Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Field Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
My husband and I are both teachers. After significant research, we chose Field Elementary for our son's transitional kindergarten (TK) year. They offer a Spanish Two-way Bilingual Immersion Program that has turned out to be WONDERFUL! The school itself is an organized, pleasant, academically driven environment. The principal, Mrs. Griffiths, is professional and on top of everything. The teachers I've met are well-trained and very positive. Although we had considered the immersion programs at Longfellow and the Language Academy, I am so happy we settled on Field. The immersion program at Field is new; it will be TK-3rd grade in the 2016-2017 school year, but is adding a grade each year. However, they offer a truly rigorous and engaging curriculum that gives students personalized support. Our son loves it and he is already reading, writing, speaking, and comprehending far more Spanish than I had anticipated! He also seems to be learning the core curriculum (e.g. math, science, social studies, etc.) very well. The other parents I talk to are also extremely pleased with the school and the immersion program. I have to say that Katherine Aud is a particularly amazing teacher, too! I look forward to my son continuing in the immersion program as it grows through 5th grade.

Field Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
My son is in Preschool, special needs class. Teacher, Miss Dana and Miss M always give us Happy feeling with kind care. I can totally trust them. Great teacher, Great classroom. All Kids always happy. Principal is nice woman too. Preschool program is best around the area!


Field Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
My boy/girl twins had two fantastic years of preschool at Field (2013-2015). Their preschool teacher, Dana Cloutier, was truly remarkable. She was responsive, professional, creative and caring. Ms. Dana was undaunted by my twins' special needs; as a result, they made tremendous progress. Truly, she makes this school great!

Field Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2015
- a teacher
This school has come a long way! There was some turbulence for a couple of years but all of that has changed. The school has two excellent programs- an English-only program and a Spanish / English Dual Immersion program for both English and Spanish speakers. Both programs provide rigor and push their students to reach the new Common Core State Standards. The PTA is organized and offers many family and community events. There are lots of enrichment opportunities for students before and after school. The teachers, staff and principal are friendly and supportive. Field is a great school!

Field Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2015
- a parent
My son is in the State Preschool, 2014/2015, special education section. It's a fantastic program with a great teacher, Ms Dana. We have been excited about his progress in this great program. All the volunteers seem nice. Front office staff are friendly.


Field Elementary School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
My child is in the dual immersion program this year for kindergarten. The teacher is amazing and my child is learning to read and write in Spanish. I highly recommend this program.

Field Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2012
- a parent
The Kindergarten teachers are the best at this school! They go above and beyond what they are required to do. They are always available to help . My child has learned so much this year.

Field Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2012
- a teacher
It's important that people inquire about schools in person. Many of the "concerns" stated here are inaccurate, and of course, those reading can only see an upset parent's perspective. Please, visit our school and make up your own mind about the staff and the school environment. That's the ONLY way to find out if a school will be "great" to you!!


Field Elementary School 2

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
I have one daughter in 1st grade and one daughter in kindergarten. Their teachers are rude and yell at them most the time. They don't learn much from school, I have to send them to private tutor. My daughters use curse words when they come home.

Field Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2008
- a student
I was a student at field ever sence I had first started school. This school is one of the best school in the San Diego Scool Distrect. They have taught me well, and helped me when I needed it. Also Field has a 6 to 6 program. I went to the 6 to 6 and it was great. The staff are really nice. All the tearchers at Field are the best. I would recommend this school to anybodys children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Field Elementary School
4375 Bannock Avenue, San Diego, CA  92117
(858) 800-5900
Last modified Field Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Field Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top