Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Crown Point Jr Music Academy 5

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
This has been a wonderful school for my children. CPJMA has great, dedicated teachers. Music is a part of life at here, and the PTO funds a wonderful YMCA PE program. The PTO is dedicated to supporting and enhancing the educational experience of all students at the school. Here are some highlights from the next couple of weeks: On Thursday May 5th, our K-3 students will view a presentation by Josef Spacek and Miroslav Sekera of The La Jolla Music Society, while our 4th and 5th graders visit the Gator by the Bay Festival at San Diego Bay. On Friday, May 6th, our Recorder Club will perform at the San Diego Recorder Festival. Also on Friday, May 6th, from 5pm to 7pm, CPJMA will have a Cinco de Mayo celebration which will include a Dance Club performance, Mariachi Music from Mariachi Imperial, Loteria, and delicious Mexican food. On Saturday, May 7th, our Music Club will perform at Gator by the Bay. On Monday, May 9th, CPJMA will again be sending a team to compete in the Music Memory Bee at SDSU. On Friday, May 13, members of the San Diego Symphony will present and perform for our students at CPJMA.

Crown Point Jr Music Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
By far, the best staff members have been Mrs. Sor, Mr. Luchs, Cathy, Mr. Lou and Mr. Champion. Without them, this school would be depleted.


Crown Point Jr Music Academy 1

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
The principal has done good by making sure the music is highly represented and the teachers are amazing but, the principal likes to play favorites with the parent volunteers. If she doesn't like you, she will make your life a living hell.

Crown Point Jr Music Academy 5

Posted April 27, 2016
- a parent
The focus on music is great at this school. Staff is helpful. I am sending my two children there. The academics are high, the musical performances are outstanding, I love this school.

Crown Point Jr Music Academy 5

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
My child has attended Crown Point Junior Music Academy for 3 years. This is an absolutely fantastic school. My child learned to play the violin in Kindergarten. Mr. Luchs is the violin instructor. One of the best music instructors ever. Highly qualified and his sense of humor keeps the kids laughing. Concerts are incredible! Every instructor has been exceptional. I cannot say enough how happy I am to have found this wonderful school. It has been a privilege to be part of this beautiful educational experience!


Crown Point Jr Music Academy 5

Posted May 20, 2015
- a community member
My daughter receives an excellent education at CPJMA through a curriculum that is both challenging and creative. In addition to rigorous academics, there are many opportunities for students to explore music and develop their creativity and appreciation for the arts. CPJMA is a gem!

Crown Point Jr Music Academy 2

Posted April 27, 2015
- a parent
I had high hopes for this school. I love all of the extracurricular activities at this school and the teachers have been fine. However if you are ever in need of having any communication with the Principal it is shockingly disappointing how rude and innefective she is. I won't go into specifics but after meeting with the Principal and how we were treated sent off some huge red flags. Definitely wondering about whether or not to send my child (who has been very unhappy here as it is) to another school next year. Really disappointed by the abrasive couldn't care less attitude that is so blatantly displayed by the principal.

Crown Point Jr Music Academy 5

Posted April 10, 2015
- a parent
The school cultivates a well rounded, creative, fun environment for children to learn. Every morning the kids gather in the schoolyard to jog while listening to music. Perfect way to practice social skills while waking up the brain & excercising. This also gives the parents a chance to meet/participate. Music is encouraged everywhere: Lessons for violin, guitar, recorder, voice, rock band, dance, musicals/acting... Every week there is art, yoga, karate, educational assembles, music, etc. and a ton of after school actives. I appreciate that the focus is on balancing the academic and creative brain. ND


Crown Point Jr Music Academy 4

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
My daughter thrived at this school. There was no library or physcial education. Unfortunatley. But she loved the music and art. Only had 1 questionable teacher out of the 3 and that person is no longer there. Very happy with the 4th/5th grade combo class.

Crown Point Jr Music Academy 5

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
I am a CPJMA parent who learned how to play the violin with one of my daughters in Kindergarten. My husband learned how to play it with the older one. Now we can proudly say that they play better than us. Teachers have a lot of experience and they have played an important role in the academic aspect and life of my children. The custodian is the best, always making sure teachers, parents and students have everything they need and that the school is safe and clean. You can feel a friendly atmosphere as soon as you enter our school, when you see parents volunteering even before school rings in the running club every morning, helping teachers in the classrooms during school hours, learning violin with their children, attending parent classes with teachers from the Ballard Parent Center, planning events in PTO meetings, getting involved in ELAC meetings, coffee with the principal, volunteering in the music club afterschool, etc. My children go happy to school every day and I have found a wonderful parent community in it. We are a great school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crown Point Jr Music Academy
4033 Ingraham Street, San Diego, CA  92109
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (858) 273-9830
Last modified Crown Point Jr Music Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top