Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Doyle Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 729 students

Our goals are to raise achievement levels of all students.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 7, 2014

Our son had a great first year of kindergarten. He got along well with his teacher and classmates. It is a very multi-cultural school, which I appreciate and celebrate. The Vice Principal knew my son's name by the end of the school year, not sure if that's good or bad, but you can tell she's very active and involved. Parent involvement is relatively low as far as I can tell, and the PTA does not appear to be very active, or at least not outside of school hours (making it tough for us working parents to attend or even get involved). We'll see what happens over the years, but we'll stick around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

This school was simply terrible at Inclusion and any thoughts of it. They have a mod/severe classroom that is like a horror story movie. We were met with obstacles after obstacle, even though our IEP clearly stated that we had been successful in 80% Inclusion. The Spec Ed teacher repeately lied to me about what my sons schedule was, and where he was~ then she would promise it wouldnt happen again. We pulled my son after 4 weeks. So disappointing~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Doyle was a miserable experience for our child. While her Kindergarden teacher was delightful, her first grade co-teachers were terrible and have made us rethink our position on how teachers are evaluated. Of course, the principal refused to let her transfer to another class despite our efforts. She would cry almost every day of having to be in her 1st grade class. The 2 teachers with combative, and one of them would say things so inappropriate that we considered filing a complaint with the San Diego Unified School District. Instead, we decided to change school districts so we wouldn't have to ever be a Doyle again. The classes do this "wheel" program where the kids are expected to move from class to class. That's too disruptive!!!! The PTA is awful and as a family of color, we felt as if they didn't want us participating. We heard this from other families who were not in the same 2 block neighborhood as the board members of the PTA. It's more like a social club. They don't do anything to really support the teachers or students. It took our daughter a long time to learn to like school again thanks to the horrible first grade teachers. Awful school! Just awful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2014

Doyle Elementary has high quality teachers, students, and parents. It is a very healthy community from nutritional, cultural, and educational perspectives. Some idiosyncrasies are that there are more children at the lower grade levels and less at higher levels. I believe this is due to the transient nature of many families that are associated with the university spending a few years here for a postdoc or graduate school and then moving on with their careers. I have a 1st grader and 4th grader here and they are progressing nicely despite some serious difficulties along the way. We enjoy our walk to and from school and avoid the traffic circle. Mrs. Barham and Mr. Bailey seem to be working for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

In the past 10 years I've had all three of my oldest kids attend Doyle Elementary. I've had the pleasure of meeting and interacting with The Principal, Ms. Moore, the Vice Principal, the majority of the Teachers and numerous PTA Parent's. They all have shown exceptional performance, attitude, education and good moral. I have one more child that will be starting Elem. in September and I am hoping I can Choice my child in to Doyle. I have had numerous communication with the Administration Staff and the Principal that have bent over backwards to help answer any and all my concerns and questions throughout the years and just recently again in regards to choicing and common core. Reading the recent negative reviews in the last year about the Principal and PTA really disturb me because as a Doyle Parent, Volunteer and Friend I've seen Parents address the Principal and PTA in a really rude manner and then turn things around as if they have been the ones attacked. In my past and present interaction with everyone in Doyle they have always tried their best to do an excellent job, even with those hard to reason parents. Keep up the Great Work Doyle!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

We just moved here 1yr ago.My son is 1st grader now.After enrolling here ,I just don,t like this school.because it ,s security system is very poor,principal is not co operative.I want him to move another school from weeks after enrolled.but I stop because of his new 1st grade teacher.She is amazing teacher.Mrs Janet engebretsen is very active teacher.She encourage every kid of her class.we really like her.thats why I wants to move from here next school year.PTA is very active and the librarian lady (forgot her name) is also doing great job.Great job Mrs engebretsen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

My son moved from another school in Clairemont and wow what a difference. The school is VERY culturally diverse which I really love. The teachers really care about their students and are passionate. My son has Amber Redmerski but she has told us she is temporary until they find a new teacher. I am hoping that they keep her. She is great with my son and always keeps communication open with me especially when my son was not turning in work! Other teachers would turn the cheek and not care if he was not performing to standars but not his teacher. He also has not suffered any bullying in this school, unlike his last school. I am so grateful for Doyle. My only complaint is that the parking situation is horrible. It is a nightmare trying to pick up and drop off. they need a better system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Although there are many great aspects of this school (ie, multicultural environment, good PTA, etc) there are many negative parts of this school. The principal, Kimberly Moore, is almost non-existant. My child is in 2nd grade, and I am at the school every morning. I can count of 1 hand how many times I have seen her with the exception of SOME assembelies . . . she doesn't even show up to those all the time. When I have tried to talk to her she has been very fake and argumentative. I think her lack of self confidence and inexperience shows with the apparent "revolt" of most teachers to even work with her. It is sad that a wonderful school, with the great parents & teachers, is brought down by the principals flaws.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

Horrible horrible school. That principal, that counselor and a certain 5th grade teacher, nay adult bully, had me going all the way to the school board for their irresponsible treatment of children. Horrible. It's only tolerable if you get one of the few decent teachers. Don't let's get started on the mouthy and self aggrandizing PTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

We pulled our son from this school within 1 month of attending. We were lied to, things were never followed thru on~ it was a terrible experience...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

got 2 kids there and all teachers and people who work there are really commited to help my kids to learn , we feel so blessed to have our kids here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

I think most of the teachers at this school are above average or excellent. I think the principal is too inexperienced. You can't expect parents or staff to support you if you are unable to listen to valid, constructive criticism without getting vindicative. And she can be quite vindictive despite her fake smile. Does anyone else notice that there were an awful lot of 5 star reviews posted on Feb 1, 2011? I wish this school the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

I can only speak to the Kindergarten here as my daughter started in September 2011. Her teacher has been there 20 years and she has made the experience wonderful. My daughter has honed her reading, writing, and math skills far above what I would expect of a five year old. I also really like that the stay at home parents are so willing to volunteer in the classroom as both I and my husband have to work - a big thank you to them!! The class is multicultural, with Japanese, Chinese, Russian, Korean, Farsi, and Spanish being spoken by the different children. Being exposed to this many cultures without having to travel is amazing and very educational for the children. I think this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

Doyle Elementary has been a wonderful school for both my daughter who graduated three years ago and my son who is graduating from fifth grade this year. We have been at Doyle now since 2005 when my son started in Kindergarten and we're going to miss all the great teachers, staff, Librarian, Mr. Saipe and Ms. Moore! It's an excellent school with dedicated teachers, vice principal and principal. Doyle has a wonderfully diverse population of students. My children have loved getting to know other children from all over the world and learning new cultures. Doyle is also part of the UC Cluster of schools and the parent involvement is fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

Both of my Children attend Doyle Elementary, we move a lot do to my job. I have to say that is school is one of the best schools in the state. Mrs. Vincent and Mr. Deadrick are wonderful teachers. My daughter Shianne 3rd grade LOVES Mrs. Vincent. My wife and i attend all of the schools events and she works hard with Shianne as we just moved here in January and she and Mrs. Vincent has gone out of her way to help Shianne and we just love her. Mr. Deadrick 5th grade is my son Stephens teacher and my son tells me "he is Cool" and both teachers make learning fun. The office staff are wonderful and so helpful. Stephens and Shianne teachers both helped us with field trips do to me being out of work. This is a GREAT SCHOOL!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

We have been very pleased with this school over the last 5 years. We've two children attending this school. From the Principal Mrs.moore to the Vice Principal Mr.Saipe to the teachers and supporting staff , this school is very dedicated toward educating its Students. In addition, the parent participation is outstanding as well. It is truly a safe and wonderful environment with a lot of spirited and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

Doyle Elementary is a school that feels like a true extended family. This school has a wonderful Principal Mrs. Moore and a Dedicated, Enthusiastic, Innovative, Very Motivated and Caring Vice Principal Mr.Saipe. His Enthusiasm and Dedication has a Great effect On all Students, teachers And staff as well.But also an amazingly dedicated Parent body And Volunteers who will go out of their way to help the school in any way possible. Many of these parents manage to find the time and energy to help, despite their jobs and other commitments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

My daughter is finishing her 5th grade at Doyle Elementary School. Overall, we are very happy with the school principal and Vice Principal there enthusiasm and dedication has a great effect on us to be part of a beter school. We really like her teachers too. I agree with another parent that said the school has a very good program and up to date renovated class room and teaching equipments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

We love this school. The teachers are awsome and we consider it to be the best school ever for us, Our Son now in middle school. But this year we came back to Doyle again for our daughter in kindergarten. The teacheres, staff, vice principal and principal work always closely as a team with all students and they are too involved in every aspect to keep all students on track...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

I Agree Doyle Elementary Is a Great school in a great community. It is all about involvements and dedication. This school has it all. Good teachers, good supporting staff, and good management team. The school has a very good program and up to date renovated classrooms, and teaching equipments. Way To Go Dolphins. :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

913

Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

913

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females73%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females77%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner70%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females70%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asian69%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students83%
Females82%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females76%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian66%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females88%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner81%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females73%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian57%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females75%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner70%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students76%
Females73%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian64%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 37%
White 32%
Hispanic 19%
Two or more races 7%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/AN/A
English language learners 37%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:40 am
School end time
  • 2:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kimberly Moore
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (858) 455-9486

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3950 Berino Court
San Diego, CA 92122
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 455-6230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT