Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunset Hills Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
Great school for our kids. All the staff and parents are caring, enthusiastic, encouraging, supportive, and friendly. It's a lovely community and we feel lucky to live near this school. Lots of parent involvement -- I went on one trip (an overnight stay on a tall ship) and the staff there said they had never seen so many parents in a group.

Sunset Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
Sunset Hills is not just a school, but a community that works together to insure our the students have a safe, caring learning environment. The parents, teachers, staff and administration all work together taking the best interest of the students to heart. Volunteerism is very high on parents' priorities at Sunset Hills and that is reflected in the excellence at the school. The teachers, staff and administration take learning very seriously and they themselves are continually take training and classes to bring the latest innovations to Sunset Hills. In the past few years, test scores have improved tremendously and have been recognized by the school District.


Sunset Hills Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2012
- a parent
Nice , worm school, kids feel comfortable with the teachers and staff. My son is very happy in this school.

Sunset Hills Elementary School 3

Posted November 28, 2010
- a parent
This school could be a great school. But it's run by a activist parents who have complete control over who teaches their child. Sadly, you'll not see diversity and balanced classes because of it. Read an article today reminded me of this school. It says "The parents on the PTA gave the principal what she wanted for the school with money from the PTA coffers, and the principal gave these parents the teachers they wanted for their little darlings. It was nauseating,and unfair to kids whose parents were not in the "in" crowd."But this can backfire. A child may want the more soft-spoken or less demanding teacher, but derive the most benefit from the teacher that pushes them just a bit more to achieve at a higher level than the child would work without the added push. You never know, that non-favorite teacher may be the one your child remembers for having put them on the road to success.

Sunset Hills Elementary School 3

Posted September 08, 2010
- a parent
Attended by mostly privileged children of stay-at-home moms who coddle. There is little diversity, and lots of drama and gossip (by admin, staff, teachers AND parents). Teachers are hit and miss, some great ones and some horrible (mean, don't follow curriculum, lazy). We have been very disappointed by this school.


Sunset Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
Our wonderful teachers, staff and parent volunteers give our kids many extra opportunities for learning and fun!

Sunset Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 02, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are very kind and caring.

Sunset Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 02, 2009
- a parent
Sunset Hills has a wonderful sense of community and school spirit!


Sunset Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful special ed program for high functioning Autistic/Asperger kids.

Sunset Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
THe support staff is amazing and they believe in my children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunset Hills Elementary School
9291 Oviedo Street, San Diego, CA  92129
(858) 484-1600
Last modified Sunset Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunset Hills Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top