Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 1,451
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 28 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Clairemont High School 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
We are almost done with our first year at Clairemont High and I have nothing be great things to say about our first years experience here. Dr. Jen Roberson is awesome. She is so involved in all that is going on and is doing everything to make this school the best school it can be! We look forward to next year! :)

Clairemont High School 4

Posted May 24, 2012
- a parent
Great drama program, school size just right if you want to have a balance of extracurricular activities (sports, arts) AND academics without being a mere spectator like what your child might experience at the large high schools. Multiple sports fields got a Prop S makeover last year & are first class. Students at CHS have a wide range of skills and talents - and the special education students are included (and welcomed) in extracurriculars such as drama. The Circle of Friends club brings together the special needs students with the rest of the school. AP Biology Bowl team just beat La Jolla High (and Serra High). AP Enviro class is quite popular among college bound students. The French teacher was let go in October due to district budget cuts (and is now at San Diego High-International) but Spanish and German are offered as foreign languages - Spanish up to the AP level & the pass rate is very good. Other SDUSD schools only offer Spanish - we have German too! The principal is less than stellar (ought to be replaced) but the teachers make all the difference along with a good dean of students. A hidden gem of a neighborhood school that welcome others from around San Diego.


Clairemont High School 5

Posted November 30, 2011
- a community member
Clairemont HIgh school is a GREAT school. It is normally rated low because of the amount of special students who are factored into the test scores. The students are very accepting of the special students and kids who are bussed in and not from their socioeconomic class. This being said, the principal needs to be fired she does a poor job. The AP programs at the school are excellent, especially the history, science classes, and 11th english. The school has decent sports and is a unified body. I'm proud to say I am an alumni of this fine establishment and when viewing it's ranking I was astonished to see it ranked under some of the other schools which I would never even consider going to! The teachers and counselors are helpful and the dean of students is very understanding! Send your kids here!

Clairemont High School 5

Posted March 18, 2011
- a student
Clairemont High School is a good school, their Theater Department is the GREATEST! I am a sophomore at Clairemont and I'm an actress there and honestly their theater department is the GREATEST! Clairemont High School has a good College Academy it's called AOBT "Academy of Business and Technology" and trust me everyone who has been in it has graduated from high school thanks to the teachers who help the students! The teachers are very enthusiastic and they are willing to be there for students!

Clairemont High School 3

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
My child is a senior and most of the teachers are very caring. Head Counselor is fantastic knows her stuff. Principal is unprofessional and abrasive and does not know her students. Parents need to be involved to make positive changes at CHS starting with the principal.


Clairemont High School 5

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Clairemont High School 4

Posted July 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Clairemont High School 2

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
Pathetic/principal and all counsels are jokes but 1. The last 2 years Clairemont High has become one of the worst high schools in the district. Twoteachers are exceptional/rest bad


Clairemont High School 5

Posted February 01, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Clairemont High School 4

Posted January 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clairemont High School
4150 Ute Drive, San Diego, CA  92117
(858) 273-0201
Last modified Clairemont High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Clairemont High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top