Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dana

Public | 5-6 | 809 students

Visual & Performing Arts Programs

 
 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $615,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,490.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 10, 2012

Fifith grade is not too young for the middle school experience at Dana! They rise to the challenge quickly. Each of my kids at this school have had mostly innovative, wonderful educators. Science is disappointing (not hands-on, just textbook), and rotates weeks with physical education. Students get only one elective (non-core) class for the entire year (art, music, drama OR tech). No foreign language, sports, or elective choices on a semester basis. This is probably budget- and testing-related, but sadly, it results in less well-rounded students. The school is doing very well with incorporating student technology in the classroom. When attending orientation and open-house events, it was assumed we knew how things worked here, but we were new to the area. For those not coming from one of the feeder schools, attending the parent association meetings is the best way to meet some wonderful, energetic parents at Dana and to get information. Overall, a pretty great school considering the confines of being in the San Diego public school system!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

My son is now in 6th grade at Dana and I really don't have one good thing to say about this school. The student to teacher ratio is ridiculous. They push the online correspondence yet it is not updated so it is little to no help. If your child is having any issues regardless of what they are and you need to speak to a councilor or teacher, GOOD LUCK. Both my younger children will not attend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2011

Love Dana Middle. Was reluctant to go to middle school so young, but it has worked out to be a wonderful transition. High academic standards and great elective curriculum. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

Okay school but not for science. 6th grade science is only 4 days every 2 weeks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2010

Both of my children went here. The teachers were hard working and fair. Both my kids were in music/band - the teacher had his favorites which was hard to swallow at times. Their school trip to Sacramento was great. The principle was engaged and the parent volunteers were amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

Our second child has just finished his 5th grade year at Dana and we are dreading 6th grade. I wish there was an alternative available to us. While we have found the academics to be fairly rigorous the delivery and the homework are not developmentally appropriate for the age of the students. Dana's staff and administration seems to think these kids can handle six teachers a day and two hours of homework a night. Unless you have a personal connection with a teacher forget about them responding to questions or comments. We continue to search for viable alternatives-it sickens my husband and I to think of another year of the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

i cannot say enough about how great this school is. the campus culture by staff, students, and parents is amazing. we've had teachers initiate contact with us when they are concerned about something AND to tell us how great our child is doing! (how often does that happen?!) whenever we have had to approach counselors, principal, vp, teachers, etc. about a problem---they are attentive and caring with their follow through. the opportunities our two kids have experienced here are unique to 5th & 6th graders in San Diego. Dana operates as a middle school with electives such as band, orchestra, jazz, guitar, chorus, musical theater, drama, spanish, computers, and video production. they're in a protected environment where kids stay younger/innocent longer before moving to jr. high. no school is perfect though. it makes me sad to see some have had a rough experience here. check for yourself! www.danamiddle.com
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

My daughter attends Dana and we will not be returning next year. This year has been a nightmare for us. My daughter is being bullied by students and the school refuses to do anything about it. No call backs from the Vice Principal or her teachers as to what is being done to protect my child. The school's lack of compassion and inability to communicate with parents makes me sick. Parents if you can avoid sending your child to Dana, the kids are allowed to bully others and get away with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

I loved, loved, loved this school. My son finished 5th grade and started 6th. However, we are a military family, and had to move out-of-state. My son had wonderful teachers -- one of them --Mr. Q --keep up the wonderful job you do at Dana Mr. Quezada. The school took them camping for a whole week, the after school program on campus is outstanding. I am not sure if they have the same principal, but she was very caring, and did a wonderful job. The school district we live in right now... it truly breaks my heart. I had to enroll my children in private schools. If you live in the Point Loma area in San Diego --take advantage, and enroll your kids there. You will not regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

My daughter is finishing 5th grade and she has absolutely loved Dana. I have been impressed by her teachers, the band director and the school librarian. The monthly parent/child book club has been a treat. We'll be back for 6th grade. Many of my child's friends are happy here--they are honor roll students active in band, musical theater or some other unifying activity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

My 5th grader had a terrific experience at Dana; tabs were kept on her progress. Periodically, I would visit a classroom (after school hours, of course) and speak to a teacher about a problem or issue my daughter felt she could not handle herself. Each and every time, the teachers were willing and eager to work with my daughter to solve the problem. We are very pleased with Dana.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2007

Mostly just babysitting going on. Lack of respect from adm. terrible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2007

We have not been happy at this school. From the initial start at Dana, the school has hit a low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2006

Pleased with the overall academic quality of all classes, and with the professional expertise of the teachers and staff. I like how the school is pretty much in 'elementary school format'. 5th/6th graders have more opportunities (journalism, drama, band, orchestra, ASB, etc.) here at Dana than they would have had if they were still at a K-5 or K-6 school. Thank goodness we've got a great 5-6 middle school like Dana ! Some parents commented on the staff being unresponsive to children who are disruptive or bullying. I had a similar problem - except it was at the oh-so-touted Sunset View Elementary (one of the K-4 schools that 'feeds into' Dana). Dana staff, in my opinion, was more responsive to misbehaving children, than elementary staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

I have been very dissapointed with Dana Middle School. There has been a lot of aggresion. Teachers are not very skilled in discipline areas, Pettty misdemenors are overly discoplines. Bullying issues are dealt with inadequately if at all. Overall very sad state of affirs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

Extraordinary quality of teachers. They took our student to the 'next level' when she already was a straight A student. Teachers are very motivating! Be sure to go on San Francisco Trip! Worth every dollar spent- incredible education opportunity! Principal and staff are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

My son attended this middle school. The campus is great, does not look like a prison as many schools do these days. The teachers were caring and overall I would recomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

The only thing kids are learning here is science and music. I say get some more teachers, focus on the education and not the money, after all isn't that what school is about? I recomend sending your child to a different school, this one is not well ran. The focus unfourtunatley is on raising money for extra cirricular activities and not on learning the basics that we all need to have in order to suceed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

This is my son's last year at Dana and my daughter's first. I love the teachers and the curriculum and the kids overall are great students. The Dana Association is very active and a great benefit to the school. They sponsor many events and fundraisers for Dana.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

More attention should be given to the problem kids at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

862

Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

862

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

396 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females83%
Males73%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state68%

Math

All Students71%
Females67%
Males72%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability44%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner37%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state52%

Science

All Students65%
Females65%
Males66%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability47%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females76%
Males72%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disability56%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state39%

Math

All Students62%
Females64%
Males59%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability35%
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 26%
Hispanic 32% 52%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Dance club

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Scott Irwin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (619) 225-3878

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • use of digital tools
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • for VEEP students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • OB People's Coop
  • Barron's Market
  • San Diego Light & Sound
  • USS Bonhomme Richard
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Dance club
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
  • co0ordinate yearbook, variety show
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Loma Portal Elementary
Silver Gate Elementary
Sunset View Elementary

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Correia Junior High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1775 Chatsworth Boulevard
San Diego, CA 92106
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 225-3897

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Wildwood Academy
San Diego, CA



Warren-Walker School
San Diego, CA


The Rock Academy
San Diego, CA



Pioneer Day School
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT