Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
We're so happy that we chose Franklin! There's a lot of enthusiasm from the staff who have been working like crazy on their STEAM curriculum. The grounds are clean and safe (it's a closed campus that you have to ring a doorbell to get into during school hours) with two gardens that the kids work on during the year. This place is FULL of joy. If you're on the fence, don't be! Come and be a part of something really special.

Franklin Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Markel is such a gift. My daughter also got to spend time with Mrs. Paderes, and Ms. Reyes. They're all WONDERFUL. Thank you three for loving all the Franklin kids, day in and day out. You're amazing.


Franklin Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted June 11, 2016
- a parent
I'm still doing a lot of research on homework and its efficacy. My kid happens to love homework so it's not a problem in our house, but I know that's not the case for everyone (for sure, right!?).

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
Our oldest son is completing kindergarten at Franklin and we are very happy with the experience. All of the teachers we’ve met are warm and kind, and the STEAM curriculum is fantastic. The STEAM disciplines (science, technology, engineering, art and mathematics) are equally instructed in entertaining, thought-provoking ways that make our son eager to go to school every day. And it’s not just STEAM. When he started kinder he couldn’t recognize any sight words; now he is reading above grade level and regularly reads to his younger brother (who can’t wait to join big brother at Franklin). He’s also learning all of these things through the lens of being a good world citizen, to have compassion for the people around him and to work with others to find solutions to problems. It is a collaborative, challenging, fun way to learn. The environment at Franklin is very welcoming and friendly. The kids are greeted by name by teachers and staff, and parents are frequently invited to the school to learn more about the curriculum. We were very impressed by the school’s “Family Thursday” program, in which parents were invited monthly to their children’s classrooms to see the lessons in action. It is wonderful that we not only know what/how our son is being taught, but that we’ve had the chance to get to know some of his classmates. We also loved all of the community-building events, like the Winter Program, STEAM Experience Open House and marching with Franklin in the Kensington Holiday at Home Memorial Day parade. Franklin is a small school with huge potential. We recommend it.

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
My oldest son started in Kindergarten at Franklin last school year. He has loved this school from day one! The staff is wonderful and very dedicated. Ms. Shanks is an amazing kindergarten teacher and really sets the bar so that children are prepared for first grade. Mrs. Pina, a first grade teacher is also fantastic. She is great with the kids and really knows how to bring out their individual strengths. The school always offers opportunities for family members to get involved in their children's education. Being a PTA member, it's very exciting to see children enjoying school and participating in events in which families can be a part of. My younger son cannot wait to start at Franklin in a couple of years!


Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
Benjamin Franklin, San Diego, Ca. I attended from 1957 through 1960, and I have fond memories.

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2013
- a parent
Part of a group of Kensington Preschool parents committed to supporting our local elementary school. We look forward to our child attending Franklin this fall!

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2012
- a parent
I am so happy to hear that Franklin Elementary is now a dual track school! Now that students can go directly to Patrick Henry High School without having to worry about applying and being accepted through the Choice program, we will be sending our children to Franklin. I love that they will be going to our neighborhood school.


Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2012
- a community member
The School Board has approved a dual track for Franklin graduates, meaning that students can opt to enter Lewis Middle School and then Patrick Henry High School as well as the traditional track. The API scores have been revised upward to 831, so these three schools (Franklin, Lewis and Henry) have 10 out of 10 similar school rankings. The new Principal brings a lot of experience, knowledge and ideas, and there are many new programs. The school garden has received a $2000 Whole Foods grant and the school is partnering with the Copley Y for many in-school and after school programs, including swim lessons. This school is a great one for all K-5 students!

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
We just moved into the neighborhood and we are excited to send our children to Franklin next year. The Principal was very kind and our children just adored him right from the start. We are excited about the smaller class sizes, Weekly Art classes and after school programs that they will offer next year!

Nearby schools

Franklin Elementary School
4481 Copeland Avenue, San Diego, CA  92116-4802
(619) 344-3000
Last modified Franklin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top