Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chesterton Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2016
- a parent
Overall, it's a great school with teachers and staff who care a lot about their students. I appreciate how they go above and beyond. The only downsides are that they don't do holiday performances like other schools and many of the 'mom''s at the school are very clique-y. It feels like high school at times. If you plan on being heavily involved with the parent association or just talk with them, be prepared for a very immature atmosphere.

Chesterton Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
The school janitor is friendly, says hello to everyone every morning and is great. Nice guy


Chesterton Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Great school , Great teachers, All friendly and in five years we have never had a problem.

Chesterton Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
They don't care about the students, they'd rather let a teacher rip up the students work because their name is written too small on a piece of paper.

Chesterton Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
The teachers I have encountered have been awful and the principal only backs his teachers not his students.


Chesterton Elementary School 2

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
My daughter had a terrible experience at this school with a teacher bullying her. I wound up not sending both my son and daughter for a year. I sent my son back this year and now he is being harassed by his teacher. San Diego Unified School District definitely lacks good quality teachers.

Chesterton Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
WE LOVE CHESTERTON! It was our first year here after transferring from Florida. The teachers are amazing, office staff is extremely friendly, and my children just love their Principal, Mr. Deridge. The PTA is very involved in all of the schools activities. More parents should get involved! I know I will!

Chesterton Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Thanks for he support for my family and children. My son is loving the academics that is provided and the interaction from the teachers.


Chesterton Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
My children love this school! In every school it has it's tidbits as a parent we might not like, but academically this school is phenomenal! The staff is very nice in the office as well as our cross walk gaurs! The teachers are wonderful and really focus on getting your child to strive to where they need to be. It helps when the children get noticed for there work and abilities by having an award ceremony. With there new principal Mr. Deridge he overtakes the school with great pride just like Mr. Delute had done! This school has kept a good rep. And am a proud parent of the Chesterton cheetahs! For a San Diego school near the ghettos you can't beat this school! Excellent excellent!

Chesterton Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school!! Mrs. daLuz is an amazing teacher & Mr. Delute is a very involved principal! This is my son's 3rd elementary school & without a doubt the best!

Nearby schools

Chesterton Elementary School
7335 Wheatley Street, San Diego, CA  92111-5824
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (858) 496-8070
Last modified Chesterton Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top