Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Correia Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
From theft to bullying, I have seen the administration handle both sides of these issues in a caring and unbiased way, while still punishing those who needed to be without overdoing it or shaming....

Correia Middle School 5

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
Get invested in this school and it will give back to you the way it should - but don't blame the school when you are not invested and it doesn't. The school and/or teachers can't do every parents' job as well. Our experience has been outstanding and my son has never been happier. The administration is invested and has handled all "middle school" issues with respect for my son and the parties involved. The (newer) administration is also the most caring and educated I have ever seen. They want this school to be good, to have funding, and they go WAY beyond to see that happen. All of the teachers my son has had were very good and the seminar teachers are spectacular and caring - even if we wish there was a little less work/stress involved in that program. But, they definitely know what they are doing. The ONLY negative I agree with is that "common core" dilutes the effort of the teachers... Otherwise, amazing and caring administration, facility is improving and very nice thanks to administration and committed ASB and community members, and the teachers are great too! Go Cougars!


Correia Middle School 1

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
Horrible school! If your child struggles with any academic subject, do not send them here as they will fall further behind. Students are given A's and B's on assignments when the completed work content is a 2nd or 3rd grade level. In math, all students are given an A if they complete their homework on time, even though all answers are wrong. Math teacher considers the A to represent credit for completing homework. Good luck getting any support from teachers, as their attitudes are "I have 170 students". Recently, my son's friend left at the beginning of January to go to a different school because his parents also share my same concerns of poor education offered at this school.

Correia Middle School 4

Posted April 08, 2015
- a community member
Its fun and adventures. It has so many electives, PS. i.m in band and my brother in in Mandarin Chinese. So i think you should put your child/children in this school

Correia Middle School 3

Posted February 04, 2015
- a parent
While there are some bright spots at Correia, most of the teachers my two children have had there are medicore. One refused a requested meeting when my child was not doing well, but the counselor would not get involved because we had not spoken to the teacher. Another teacher talks to the class about politics and religion, although it does not pertain to the subject he is teaching. Music and PE are great, the ASB does a good job, and their nurse is very good! As with all schools in San Diego, the class sizes are just too large for kids to do as well.


Correia Middle School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
The new principal is hard working and very responsive. I went to him with a concern a few weeks after he started and he already knew my son (for good reasons). He always finds time to listen and tries to solve problems. While not always solved to my satisfaction, he makes it work out. The seminar teachers are caring, intelligent people that make learning fun and are the cornerstone of the school. The science teachers and PE teachers are also great. The only problem with this school is the same problem with all public schools . . . common core watering down the learning.

Correia Middle School 1

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
The staff here is mostly poor, from the teachers all the way up to the principal. They lack objectivity and are quick to shun any student and/or parent that they do not agree with. The students are out of control most of the time. There are teachers that are playing both social and academic games with the students lives. Do not send your child to this school. Pay for a private school or find an alternative in a different part of the city for the 2 years that your child could be subjected to this chaos.

Correia Middle School 5

Posted July 07, 2013
- a community member
I just graduated fron Correia. Hello, I have read some of the reviews on this site complaining and bantering about Correia Middle School. But to be honest, it isnt the bad of a school! It has quite a few student, of all sorts, so your child can easily make friends if need be. But the teachers are very nice, some more than others, just like any school but I had a great connection with my teachers and they were always there to help over E-Mail. I just dont know why everyone doesnt like this school, but it isnt that bad of a school. I had a very positive two years tgere and I promise you will too.


Correia Middle School 1

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
Where to begin? Correia falls short in so many ways. Too many students attend this campus. This is the only middle school for the entire OB/Point Loma area. If your student is already strong in academics, then there probably won't be many issues. However, if your child lags behind or needs more one on one instruction, forget about it. Office staff is less than helpful and often downright rude. Forms/paperwork turned in often go missing or never make it to the necessary party. There are limited clubs and student organizations, and no sports offered. Everything about Correia is poorly organized and run. For example, this past school year, the open house was rescheduled at the last minute because of rearranging of teachers/classes (due to staff reduction, I believe) and my son's schedule (and other students) was changed 1 month into the school year! After being in school for a month, kids are starting to get familiar with routines and teachers. This past year was not my first experience with Correia, I have 3 kids all of whom have attended Correia over the years. It has NOT improved one iota in the last 10 years. It has gotten worse. Sadly, I cannot recommend this school to anyone.

Correia Middle School 1

Posted May 17, 2013
- a community member
This is the worst Junior High School in San Diego. I am hoping that none of my other grandchildren have to attend this school. The leadership is poor, no control over the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Correia Middle School
4302 Valeta Street, San Diego, CA  92107-1510
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (619) 222-0476
Last modified Correia Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top