Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

RBHS is an outstanding school with a focus on academics, co-curricular and extra curricular programs. There are a variety of athletic teams and clubs on campus for students to get involved in as well. Parents are encouraged to become part of the school by joining foundations, PTSA, boosters, and volunteer work all to support the students.
April 24, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rancho Bernardo High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
Staff has believed in diversity for many years since inception. In my humble experience, the staff and educators believe in "doing the right thing", despite how difficult the situation may be.

Rancho Bernardo High School 5

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
Clean, professional yet friendly. Staff is courteous. Environment is safe and healthy. Both academics and sports are very well accepted.


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
RBHS is an outstanding school with a focus on academics, co-curricular and extra curricular programs. There are a variety of athletic teams and clubs on campus for students to get involved in as well. Parents are encouraged to become part of the school by joining foundations, PTSA, boosters, and volunteer work all to support the students.
Posted April 24, 2016

Rancho Bernardo High School 5

Posted January 30, 2013
- a community member
i went to this school and the only thing good about it is their music program. Its haaaaaaaaaaard baby. they prepare you for your music career really well. We have won tournaments for like the past decade now. If you are going there for the music, let me give you some advice. If you arent in it to win it.... get out. nothing else about this school is worth talking about. i gave it 5 out 5 just because of their music program

Rancho Bernardo High School 5

Posted October 09, 2012
- a parent
My three kids attended RBHS. All three were accepted by major universities including UCLA, Univ of Texas, Univ of Michigan just to name a few. They also received merit and talent based scholarships. RBHS teachers and staff prepared them well (along with parental motivation!) My 2 sons loved the school, but my daughter felt like she didn't quite fit into the social circles there. Her senior year was a little out of the ordinary, and the principal and counselors worked with her to help her meet her goals. I must say that Principal Paul Robinson (who just recently left RBHS) is an exceptional educator and administrator. He had a true caring attitude for his students, particularly the ones who were out of the main stream. I believe that Paul attended every sporting event, choir concert, band performance and student activitiy that was held at the school. My kids have moved on, but they (and I ) fondly remember their time at RBHS. The best thing you can do for your student in school is to volunteer your time to one of the many school organizations, and get you kids involved in an extracurricular activity that they enjoy.


Rancho Bernardo High School 3

Posted December 08, 2011
- a community member
I am a student at RBHS and I feel that some of the safety mesures here are not quite taken seriously...Also the teachers can tend to pick out favorites from their classes and they would mostly just be mean to the other students

Rancho Bernardo High School 3

Posted June 15, 2011
- a student
As a former RB student, I would honestly have to say there school is nothing to special or anything remotely close to brag about. I grew up in the area and was very excited to go to RBHS after getting an inner-district transfer just to attend the school instead of another PUSD school that I now attend. However, I was greatly disspapointed with RB. The academics are subpar, as RB goes by the traditional semester schedule in which you take 12 courses a year, 3 less than the PUSD's other high school's Mt. Carmel and Del Norte, and 4 less than Westview. The decelerated learning pace could help kids who struggle in school, but with one 30 minute after-school tutorial through the course of one week, not much help is given. The teachers (who were also coaches) at times seemed to care about RB's sports more than the actual class itself, as RB has a very heavy sports reputation. The school campus seems a bit more outdated than it should be considering it opened in 1990, but it's not a major problem. The upsides about RB are definitely the sports and school pride. RB's school spirit is a huge thing that I enjoyed during my time there. Overall RBHS is decent, but look elsewhere if you can.

Rancho Bernardo High School 5

Posted June 04, 2011
- a parent
The review that starts "This school does not have a funding problem,..." is so off base that I had to comment. I have 2 kids in RB High and have been extremely impressed with the school, staff, and programs. RBHS is ranked very high on greatschools.org for a reason. They have top notch teachers and administrators that really care for students and want them to succeed in school and in life. One pearl is the RBHS band program. This is one of the top programs in CA and wins most of the major competitions. College music programs all know about RBHS. My son is receiving a scholarship because of his involvement in the band program. The school also has a premier sports program and wins championships every year. The baseball program is nationally known and received a national championship several years ago. Overall, it is all about the education, though, and I feel my kids will be completely prepared for college. As a parent, I am thrilled my kids were able to attend RBHS.


Rancho Bernardo High School 5

Posted November 11, 2010
- a student
Coming from a student at RB High, i have a different perspective. Rancho Bernardo is not the prettiest high school, nor is it the cleanest. Yeah its "an old school" but most students forget the layout of the school during their time at RB. Rancho Bernardo is a very competitive high school when it comes to both athletics and academics and our music program consistantly beats all the other schools. Thats the reason RB is #1 against all other PUSD schools, it has heart & pride. Some of the most challenging AP and honors classes out there are at RB. It is true though that if your child is an average student or has trouble in school, i wouldn't pick Rancho Bernardo. From what i've seen most students who don't do well here are usually the un-motivated ones, teachers don't hold your hands here but thats true for most schools. This is a very famous high school for a reason, Broncos are #1!

Rancho Bernardo High School 1

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
This school does not have a funding problem, it has a management problem. The class schedules, rotations and outrageous holiday schedules combined with a 'do the minimum' faculty put learning in the backseat. The priority is to fill the seats and perform on the standardized tests. They actually took classroom time out last year for an assembly to remind students to get to bed early and be prepared for the testing the next week. The teachers do not expect much out of the students. I can't say RB is any worse than other schools in the area. Its not a war zone and if your child is motivated and on the honors track they can thrive. If they need help, structure, expectation etc, go private or don't expect much.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rancho Bernardo High School
13010 Paseo Lucido, San Diego, CA  92128-4499
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (858) 485-4800
Last modified Rancho Bernardo High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top