Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
67 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 78 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Doyle Elementary School 2

Posted April 21, 2016
- a community member
I am a parent of grade K and spending very miserable year (a few months to go). We have decided to spend some money to move out from this school district. Doyle is an almost jokingly disorganised place. Lack of respect from the principal , especially. She did not take any responsibility yet have enormous self-esteem. So if you have the other option, I highly recommend that one over Doyle for your precious kids. Although it is rated 9/10, it is very likely that the rating will be decreased over coming years because we have received the letter from the school district explained how the elementary failed to meet their expectation in the 2014-2015 academic year. The only bright side was vice principal who has already moved. I believe there are some decent teachers but overall the quality is not impressing at all.

Doyle Elementary School 3

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
This ( 2014- 2015) was our first and last year at Doyle, and we have mixed feelings about the school. Our child had an unusual experience of having three different teachers and quite a few substitute teachers throughout the year. One co-teacher took a leave of absence to get a surgery, another quit because of "moral and ethical issues" with the principal. The third teacher who was a substitute teacher became the full time teacher from March onward. There were many days when they had a substitute for the substitute teacher. Imagine how disruptive it is for a six year old to be exposed to different styles of teaching and expectations on how to behave in a classroom and how to do your classwork. On the whole, my child and most of the children in this class had a rough year.


Doyle Elementary School 2

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
Although the teachers are great in our experience, the principal Kimberly Moore and other members of the management are clearly lacking compassion and vision for the school. Perhaps after a change of the principal, its quality might improve. There are also no ways to have a review of the policies of the school through the 'Quality Assurance Office' since all routes lead back to the principal. A truly impartial external review board would be welcome.

Doyle Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are great in our experience, which is the only reason our child is still there.

Doyle Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 11, 2015
- a parent
There have been safety issues at school which were not addressed in a timely fashion, even after trying to converse with the principal, Kimberly Moore. It seems that politics were dictating policy.


Doyle Elementary School 1

Posted May 16, 2015
- a parent
This is our first and will be our last year at Doyle, it was a horrible experience. I do not recommend this school if you have a child with special needs. Special day class is more of a daycare, my child lost a whole academic year. Resource specialist is a rude lady who seems not to like her job. The staff in my child's classroom, are not trained or motivated. The Principal was very disappointing and non professional. However the vice principal was very sweet and understanding she is more involved with students and parents. This is my neighborhood school, very disappointed it was definitely not what I expected. Excited and relieved to switch schools with a more experienced and positive administration.

Doyle Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
Doyle Elementary is an Excellent school! I love the diversity. The Principal and Vice Principal are very friendly and also very interactive. For being here for two years now the teachers have been really involved in the students well being and academics. My child loves Doyle. I would definetely recommend Doyle Elementary.

Doyle Elementary School 5

Posted July 07, 2014
- a parent
Our son had a great first year of kindergarten. He got along well with his teacher and classmates. It is a very multi-cultural school, which I appreciate and celebrate. The Vice Principal knew my son's name by the end of the school year, not sure if that's good or bad, but you can tell she's very active and involved. Parent involvement is relatively low as far as I can tell, and the PTA does not appear to be very active, or at least not outside of school hours (making it tough for us working parents to attend or even get involved). We'll see what happens over the years, but we'll stick around.


Doyle Elementary School 1

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Doyle was a miserable experience for our child. While her Kindergarden teacher was delightful, her first grade co-teachers were terrible and have made us rethink our position on how teachers are evaluated. Of course, the principal refused to let her transfer to another class despite our efforts. She would cry almost every day of having to be in her 1st grade class. The 2 teachers with combative, and one of them would say things so inappropriate that we considered filing a complaint with the San Diego Unified School District. Instead, we decided to change school districts so we wouldn't have to ever be a Doyle again. The classes do this "wheel" program where the kids are expected to move from class to class. That's too disruptive!!!! The PTA is awful and as a family of color, we felt as if they didn't want us participating. We heard this from other families who were not in the same 2 block neighborhood as the board members of the PTA. It's more like a social club. They don't do anything to really support the teachers or students. It took our daughter a long time to learn to like school again thanks to the horrible first grade teachers. Awful school! Just awful!

Doyle Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2014
- a parent
Doyle Elementary has high quality teachers, students, and parents. It is a very healthy community from nutritional, cultural, and educational perspectives. Some idiosyncrasies are that there are more children at the lower grade levels and less at higher levels. I believe this is due to the transient nature of many families that are associated with the university spending a few years here for a postdoc or graduate school and then moving on with their careers. I have a 1st grader and 4th grader here and they are progressing nicely despite some serious difficulties along the way. We enjoy our walk to and from school and avoid the traffic circle. Mrs. Barham and Mr. Bailey seem to be working for us.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Doyle Elementary School
3950 Berino Court, San Diego, CA  92122-1601
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 78 reviews. (858) 455-6230
Last modified Doyle Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top