellent school! The quality of academic programs is very good. The PTA does a great job providing art, sports and extracurricular activities. There does need to be more music at all grade levels. The principal is very active and absolutely the best. The PTA president for 2005-2006 will continue next year and there is no better president. The level of parent involvement & volunteerism is very high. I highly recommend Adobe Bluffs.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Adobe Bluffs Elementary School
8707 Adobe Bluffs Drive, San Diego, CA  92129
(858) 538-8403
Last modified Adobe Bluffs Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Adobe Bluffs Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top