Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Adams Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 336 students

Our School is known for Hands-on Labratory Science and GATE Programs.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $235,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2013

The new principal is horrible...she called me in her office (like i was a child) and labeled me for being an outspoken person. .She did it the whole time with a smile on her face. When I walked out the secretary looked like she was happy the principal fixed my wagon.That being said...The staff is horrible here...very bossy, they think they own your kids and if you don't like them or act different or talk loud...they think your that way to your kid or that you have some problem that needs to be corrected...very intrusive. However the teachers are the only thing that saves this school from this horrible principal...they are great and hold no judgement against different people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

Adams is an excellent school the teachers and staff are great they care for the children and their education my grandchildren really enjoy going to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

I am a parent who has been involved with Adams for almost 10 years. I currently have 2 children enrolled at the school. The teachers, staff, and principal are awesome. They truly care about the education our children receive. How can you not like a school that encourages involvment by Dads and other male role models in our students lives by hosting a monthly Dads Night!?! The tests scores at the school are not the best but they are improving thanks to the dedication of the teachers, principal, and ALL support staff (including Ms. Leona and Mr. Angel). I am a parent that believes you get out of an education what you put in. Be an involved parent, get to know the staff and administrators at Adams, and I promise you will LOVE this school. I no longer live in the neighborhood but I commute 20 minutes everyday to take my children to Adams. Keep up the good work Adams. Go Tigers!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

We are visitors from Denmark and have our two girls in Adams Elementary School. Before we chose Adams my husband visited some of the other schools in the district, but he had a good feeling about Adams from the very beginning. We have not been disappointed, on the contrary, we are astounded by the spirit, leadership and teacher quality of this place. You have the feeling that everybody wants the very best for your child and our girls just love their school! Compared to Danish standards the level of and focus on Math and Science is higher and i'm sure our children will benefit from this when we get home again. The school has a high level of Spanish speaking students, however, the tutoring of the English language programme is very professional and has made our girls speak and understand English after only three months. Glad we chose Adams! Annemarie Dalgas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

As an educator of over 20 years, I have never seen a more dedicated staff, or better principal then Derek Murchison. Adams has state of the art technology, a PTCO, and involved community. I feel fortunate to work at such an amazing school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2012

I have one child at Adams Elementary and I Love this school everyone including staff and principal are so friendly. I am happy to say that my son is in first grade and thanks to his teacher Mr. Giffin For helping me and my son to better understand the strategy he needs improvements on for him to be successful this year. He not Only helps when we need it but he always offers and lets everyone now as a parents that If theirs anything he can help us with he is Their no matter what. Overall, My son Has had The best Help from his Teachers I am HighlY satisfied With this school and altho I moved, he still attends this school. I have a School Walking distance but since feel very proud of what Admas offers I drive him every morning here. Thanks to Mrs. Niknejad For helping Him Preschool and Mrs. Dargin For kindergarden and Present with Mr. Giffin. They are Wonderful as well as the school. This school Is The best They have Every single tool to help students become better and better everyday Thanks to the Principal and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2012

As am educator in this district for close to 20 years, I have never worked with a more dedicated staff or a better principal then Derek Murchison. Adams has state of the art technology, a PTCO, and an involved community. I feel very fortunate to be part of this amazing school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2012

We have excellent teachers that have been here for a long time. The principal is a great leader and supporter of parents and teachers. Parents come here from out of district. It is a great community school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2012

I love sending my 3 children to Adams Elementary. The teachers and the principal hold high expectations for my children . They are caring, nurturing and compassionate. The staff is dedicated to helping my children achieve their personal bests. One of my children receives special education services. I couldn't be happier with the amount of support my child receives in general education classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

Fabulous principal, hard working teachers and staff, great parents and students make up this wonderful community. It is an honor to be working at Adams Elementary school. We have high expectations for ALL students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 21, 2011

I had two children at Adams(one moving on to 6th grade) and I must say that this school has come a long way since my oldest was in kindergarten. I have seen my youngest come out of her shell with the support and understanding from her teachers and from the principal. I am thankful that my child had Mr Giffen for her 1st grade teacher. I believe that he helped put her on the path towards great things. With the current principal, Adams will definitaley continue to improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

Adams Elementary has wonderful teachers who are knowledgable, caring and go above and beyond every day. The school climate is wonderful with high expectaions for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2011

Excellent school with caring and experienced teachers and an amazing principal. Very safe and clean campus. Great use of technology at this school and a lot of support for parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 20, 2006

I am a teacher at Adams and of all places I have taught, Adams is by far the best. The teachers are passionate and the rest of the staff does wonders in supporting our students. There is definitely proper discipline, but it is important to remember that discipline is not the purpose of school. Students at Adams learn the meaning of respect through daily interaction with culture and academics.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 8, 2004

There is minimal discipline given to the students; they are unruly. I am educated, and I was reared to be respectful; however, many of the teachers classify everyone the same. As a result, instead of being treated as a responsible parent, they are condescendingly rude, abrupt, and at times, unnecessarily disrespetful and cruel. The secretarial staff is highly unprofessional (ex., having to wait until they are finished with their personal phone conversations). Though the principal and vice-principal are personable, it does not make up for the rest, who should take classes in tact and professionalism (or the principal and vice-principl who should have more of a handle on their staff). I have actually seen two staff members looking at my child angrily, because she chose to use her umbrella on a particularly hot day. If the magnet schools were not so far away, I would place my child in one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

777

Change from
2012 to 2013

-20

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

777

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-20

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Females43%
Males31%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only30%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate8%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students41%
Females39%
Males43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students39%
Females29%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate24%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students46%
Females42%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females52%
Males60%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented57%
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students83%
Females83%
Males85%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner85%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate69%
Parent education - high school graduate94%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females74%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females63%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students85%
Females79%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 72%
Black 12%
White 7%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/AN/A
English language learners 48%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Nurse(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Visual arts

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sylivia Ferrer-McGrade
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (619) 563-7532

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Science
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Nurse(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Saftey Patrol
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Adams=Excellence! That is the motto that we live by. Our school in the historic Kensington/Normal heights neighborhoods draws both neighborhood children and students who come from all over the district to attend our school because its strong support and programs for students aimed at engaging and raising academic achievement. While the majority of our students are eligible for the free and reduced lunch program, our students, staff and community partners are all focused on their success.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Wilson Middle
Hoover High School
Henry High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4672 35th Street
San Diego, CA 92116
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 284-1158

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Leeway Sudbury School
San Diego, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT