Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dailard Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 549 students

Dailard has been recognized as one of San Diego's top-ranking schools.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Having been associated with Dailard for the last six years as a grandmother I have found this school to be an outstanding example of a public school. The teachers have been consistently good, encouraging learning, caring for the students as individuals, offering their own creativity while working within the core requirements. The administrators, secretaries, custodians and staff have been supportive. The parents have been willing to help whenever needed. Everyone is working together for the education and welfare of our children. Keep up the good work.


Posted July 28, 2012

We moved here from Marvin ( in same district) and are so impressed. My daughter went from not being able to read to almost catching up completely. She gets great help from teachers and aides. No school is perfect, but this is a good place, with good people that care. The teachers help prep my 5th grader and he had such a better middle school experience than my other student that was promoted from Marvin. We are now having our youngest start at Dailard and they offer a kinder camp that will not only help them get used to the way kindergarten is but also introduce them to some of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

We are very pleased with Dailard. Everyone from the staff to the principal make it a wonderful school. Our son is so happy to attend school each day (he's in Kindergarten). We choiced into this school and are so happy with our decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

I love this school the teachers are awsome and it's the best school ever, i am now in middle school but the years i had there where awsome. They work hard a try there best i miss Mr.E but the new principal is alright but no one could ever beat Mr.E he sleept on the roof because we ran enough laps at the jog o thon i think every kid should go here GO DOLPHINS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Best school ever.Hope you like this school as muchas i did.


Posted January 4, 2010

Great school, great community. It is all about involvment and this school has it. Good teachers and good principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

We have been very pleased with this school over the last 3 years. We now have 2 students attending. Great parent and teacher involvement. The Dads group is fantastic; they support the kids in so many ways. The new principal (Mr. McDade) has done a great job. He is approachable, and friendly - and really seems to know his way around getting things done within the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

Dailard is an excellent school. My son has gone K-2 here and will be starting 3rd in Sept. Wonderful Teachers and helpful office staff. Lots of parent envolvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

My kids have all attended from K to graduation. I have CHOICEd them in since K and Dailard is so worth the drive. The kids have all super excelled and are testing very very well. All of them are reading 3+ years above grade level. The last principal, Mr Erpelding, was awesome, but I am not too sure about the incoming principal. I'll wait and see, and give him a chance. Overall, great experience academically and socially!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My daughter is finishing her 1st year (kinder) at Dailard. Overall, we are very happy with the school and principal- his enthusiasm and dedication has a great effect. We really like her teacher too. I agree with another that said the afterschool program is not very good - it is not run by Dailard, it is run by the Y. We had her in it for awhile (part time) then were fortunate to find family to provide care and withdrew after a few months. The coordinators don't engage much and in Sept, they were very disorganized- not comforting to parents of a new kindergartner. Hopefully things will improve with next year's Y program. In the meantime, we look forward to 1st grade as Dailard dolphins! ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

My son went from the kid that parents keep their kids away from... to a model student. He is reading above grade level and thriving. I love the teachers and the principal. I recomment this school to anyone who wants to see their child succeed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

I am a parent trying to choice in for next year for third grade. I met with Mr. Erpelding one time and spoke to him on another occasion and I have to say....he is amazing! I have now encountered 4 different principals 3 of them private and none have had the degree of respect, concern and enthusiasm that Mr 'E' has shown to me as a mother of a young child! He seems to know we all love our children and shares our passion of wanting the best for them! What a lucky school! Keep up the good work Mr 'E'! Our children need more school leaders like you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

We choiced into this school and have been very happy with it. The principle is great, very involved, positive and open to feedback. My son is in K and we love his teacher . The one thing that I have not been happy with is the afterschool care. This was somthing that I didn't really compare at different schools (and I wish I had!!) It is run by the YMCA and the first month I didn't feel comfortable leaving my kindergartener there because it was very disorganized. The organization has improved, but the kids seem bored.... whenever I see them they are either playing on the playground equipment or sitting around or coloring. Most of the time the staff just seem to hang out and watch the kids ( instead of doing activities with them) and some of the YMCA staff don't interact well with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

We moved to our neighborhood because Dailard was a good school, and amazingly it's even better now. Mr. E. the principal is enthusiastic, innovative, and very motivated to make Dailard the best. He empowers teachers, engages students, and listens to parents. Our children love going to school. They are challenged, involved and happy to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

The Principal at Dailard is the best around, he is always there to help the children and the parents with any problem that arises. He is fair and genuinely concerned about the students and making the school the best it can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

To all parents looking for a great school. Dailard Elem. is amazing. The team of staff look at every child as an individual . They develop not only academics but each child as a whole. My child loves school and I have Dailard to thank!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

Echoing what many have said here, Dailard is an extraordinary school where the principal, teachers and parents are united in bringing out the best in our kids - academically and as people. When we first started a school search for our kindergartener, we were leaning towards a private education. We're so happy we chose to stay with our neighborhood school. Our daughter is thriving and Dailard is an example of a public school education at its best...if only it were a K-8 school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

As a parent of two Dailard students, attending back-to-school night was a real treat. The principal, Mr. E, sets a a great tone. Notwithstanding the fact that Dailard's test scores make it one of the best-performing schools around, Mr. E isn't satisfied to sit on his laurels. If the district doesn't snatch him up for some other assignment, I'm confident that Dailard will continue its steady improvement. Managing the surge in the student population that we've seen in the kindergarten classes will be a challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

I chose Dailard based on the Principal and the teachers and I haven't been disappointed in either. I think he is giving tremendous energy & support to the kids & teachers. My daughter just finished her Kinder year and she is doing great. She is excited to go to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

Mr. Erpelding, a.k.a. Mr. 'E', is the best thing that has happened to Dailard. In the time that my daughter has attended there, the school has gone through at least three principals, if not more. The other principals did what they could in respect to parent and self involvement, but Mr. 'E' has been a phenom. He, from my perspective, has been the most involved, the most active, and the most dedicated. He is a great leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

RE: Class size. Dailard has taken great measures to keep class sizes to a manageable number. The teachers have done an excellent job of managing their class sizes. Side note: Guaranteed that Mr. Erpelding will take care of the issue next year if there were any problems from it this year. That's the kind of principal he is---he doesn't want the parents or the staff dissatisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

904

Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

904

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females89%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students80%
Females83%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females74%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students85%
Females89%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females78%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students83%
Females78%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females88%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females85%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students93%
Females95%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 19%
Two or more races 12%
Asian 3%
Black 3%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/AN/A
English language learners 6%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Beverly Fitzpatrick
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (619) 288-8395

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6425 Cibola Road
San Diego, CA 92120
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 286-1550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Therese Academy
San Diego, CA



Excelsior Academy
San Diego, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT