Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alcott Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 24, 2009
- a parent
If your child is gate and needs to be challenged, don't send them here.

Alcott Elementary School 4

Posted April 21, 2009
- a parent
We have a super reader and a child and special education and are happy that the teachers and Principal are responding to the needs of both our children. The parent participation is unrivalled at this school. We have a very diverse population both economically and culturally, which adds to a feeling that this is a true San Diego school. Parents may be drawn by the allure of programs close by, but you will not find a better place to foster growth than a place where a child is known and loved. Our school has healthy, happy, smart kids in a well supported community where they live and play daily. We are also lucky enough to house a fantastic program for infants and toddlers with special needs. I am happy that my children will grow up supportive and understanding of students different than themselves!


Alcott Elementary School 1

Posted February 25, 2009
- a parent
Didn't realize how bad this school was until we left it. One of our children was identified as a gifted learner and the other needed help with speech and reading. We had to jump up and down for help with both. The special education needs of our children were never met. The principal was completely unresponsive to our requests for help. Her focus seemed to be on the children bussed in from other areas who didn't speak english. We did have some great teachers though and I know the teachers did everything they could to give our children the education they need to succeed. Unfortunately, the focus of the principal seemed to be elsewhere. She got more money in her budget for the non english speakers.

Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2005
- a parent
I have been so pleased with my child's experience at Alcott Elementary. The principal is energetic and involved. The teachers are dedicated and caring. There is a wonderful volunteer choral music teacher who works with the kids once a week and prepares them for a year-end program for the parents. The PTA is a cohesive group of parents, teachers, staff and the principal. It is obvious how much they enjoy working together and planning activities for the kids. The level of parent involvement in the classroom, on field trips and for special activities is impressive. In addition to all these great attributes, the small size of the school adds greatly to the sense of community.

Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2005
- a parent
My daughter attended Alcott Elementary for Kindergarten and First Grade. She loved the school as much as we did as parents. The principal and teachers are great and really care about your child and the school. We would recommend Alcott Elementary to anyone. Great School!


Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2005
- a parent
My child attended Alcott for 2 years and she absolutely loved her teachers and school. The principal, Mrs. Riley is wonderful and takes time to speak with parents about their concerns. Parents are involved through the PTA and volunteering in classrooms. Great school, highly recommend!

Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2005
- a parent
Two of my children attend Alcott and I am very pleased with the level of education and attention that they are receiving. Each child spends 1 hour a week with their science teacher. Each month they study a different character trait such as generosity and kindness. We have an excellent, enthusiastic principal and staff. Parents are involved in school activities and PTA programs. We have a lovely library and full-time librarian. The teachers are great and involved in helping the children learn in creative ways. I think my children are receiving an excellent education at Alcott.

Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2004
- a parent
I have a kindergardner at Alcott, and I love It. She has learned so much already. The teachers are young and full of so much energy.The school is clean and safe too.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alcott Elementary School
4680 Hidalgo Avenue, San Diego, CA  92117-2503
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (858) 273-3415
Last modified Alcott Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top