Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Farb Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 728 students

We are proud to be the District’s only all-AVID middle school.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $385,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

We moved my son from Rio Seco school in Santee to get away from bully issues. My son was severely depressed and his academics suffered. The students and staff welcomed us in an my son became an honor student he has a tight group of a dozen friends and his outlook is promising. This is an Avid demonstration school and I feel these students are better prepared for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

We are moving and I want to take this school with us. Too many parents choice their kids out instead of having them go to neighborhood schools right around where we live. I chose to have them go to their neighborhood school - Farb Middle School. I have two boys with totally different needs. I have a son with disabilities and needs extra help and to be in classes that fit him. Then I have a son who needs to be challenged. He is in 6 grade and is in pre-algebra and has a 97% in class and is challenged. I love all the teachers my children have had. I love the staff here at Farb. Mrs. Anita in the front is amazing. She has a warm smile and loves the students that walk in to see her. But all the office staff care about the students and their needs. The key is opening your mouth, no one can read minds. Be active. Principal, Mrs. Rizzo cares so much about each of the children at school. When she says her door is always open she means it. This school has many clubs - Club Hero, Bully Buster, Chess, Homework Club, Science Club, Robotics, Support Group, Book Club, and an Art Club and an after school program called Primetime. Mr. Ivan is great. Farb Middle school is WONDERFUL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

This is a small school so the ratio of student teacher is great. The teachers are all friendly and easy to contact in case I need to speak with them. I like that they are an AVID school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

Farb has been an eye opener for me. We are a military family and I thought this would be a plus as the school is located near military housing and it's close enough for my daughter to walk every day. The school definitely needs updating, and from the outside looks like a prison. I will say the teachers have been communicative and let me know that my daughter's grades slipped, but I really have to take time and stay on things myself. As a parent of a child who has struggled academically, I take my share of the blame and am willing to do whatever it takes to help my child succeed and it really helps when a teacher is also committed to helping your child succeed. Most of the teachers there are pretty decent people who are just overworked and over run with way too many kids. And the kids there...my goodness, I don't know how they are able to come to school with dirty clothing, looking so very unkempt, obviously in need of attention, so they do whatever it takes to get that attention in school. I'm probably going to enroll my daughter in a charter or private school, but I really can't say anything terrible about the teachers. Just the environment itself is "hood".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

In reviewing Farb Middle School for an option for a middle school, had to give it a pass. Although it has nice athletic fields, we were not impressed with the student body that attend there. They were: obnoxious, slovenly dressed, mostly minorities bused in from other areas.The school had an overall prison feel about it. Very dated, with old stucco, stencil signage, and concrete as far as the eye can see. Public school at it's worst! I was also not impressed with the teachers, who appear to be doing just enough to get their chin over the bar, and collect their pensions. We have many options for schooling in 92124, if you want a safe, inspiring, place for your kids to learn and grow - scratch this concrete jungle off your list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

My son excelled because of the awesome teachers at Farb! This school is nothing like the other BUT this school is fantastic in its own right. Don't hesitate to enroll your children at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

I am a student at farb middle school and im in 7th grade there is some inapropriate language but were middle schoolers what do you except. But i've moved here from the south coast. and i know alot more than this school and i never get H.w from any of my classes except for reading. This you should concider


Posted July 20, 2011

My daughter, who transfered mid-year 7th grade, was recognized by her teacher to need a better math class! She is now a 3.8 GPA student in honors classes. I can not say enough positive things about her teachers and Mrs. Levy, the principal, and Mr Neil the VP. They are amazing, and like family! And in only a year and a half.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

Horrible.. horrible.. horrible!! The bullying at Farb is out of control. There is not enough staff to keep an eye on the kids and when a child who is bullied happens to stand up for themselves they are the ones who are disciplined. They are more worried about public displays of affection and who is wearing drooping pants then actually taking the time to suspend the bullies. I wish we would have CHOICED our child to DePortola when we had the chance. Oh and the offenders are the kids that get bussed in from the low income areas who are rude and their language is disgusting. Welcome to San Diego people and good luck if your child happens to attend Farb. You will need it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

My daughter has attended Farb middle for the past 3 years.Farb middle has definately made an impact on my daughters performance and development . The farb staff and teachers have been instrumental in my daughters outlook on education! I am thankful that the teachers care about education and do not give up, while undergoing district changes. If i had to change anything about the schoold would be the time school starts but other than it is a great school and you should definately consider it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

At the beginning of the school year I was quite impressed with the staff and their ability to do a good job of not only teaching the kids, but also keeping them safe. Since coming back from winter break my views have definitely changed. The bullying is at an all time high and the staff is unable to stop it. They turn a blind eye and allow pushing, hitting and name calling t occur. The staff is more concerned with boys and girls hugging and holding hands than preventing kids getting beat up. Then if you want a meeting with the principal or vice principal GOOD LUCK. My advice to any parent who is moving to the area try and CHOICE your child to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

My son went to school at Farb, he was an average student until he was introduced to AVID(Advancement Via Individual Determination). My son's grades improves instantly, the teachers at this school are concerned with the achievement of each student and are caring.The principal Mrs. L. was more than just a principal to my son, she was a person that he admired, she helped me with my parenting skills as she gave me tools to be a better parent. Any child that wants to learn at this school will. Farb is a great place to cultivate young minds...this school was/is a blessing for my son. Without Farb instructions my son would not have won the $5000.00 Padre Scholarship that he has. FARB is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Farb Middle has a big problem with bullying and needs so much more improvement when it comes to faculty involvement. The faculty at Farb blame the parents and students for all the bullying and problems they face everyday. But the problem is with the staff. I have seen, as a parent better qualified faculty/staff in other schools systems that do so much better a job of handling any kind of problems that comes up. And these schools have a much better ratio of all around better grades and achievement. And this is due to an awesome faculty support system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

Lack of communication between staff and teachers, staff and parents, and teachers and parents. I've tried to move my child, but the waiting list is too long for the other school. This is the worst school that I have ever had to put up with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

Poor leadership Poor communication skills The teachers don't care enough to even have sports. This school is overall, terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

I am a student in Farb, I am in only 6h grade in my 8th week I think and I am already being challenged beyond anything I will ever do in middle school. I am in all advanced classes, band, and the Principal Leadership council, and am a slightly popular student, Farb helps me to balance everything without me having to miss important information or tests. The safety of the school is at an all time low, I confess, but the PLC and I are aware of this and are fixing it. The school is a completely fine school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2007

Matters at this school are not addressed!!!! This school does not cooperate with parents. Teachers, substitutes and even the principal do not properly and effectively address my concerns about my child's well being, grades, and mistakes are constant!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

The staff at Farb are very motivated about the 'AVID' program, which is a good thing. Even if the kids aren't the type to jump on board with the program, they'll benefit simply from the added energy from the teachers. Unfortunately, Farb seems to have followed the role of Serra High by joining some program that brings in troubled kids from other school districts. The result ... they're drowning in troublemakers. Even if it's only a few kids, the few that cause problems soak up too much of the attention and time from the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

This school has a lack of parent involvement and limited extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted December 24, 2005

My 7th grade son started in the fall of 2005, and at first had some trouble with most all of his classes. As the year has progressed he has gotten much better and the teachers seem to have more concern with his learning. I have been kind of disappointed with the fact that classes run almost 2 hours long and yet some of my sons teachers seem to fly through their material with little regard to if the child is fully understanding the material completely. Also, the band program does not seem to judge each child on his/her ability but on the entire instrument section. Parent involvement seems to be high.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2012.

This school's
API score

803

Change from
2011 to 2012

+40

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2012

This school's
API score

803

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2011 to 2012

+40

Change from 2011 to 2012
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
83%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
19%

2010

 
 
27%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
55%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
4%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 50%
White 23%
Black 7%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
English language learners 13%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Dutch
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • AVID National Demonstration School (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Dutch
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:35 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Courtney Rizzo
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (858) 576-0931

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • AVID
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Dutch
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Club sports in many areas
Girls sports
  • Club sports in many areas

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Farb Middle School is the first and only schoolwide AVID program in our district. Students prepare for a college education by learning organizational skills, participating in rigorous classes, gaining confidence while collaborating with peers, and learning about the college entrance process. All teachers have been trained in AVID strategies and provide rigorous lessons with support for all students. All students in 6th and 7th grade have access to computer laptops and teachers us
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Serra High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4880 La Cuenta Drive
San Diego, CA 92124
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 397-6750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Grace Christian
San Diego, CA


The Arch Academy
San Diego, CA


The Arch Academy
San Diego, CA


Excelsior Academy
San Diego, CA


Lewis Middle School
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT