Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highland Ranch Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

My son has attended this school since he was in first grade! He is now finishing up 4th and unfortunately, we are moving to another state. We have had issues with bullying, but the staff (principal included) was very proactive on a solution. I could do without some of the parents; however, the school has been one of the best! My son has excelled intellectually because of the amazing teachers and if you are contemplating this school you won't be disappointed! We are really sad we have to leave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2014

I joined my daughter without researching or reading reviews here. The school staff is rude and my daughters teacher is silently bullying her. My daughter was telling me that she never looks at my work, she never appreciates her work. Whether she likes it or not, its the least common sense to appreciate with one word to that small child to say "Good Job". Teachers here should understand they are mistreating small kids who don't know how to defend themselves or fight back. Shame on these teachers to have blunt hearts like this. If you don't do something about it, no one will join your school. Make it a habit to listen to parents. Keep your ears open.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

I have two children at HRES and am very happy with this school. The new Principal, Cindy Venolia, is an excellent communicator and a very dynamic leader. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2013

Excellent school! My son loves his teacher, has made great friends, and is learning excellent character traits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

We have been in this school for 2 years, going into our 3rd year this Fall 2013. So far the teachers have been wonderful. Mrs. McGurrell has to be one of best teachers there. She makes learning fun for the kids, but she definitely adjusts the curriculum based on the child's learning level and capacity. So if your child is advanced, she/he has the opportunity to grow. Her frequent email updates are a great way of keeping in close touch with the classroom events. Heard 'rumors' about the ex-principal but this Fall there is a new one so here is hoping to better results with her. The parent involvement is super, and the foundation is so enthusiastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

The parking situation is terrible. The Principal is unprofessional, very cold, and not very warm and inviting. She "labels" families, and ours has been branded for 2 years. You can just tell by the way you are treated. Some of the teachers are good but I see a need for change. We are taking our son out of this school and moving him to another Poway School even though Ms. Watson is leaving. I don't think he will ever get a fair shot at learning. The playground is horrible and the school looks rundown. The class rooms are over crowded and if it wasn't for the parent helpers most children except the smartest and brightest would get any attention. I am not usually one to comment publically about anyone or anything but I felt compelled to write about HRES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

My two children are here. My husband is a teacher in another district so we have some perspective from both sides. The fact is, Ms. Watson has been amazing to my special Ed classified daughter. And she has been so supportive, yet firm with both my kids. So I find it ironic that those who complain about "bullying" at the school have been the ones to "bully" her out of this same school. I have my own hypothesis about their motivations, but I will keep my theories to myself. Don't hesitate to send your kids here. Smart people (I'm referring teachers, not the "entitled and self important parents") and nice ethnic diversity. Oh, wait, that's maybe what some of you DIDN'T like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

I ADORE every single teacher my children have had. The foundation and PTA are trying to get thing going. The parking situation is horrendous, and they are trying something new this year, it is a bit better, but the school was not designed for this many parents to be driving in. The Principal is just very cold, and not very warm and inviting. She "labels" families, and we've been branded. You can just tell by the way you are treated. Not soo cool. If there were not great teachers, we'd be out in a hot second.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

Highland Ranch is a good school with horrible principle Ms.Anita Watson. She lacks leadership skills and is rude. My daughter is in 5th grade now and is in Highland Ranch since KG. All the teachers are wonderful and communicate really well. PTA and Foundation are doing lot of good things for the kids. But this school needs good principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2012

I can sum it up quite simple. The principal is horrible. Ms. Watson is very rude, not professional at all and a big bully! It is obvious why so many leave this school not to mention that EVERY Complaint has the principal listed in it. She has even had court issued restraining orders by parents due to her bullying!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

Dangerous levels of bullying at this school. Principal is totally inadequate in dealing with this. The school office staff is unfriendly and rude. I would not recommend anyone sending their child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

Our daughter has been at this school for 4 years. It's a great school with a professional staff, including Ms Watson! It is unfortunate that parents with children with behavioral problems chose to blame staff members, however those of us who have children who are there to learn and not be a problem know what's really going on with these accusations. I, for one, couldn't be happier when these parents transfer their child to another school so our children can focus on getting an education. Also, kudos to Ms Harris, Ms Levchenko, & Mr Flanders all are excellent teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

The PTA and many of the teachers are fantastic. The Principal has a court ordered restraining order against her. Why is she still there? Anita Watson has a reputation of treating parents unprofessionally, is rude and inconsistent in her treatment of children and families. If a parent speaks up in anyway them and their child are targeted and harrassed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2011

Office staff has been very helpful. They were patient and I noticed they spoke with respect to the kids. I like how the principle and school fosters independence and accountability. I am a parent to my kids and not their best friend so the style appeals to me. The kindergarten teacher is awesome times two. She has a fantasic reputation in reading. My daughter has given her thumbs up on the teacher and class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

Both our kids are in HRES and the school is reasonably fine with some mediocre and some exceptional teachers. The Principal leaves a lot to be desired in terms of leadership through innovation and inspiration. Seems like that opinion is shared among parents (including below), but not sure what can be done, so our taxpayer dollars are better spent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

We have been very involved in HRES. Excellent band and choir programs. PTA puts children first by providing family building activities. Teachers are caring and very kind. Unfortunately the principal lacks professionalism. If you do voice a concern you and your children are targeted and "labeled" as a troublemaker and treated poorly. Office staff is cold. PUSD is an awesome district but we are enduring our elementary school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2011

I have had children at this school for a few years. The teachers are wonderful. The PTA does a lot for the school, students, and teachers. The principal is a horrible leader. What once was a great school has become a poor school due in large part to the principal. It is time for some change at Highland Ranch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

I love the school but very disappointed in the ESS program. My son was hurt by older boys at ESS the first week he was there and no one knew about it. I feel that they didn't handle the situation appropriately and someone need to do a random visit/inspection. I know people who are considering moving kids of of this school b/c of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

The best thing about Highland Ranch is 2nd grade Teacher Linda Harris. She is an exceptional teacher who is truly dedicated to the education of her students. She turned my son from a below average student to a student who exceeds or meets all standards. My son loves her like a best friend. I have never seen a more organized and structured classroom. I wish more teachers had her commitment and concern for the education of our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

I wish I had better things to say about Highland Ranch. I recently transferred my child to a different Elementary School for one reason, the Principal. She doesn't take the safety of the kids seriously, nor does she take one of the biggest problems in public schools seriously, bullying. She says 'boys will be boys' and laughs at any indication that bullying actually takes place in 'her school'. She is irresponsible and will but a band-aid on issues rather than fixing the problems. I was embarrassed for my child to go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

913

Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

913

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females87%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students83%
Females82%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner78%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females67%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino25%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to state57%

Math

All Students82%
Females79%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females85%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learner90%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females79%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females78%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipino73%
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)87%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females77%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students75%
Females69%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipino55%
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 44%
Asian 24%
Hispanic 14%
Two or more races 9%
Black 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/AN/A
English language learners 24%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14840 Waverley Downs Way
San Diego, CA 92128
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 674-4707

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Discovery Isle
Poway, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT