Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Clairemont High School 1

Posted January 07, 2016
- a student
This school sucks, only for the staff tho. Students here are very nice and mostly everyone gets along. Staff on the other hand are very bad, a lot of them disrespect students as myself and don't care about their students education. I'm a senior in Clairemont High and the only thing I do not regret is meeting the students here. I suggest you don't allow your student to go here if you want them to have the best grades in their life. They will only get good grades from C's to B's unless they really try. If you want them to have more of a social experience involving friends then send them here. This is my point of view for this school, thank you for taking your time reading this. Have a stellar day!

Clairemont High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 07, 2016
- a student
The only teacher i fully RESPECT and truly care about is Mrs. Klein because she has always been here for me when i was down or happy. She is the best teacher if you ask me.


Clairemont High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 07, 2016
- a student
Very rarely ill see teachers care or help students here at school unless its for their personal need.

Clairemont High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 07, 2016
- a student
They give out way to much homework, its like this school is a independent school, they expect you to learn on your own. If you don't understand oh well.

Clairemont High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a student
No respect for any student regardless of their situation in the past for the behavior they are giving.


Clairemont High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a student
Only a few staff members care about students. For the others its like they have given up on every student and don't care about anyone's education.

Clairemont High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a student
The teachers say they care along with other staff but its all lies. Except for a few teachers and of coarse the students.

Clairemont High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 10, 2015
- a student
i want to say thanks to riley, hornbrook, and beaubien for being awesome and cill teachers


Clairemont High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 10, 2015
- a student
except for like 3 teachers out of the whole school. but most teachers i had are ineffective

Clairemont High School 1

Posted October 10, 2015
- a student
There are so many unorganized teachers who don't seem to care about students. I can't believe they got rid of the seminar classes. There aren't a wide range of electives or any advance courses to choose from before too. the school system is stupid too! it seems that they don't even care about our thoughts, opinions, or feelings with the school. they just thew us in to any open class. i wanted art but i didn't get that class. but other people who didn't want art got it! on the first day of school so many people went to the counselors right when they got their schedules. so many students were put in classes they don't even want! Now there are so many usual regular students put together in the same classes as kids that understands things faster and finishes their work faster. I've been with the same seminar students since i was in 6th grade! and every thing went well. now we are stuck with students that are slower. For my English class right now, half the class didn't turn in this summary. the teacher didn't even tell us specifically what to write and then she graded the people who did do it strictly. and for the people who didn't do it, the is giving them A SECOND CHANCE TO AFTER SCHOOL TUTORING AND GIVING THEM FULL CREDIT!!!! I AM SO MAD RIGHT NOW!!! for my math class we have a new teacher who is still taking classes like in college or something. and when u are absent she doesn't even care. she just says its your responsibility to make up everything! i was absent for 2 days to go to a funeral and then she gave me a test! i told her that i was absent but she just told me to "oh well, try your best." then i ended up getting a c. then she said we could do test corrections so i corrected my test and turned it in. then she just changed her mind and said she wound't be doing it! on homework she gave us, there will always be problems that she didn't even teach how to do it so i would struggle on it for like 2 hours! my friend has a different English teacher and the teacher would have an assistant teacher teach the class without the teacher doing anything during class time. The assistant teacher doesn't give out good instructions and never mentioned a certain assignment the students did was actually graded, but instead it was a "practice". Everyone literally failed it and when we ask him about the topic, he avoids it completely.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clairemont High School
4150 Ute Drive, San Diego, CA  92117-5853
(858) 273-0201
Last modified Clairemont High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Clairemont High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top