Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 87 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Birney Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I am so grateful to my oldest daughter's teacher this year as I feel like she is adequately preparing her for what lies ahead in middle school.

Birney Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I chose this school for my daughters after touring the facility and being blown away by the principal's leadership and the implementation of the International Baccalaureate curriculum. So far I have not been disappointed. The quality of the teachers is top-notch, the level of passion from the principal extends down into all the staff and I have been very pleased with the well-rounded education my daughters have been getting. I can't recommend this school enough!


Birney Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
The leaders and parents at the school think that getting involved in the community and doing everything they can to engage and educate the students is of the utmost importance. My child is always coming home with positive things to say about his teacher, his classmates, and the interesting things they have done in class and in the "specials" program. He is getting a well-rounded education and is also learning about helping others, respect, and how to be a good citizen of the world. We love Birney Elementary!

Birney Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a teacher
I am the principal at Birney! I see a lot of 5 star ratings, but there is not an overall rating for my school - can you explain why? I appreciate all the comments from our parents. I am baffled by the most recent comment about not being friendly to children with special needs. We have just over ten percent of our population with IEPs and 504s, we have an excellent team of professionals who go above and beyond for our special needs students. I hope the parent who posted this feels he or she can come talk to me about what is needed for his or her child. Our team includes a half-time school psychologist, 4 education specialists, 4 special education assistants, 2 speech language pathologists, adaptive PE, physical therapy and occupational therapy time and a school counselor 2 days a week.

Birney Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The homework may seem like a lot to some, but to me it's just right. I want my son to learn well with our help, to be a better learner in class, and the amount of homework seems right for that to happen.


Birney Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
They teach the children about integrity, morals, and being independent learners and thinkers. My son is 6 and always talks about problem solving solving when ever there is an issue.

Birney Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are serious about their purpose to enrich the children with the best learning experience. The principal has the school in wonderful shape and with all of their wonderful activities such as gardening, art and Spanish, it's just all the better.

Birney Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thanks Ms. Amanda for being such a wonderful leader! You are the reason that the school is so great!


Birney Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
They are engaged in the learning process, and are committed to assisting students. All of the teachers find ways to make the learning fun and effective, and to be sure students understand expectations.

Birney Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Too be honest, my answer is more about the adoption of the Common Core standards, and the amount of work those entail, much of which I think is redundant and misleading.

Nearby schools

Birney Elementary School
4345 Campus Avenue, San Diego, CA  92103
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. (619) 497-3500
Last modified Birney Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top