Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 266
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alcott Elementary School 2

Posted June 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Alcott Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 24, 2009
- a parent
If your child is gate and needs to be challenged, don't send them here.


Alcott Elementary School 4

Posted April 21, 2009
- a parent
We have a super reader and a child and special education and are happy that the teachers and Principal are responding to the needs of both our children. The parent participation is unrivalled at this school. We have a very diverse population both economically and culturally, which adds to a feeling that this is a true San Diego school. Parents may be drawn by the allure of programs close by, but you will not find a better place to foster growth than a place where a child is known and loved. Our school has healthy, happy, smart kids in a well supported community where they live and play daily. We are also lucky enough to house a fantastic program for infants and toddlers with special needs. I am happy that my children will grow up supportive and understanding of students different than themselves!

Alcott Elementary School 1

Posted February 25, 2009
- a parent
Didn't realize how bad this school was until we left it. One of our children was identified as a gifted learner and the other needed help with speech and reading. We had to jump up and down for help with both. The special education needs of our children were never met. The principal was completely unresponsive to our requests for help. Her focus seemed to be on the children bussed in from other areas who didn't speak english. We did have some great teachers though and I know the teachers did everything they could to give our children the education they need to succeed. Unfortunately, the focus of the principal seemed to be elsewhere. She got more money in her budget for the non english speakers.

Alcott Elementary School 2

Posted August 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Alcott Elementary School 4

Posted March 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2005
- a parent
I have been so pleased with my child's experience at Alcott Elementary. The principal is energetic and involved. The teachers are dedicated and caring. There is a wonderful volunteer choral music teacher who works with the kids once a week and prepares them for a year-end program for the parents. The PTA is a cohesive group of parents, teachers, staff and the principal. It is obvious how much they enjoy working together and planning activities for the kids. The level of parent involvement in the classroom, on field trips and for special activities is impressive. In addition to all these great attributes, the small size of the school adds greatly to the sense of community.

Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2005
- a parent
My daughter attended Alcott Elementary for Kindergarten and First Grade. She loved the school as much as we did as parents. The principal and teachers are great and really care about your child and the school. We would recommend Alcott Elementary to anyone. Great School!


Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2005
- a parent
My child attended Alcott for 2 years and she absolutely loved her teachers and school. The principal, Mrs. Riley is wonderful and takes time to speak with parents about their concerns. Parents are involved through the PTA and volunteering in classrooms. Great school, highly recommend!

Alcott Elementary School 4

Posted May 25, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alcott Elementary School
4680 Hidalgo Avenue, San Diego, CA  92117
(858) 273-3415
Last modified Alcott Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alcott Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top