Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barnard Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 300 students

Our Mandarin Chinese Magnet Program makes us special.
 
 

 
 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,350.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2012

My Child loves her school! The teachers are so engaging with their students, encouraging and they make the children want to learn more! This immersion program is very challenging; it s amazing how the kids learn Mandarin so quickly. There is lots of parent involvement in the classrooms, at events and outside of school. Barnard provides tools for parents to help teach and support their child with their English Class. Principal Park is always greeting parents in the morning during daily assembly and after school. I love this school, I love that its diverse, classes are less than 25, amazing parent participation and that all the students are so happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

My son is a kinder and he attends Barnard. We "choiced" into this school from Willow Grove, our neighborhood school in the PUSD. The classroom sizes are manageable for kinder children (23 kids in one class). My son is already speaking Mandarin. The administrative staff is very attentive to the kids. The Principal is very engaged with the teachers, Board, kids, and parents. He never stops working for the education of these kids. This is a school for parents and kids who put education and language as a priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

Barnard Mandarin Chinese Elementary School is a wonderful school. It's Mandarin Chinese program is an outstanding program. All the teachers work together and work smart to improve the effectiveness with the students. The teachers stay after school to give extra help to the students. Barnard Mandarin school encourages parents to partner with teachers and other parents. We are a family that works together for the betterment of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

After transferring from another public school in area we are amazed every day at how AWESOME Barnard is. Principal Parks has done incredible things with this school and he creates a true community feel. He is a forward thinker which is imperative with the state of California schools today. The teachers are top notch helping the children excel on all levels. Our son is flourishing at Barnard. We are so thankful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2012

Barnard is a great school! My Son and Daughter have attended since Kindergarten and they love learning Mandarin. They have learned so much and can now have conversation in Mandarin between themselves. The Teachers, Principle and staff are amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

Barnard's doing a great job of combining SDUSD's curriculum with immersion in mandarin. The upper grades are not immersion, but get a period a day of mandarin instruction taught by native speakers. Our child is keeping up with her peers at other schools, and also learning to communicate in a second language. We dont speak a second language at home, so its a real gift to be able to have her learn a second language at no extra cost. The parents and staff are very committed to the success of the school, as can be seen by the number of parents on campus helping with classrooms, events, etc. The staff has also been very responsive to suggestions on program improvements, considering each carefully and replying with the reasoning behind any decision. We look forward to the rest of 'our' time at Barnard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2012

Barnard has an amazing PTA, super involved parents who are volunteering continuously in the classrooms, highly knowledgeable staff, great leadership, and a great group of kids. This is a fantastic school to work at and I cannot think of any other school I'd rather be at. The moral amongst all is quite high across the board.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 12, 2012

I love this school. We had spent many winters in San Diego and started researching schools when our children became of school age. Though the facilities were much more run down than our very new schools in the Mid-West, we were so impressed with the curriculum, the teachers, the principal and staff, we decided to move our kids here during the school year to get an A+ education. I have a 2nd grader and a kindergartner here and they are both thriving!! Both in English and in Mandarin. My kinder is very naturally speaking Mandarin after 1 semester. I am now able to communicate with her in Chinese. The great thing is that the siblings (I have 3 total) that actually are teaching each other. I have become super involved in the school to make sure we are all on the right track. We could always use more parent involvement but that is every school. The principal really has a vision for the program and the school and he is very impressive! The parents are also very giving and have a very open mind. They want the best for their kids and are willing to work for it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

This school is the most diverse child-centered parent friendly school ever. It is like the United Nations for Children. The Chinese teachers in the immersion program are highly trained and fun to watch as they teach Chinese to the children. The English teacher for the immersion children is amazing. My child loves going to her class. Mr. Park who is the Principal is always available to parents. He has a morning assembly everyday and parents and students participate. It makes for a very welcoming feeling. I am happy my child is in this very open, caring, forward-thinking, global school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

I have worked at this school for two years and I love it. The best children, staff and the parents in the entire district. I feel so proud as if the child was mine to hear the children speak Chinese. I have worked for the district for 17 years at a variety of schools and this is the one that I plan on retiring from.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 16, 2011

The House of China, Balboa Park, is a Partner in Education to Barnard. We have seen Barnard leverage resources to raise test scores and to expand the Mandarin enrichment programs in all grades to now have immersion Mandarin in the lower grades while maintaining the enrichment program for the upper grades. Barnard is a pacesetter in education locally and nationally. it has a strong and deserved reputation in China, Taiwan and the local Chinese American community. The HOC fully endorsed Barnard.


Posted June 16, 2011

My daughter just finished Kindegarten at Barnard and I could not be happier with the experience. The faculty and staff really go the extra mile. The Mandarin immersion program is fantastic. I never thought we would be able to provide our daughter with this type of an educational experience through a public school. The staff is constantly searching for ways to expand and develpe this program. Thank you Barnard we look forward to both of our children attending this school over the next 10 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

They are very strict here and cross the lines sometimes!!! The only advantage is the Mandarin. I hear the Immersion program is good however not sure if it's worth it. My child only had an hour a day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2011

My child loves this school. There are great teachers, the best administration, peaceful kids, and supportive parents. The number of students is increasing for sure, but it s still a small school, we welcome more new students. It s cool to see kids teaching their parents basic Chinese words and getting a lot of media attention. I couldn t believe the last CST score, they did a terrific job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

We "choiced" into Barnard Elementary to take advantage of the Chinese Immersion program. What we didn't realize is how dedicated the faculty and staff would be to helping each child succeed. They are really committed to learning at this school and do not accept trouble making students. Are are very happy with our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

My daughter is attending kindergarten at Barnard. Although we live blocks away from another highly rated elementary school, we applied to Barnard in order to take advantage of the Mandarin Chinese immersion program and we willingly drive 20 minutes twice a day in order for her to attend. Our daughter has two teachers she sees daily: her classroom teacher who provides instruction in Mandarin and an English language arts teacher who provides instruction 1 hour per day. Both teachers are excellent and my daughter is learning so much Mandarin while also progressing in her English reading and writing skills. The rest of the staff is also wonderful. The principal is enthusiastic, committed, energetic, and available. He forges numerous relationships with different organizations in order to gain additional support and funding for everything from classroom furniture to continuing education. The project resource teacher offers monthly classes to parents on reading strategies to use to support English literacy in the home and these classes are packed full of important and applicable information. What an amazing balance of immersion and English language support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

We're entering our second year as Barnard parents, and we're very happy with the school. The principal is enthusiastic, friendly, involved, and effective, as evidenced by the ever-increasing API scores (650 '06 , 750 '07, 807 '08, 874 '09), and the school being designated a California Distinguished School this year. The parents are also very involved, supporting the school by volunteering, attending events, and contributing. When the school announced the plan to take the kindergarten classes to immersion for 2010-11, the parents requested that it be extended to the first graders. The terrific staff worked to make this happen, and so for its first year of immersion program, there are 4 classes diving in - 2 kinder and 2 first graders. I am in awe of the first grade teachers especially. We are very glad we bring our kids here, despite 3 very acceptable local schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

I am new to this area. Yes, I did some research - the previous principal wasn't good (no wonder there were many bad reviews in a couple years ago), and the current principal is one of the best in this area. We applied to this school and my child was accepted. Wow, great school! I wish this school will become a 100% magnet school, though. I think some local parents don t agree with the value of this magnet program (many of them do). If parents are not interested in Chinese language, how they can enjoy this school ?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2010

This school is fantastic! The staff truly cares about the children and their successes! There are lots of parents that are enthusiastic about the program and support its goals. LOVE LOVE LOVE this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

We LOVE Barnard! The low student-teacher ratio really helped our shy child come out of his shell. The teachers are dedicated and highly-qualified. The new principal is energetic & involved --probably knows each & every student by name! And, the Mandarin program is lead by exceptional teachers who make learning fun. ...I'm amazed at how quickly my child is picking up the new language. Our family doesn't speak any other language besides English so it's a real testament to the program that my child is learning Mandarin so effortlessly. Leaving our large, established, neighborhood school just down the street to commute 20 miles each way for Barnard's new magnet program was not an easy decision to make but, it was definitely the right one! Barnard is a great school with a fantastic program, rigorous academic curriculum, gifted teachers, active parent involvement, and a caring staff. Small schools are priceless! www.barnardelementary.com
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

902

Change from
2012 to 2013

+16

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

902

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+16

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females77%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate54%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females82%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Females93%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females61%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females83%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females84%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females89%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students77%
Females84%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 35% 52%
White 24% 26%
Black 15% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 11%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 18%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • California Distinguished School (2010)
  • Title I Academic Achievement Award (2011)
  • California Business for Educational Excellence Honor Roll (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 5:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Edward Park
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (619) 224-8721

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mandarin Chinese Magnet
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Computer animation
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Barnard Elementary School Mandarin Chinese Magnet Program enriches students through daily instruction in Mandarin Chinese, the most spoken language in the world. Through integration with the Mandarin Chinese culture, including the arts, music, and literature, students will develop the ability to successfully use their knowledge of diverse cultures to think and act globally and become thoughtful, responsible and successful global citizens.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Dana Middle School
Correia Middle School
Pt. Loma High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2930 Barnard St.
San Diego, CA 92110
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 224-3306

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Rock Academy
San Diego, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT