Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rolling Hills Elementary School 3

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
They have too much population and not enough room so they fit 2 fourth grade and 2 fifth grade classes in mobile sections outside of school which is pretty unusual. The teachers don't seem to like the parent involvement and the principal doesn't seem that much involved. The GT kids go without any attention or recognition... they are not closely worked with ... and the bully problem is pretty is significant. Also Before and aftercare teachers don't seem to know the students at all and normally mix up parents and kids... they don't have as much enrichment and variety of programs for kids during after school and bullying is significant during this period as well. They are very dis organized in before and after care.

Rolling Hills Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
They are not working hard enough, they are stubborn and don't take the parent involvement and the student growth seriously. They don't care about the GT students and don't invest and allocate any resource that is qualified and well engaged with the GT kids. They are not willing or responsive to any change... not sure how they got their rating but I doubt if it sustain if they continue like this.


Rolling Hills Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
My son attend to an ASD pre-k classroom in RHES HE LOVE THE SCHOOL the staff is excellent so as the principle

Rolling Hills Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2012
- a parent
We have three boys who have attended this school and have LOVED it. Such a nice small school, you know all the students and teachers - such a great sense of community. Really well done chorus and band program, art and PE enrichment thanks to the Foundation. PTA programs throughout the year for evening family events. They do a great job preparing our kids for middle school and beyond! The ESS program is great, and there are several after school enrichment programs offered on campus. Adjacent to a really nice park that is the heart of the neighborhood, I smile every time I drive by and see all the happy children playing after school.

Rolling Hills Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2012
- a parent
I have two kids at RHES and we LOVE it!! It's a small school in a small neighborhood that is big on community. The principal, teachers and staff are amazing and the parents are really involved. We have a great PTA and Foundation, which provide so many wonderful "extras" for the kids!


Rolling Hills Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
We just ended our first year at Rolling Hills. I have a Kindergardener and a 3rd grader. We had previously paid for expensive private school over $12,000 per year per child. Rolling hHills provided my children with an excellent education. They also get extra support in Math for my daughter. She is not at grade level for all subjects. The school has a great music and PE program which is funded by the parents through the "Foundation". Although there is no formal arts program, they do have opportunities for your children to participate in if they choose.

Rolling Hills Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2011
- a parent
I have two kids in second and first grade at this school. This is a small public school in a very closed knit middle class neighborhood. I can feel that the parents and teachers care a great deal about the children. The principle leadership is very strong. The teachers are very competent. The school is never lack of the parent volunteers. My husband and I are educated parents who share the good old family and education value. We are very happy with this school. This school is truely a hidden gem.

Rolling Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
The Rolling Hills community is like a little village where the kids and their education are a priority for everyone!


Rolling Hills Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 17, 2010
- a parent
Great school close to the house. Teachers engaged and caring

Rolling Hills Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
The school is amazing because of the people! Students, teachers, staff, parents, principal... everyone works as a community to give our kids the best! Fantastic place to be and learn!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rolling Hills Elementary School
15255 Penasquitos Drive, San Diego, CA  92129-1016
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (858) 672-3400
Last modified Rolling Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top