Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 1,002
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bell Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Most are amazing and work well with children and families. A few are hard headed and haven't adopted teaching styles in this century.

Bell Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Varies by teacher but most seems appropriate for students to have personal time or do outside activities/sports.


Bell Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Many students here have other outside and personal sure but all are pushed to each' full potential.

Bell Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
They have a citizenship rubric that lays out expectations clearly and shows how students and children should show respect to each other and others.

Bell Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Trauma informed teaching and care means each child is looked at as an individual and supports needed are given referrals to district. City, or county supports. Great job!


Bell Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
New admin team really care about students and families. If you need any help with anything, they can lead you in the right direction.

Bell Middle School 4

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
Wow! What a change! Looking great and an amazing leadership. The teachers seem extremely respectful, helpful, and knowledgable. All clean campus and no gum anywhere! They got new concrete everywhere this last 2014 summer.

Bell Middle School 1

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
My daughter just started sixth grade here at Bell in September. She has had nothing but issues at this school. A teacher said she had to bring in her transcripts personally or she'd get an F grade for the assignment to bring it in. Found out just recently the teacher never gave the paperwork to the counselor as she was supposed to so my daughter could get into advanced classes. Now after weeks of being bullied for being white I was told that I wasn't allowed to talk to the principal unless his secretary deemed it worthy. She didn't so we were "allowed" to speak with the counselor. After realizing the school was going to be of no help we now are stuck with the only real option at this point in our area, which is to pull my daughter out and do independent studies, just so she is safe! Ridiculous!! Talking to a couple teachers only to find that white children are constantly being discriminated against at this school.


Bell Middle School 4

Posted August 23, 2013
- a community member
I am a student here and I had so many memories at this school. This school contains many clubs(drama club,Glee club, etc.). They have a very talented music teacher who is (as I was told) the best music teacher in the district. The teachers are very helpful and caring, along with the staff. This is my favorite school so far.

Bell Middle School 1

Posted September 19, 2012
- a community member
very bad school i rather attend Bethune k-8 which i am i love Bethune k-8 this school is worst school you can attend

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bell Middle School
620 Briarwood Road, San Diego, CA  92139
(619) 479-7111
Last modified Bell Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bell Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. Top