Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bell Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2008

The teachers at this school need to improve on its communication with the parents. Last year, I though my child was doing well in her elective. Only to find out that she went from an A first semester to a C+ in second semester. Not once did her teacher notify me of her decline in grade or how she could improve it. There was also a bullying issue that I brought to the attention of the vice prinicpal that I was never updated on. Lucky for my child, that it resolved on it's own. There are some positives I do like about the school. Uniforms is a great idea. The after school program is wonderful. The connectED automated calls work well. I also liked the Coffee with the Principals once every month. I just wished there were more parents attending. Academically, the school has improved as seen in the 2008 API.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

This school is horrible, very unorganized. I had to go back 3 times to register my kids for school, because there were always too many people, and when I did get them registered, I stood in line for almost 3 hours. When I asked questions about bus transportation or uniforms, no one had an answer for me...in fact I still don't know if they offer a bus to pick up my kids. My kids are having a very hard time adjusting due to the fact that it is very cliquish. There is no tables for the kids to eat lunch at and no supervision at lunch time. What is wrong with this school??? I feel like it is at the bottom of the barrel. Save yourself and your kids the horrible experience of having to go here. I am trying to get mine out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

I didn't like the fact that my son had to go to this school. Everyone said too many bad things about the school. Now that the school was changed to a middle school 6-8 grades and that the students have uniforms I don't hate it as much. My son likes it and he likes most of his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

Bell Middle School is a great school. There's many activities and I never get bored.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2008

its fun here, but i don't like the uniforms, and sometimes there's fights
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2008

This School is know Bell Middle School, about 4-5 years ago students made bell have a bad reputation. When changed to middle school principles have more leadership with 3 vice principles and 2 co principles,students are also now advocates.There really trying to improve.Bell is a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2008

This school has made a 180 degree change in the last year. Uniforms were put in place. I thought this would not make a change, it did! Students behave better and High School students can no longer come on campus without being easily identified. Class sizes were reduced. Vice Principals were put in charge of discipline instead of counselors. this reduced poor behavior dramatically. 28 private tutoring companies for H/w help. One provides free computers. An after school program called 6 to 6 provides addition after school help as well a sports program (football and soccer). I can finally teach every minute of every period. Two years ago this was not the case.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 4, 2007

I went to this school for three years and it was overall an odd experience. There are definitely better schools, but if you're involved enough you can make the best of your education. This school is known to have a bad reputation due to its students. However, I must disagree when it comes to the teachers. There are only a few that are very careless. Look into honors classes and you'll be much more satisfied. The music and drama department are the school's strongest points. The drama club is famous for it's 'Lilac Theatre' and the music classes (especially orchestra) are award winning and create some beautiful sound.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2006

I went to this school about four years ago. It was okay. Luckily I was involved in the magnet program so I got the best education I could out of the school. Overall I would not recommend it, there must be better schools around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2006

I currently attend this school and it is awful. The teachers could careless about how you are doing in their class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2006

Hardly any extracurricular, no discipline, poorly kept.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

This is not a good school at all, the teachers have no control over the students, this is a school that needs a lot of improvement as far as how the campus looks, there is a very limited amount of school sports , my child was sent to this school because we moved to here in the middle of the school year and the high school was to crowded to accept her even though she excelled academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

this school is excellent I mean the teachers are great. The vice principal is the only person I have a problem with though because she does not know how to connect with the students on numerous occasions she has talked down to me and other parents like I did not know anything. I think that bell does have alot of positive things going on for itself such as their drama program. It is like a real live theatre Mr. Maher really pushes my daughter and son to do their best. Under his guidance many students have gone on to do professional acting in the community. The academics at this school are fantastic and I really feel connected to all of the teachers and know how my child is doing. When my daughters grades started to slip I automatically knew about it and worked to get them back on track together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I used to go to this school and let me tell you that this school is awful ...there is always something bad happening...the classrooms are not nice and the campus is not too pretty. Please save your kid the time of going there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 15, 2003

Bell Junior High has an excellent academic program. Also, student clubs such as FHA go to great lengths to also include young men, which helps the parents to raise well-rounded young men. My son, Pascual Lomeli Benitez, went to Bell years ago. He was well-prepared for Morse High School, which in turn prepared him very well for Southwestern Junior College and San Diego State University. He graduated with a BA in Criminal Justice two years ago. Also, the teachers at Bell and Morse were just wonderful. They still had too many students in the classes, and that is a shame. You shouldn't do that to such fine teachers! Anyway, thank you to the teachers at Bell Junior High and Morse High. You did an excellent job for my son, Pascual Lomeli Benitez. Sincerely, Marta Lomeli parent, community resident, & author of Cuentos From the House on West Connecticut Avenue
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

740

Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

740

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
46%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
42%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
4%

2010

 
 
15%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females59%
Males51%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented78%
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate56%
Parent education - declined to state52%

Math

All Students43%
Females39%
Males46%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Filipino66%
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented69%
Parent education - not a high school graduate20%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate54%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate33%
Parent education - declined to state43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students6%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability6%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only8%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females50%
Males45%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Filipino62%
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability16%
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented74%
Parent education - not a high school graduate22%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate69%
Parent education - declined to state40%

Math

All Students27%
Females31%
Males24%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Filipino46%
Hispanic or Latino12%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability28%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only30%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented55%
Parent education - not a high school graduate5%
Parent education - high school graduate22%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)27%
Parent education - college graduate36%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to state28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students31%
Females27%
Males35%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Filipino54%
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability32%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only34%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented64%
Parent education - not a high school graduate14%
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)37%
Parent education - college graduate48%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate30%
Parent education - declined to state8%

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females48%
Males36%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Filipino60%
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability5%
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented72%
Parent education - not a high school graduate16%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate51%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate54%
Parent education - declined to state36%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students0%
Femalesn/a
Males0%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino0%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only0%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate0%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students40%
Females39%
Males41%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Filipino56%
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented67%
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate30%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate42%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate63%
Parent education - declined to state41%

Science

All Students66%
Females63%
Males68%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 40%
Black 16%
Two or more races 7%
White 3%
Asian 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/AN/A
English language learners 20%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Dodson
Fax number
  • (619) 470-6054

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

620 Briarwood Road
San Diego, CA 92139
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 479-7111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bethune K-8
San Diego, CA


San Diego Scpa School
San Diego, CA




Fulton K-8
San Diego, CA


Summer Glenn Academy
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT