Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
San Diego, CA
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
Our oldest son is completing kindergarten at Franklin and we are very happy with the experience. All of the teachers we’ve met are warm and kind, and the STEAM curriculum is fantastic. The STEAM disciplines (science, technology, engineering, art and mathematics) are equally instructed in entertaining, thought-provoking ways that make our son eager to go to school every day. And it’s not just STEAM. When he started kinder he couldn’t recognize any sight words; now he is reading above grade level and regularly reads to his younger brother (who can’t wait to join big brother at Franklin). He’s also learning all of these things through the lens of being a good world citizen, to have compassion for the people around him and to work with others to find solutions to problems. It is a collaborative, challenging, fun way to learn. The environment at Franklin is very welcoming and friendly. The kids are greeted by name by teachers and staff, and parents are frequently invited to the school to learn more about the curriculum. We were very impressed by the school’s “Family Thursday” program, in which parents were invited monthly to their children’s classrooms to see the lessons in action. It is wonderful that we not only know what/how our son is being taught, but that we’ve had the chance to get to know some of his classmates. We also loved all of the community-building events, like the Winter Program, STEAM Experience Open House and marching with Franklin in the Kensington Holiday at Home Memorial Day parade. Franklin is a small school with huge potential. We recommend it.

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
My oldest son started in Kindergarten at Franklin last school year. He has loved this school from day one! The staff is wonderful and very dedicated. Ms. Shanks is an amazing kindergarten teacher and really sets the bar so that children are prepared for first grade. Mrs. Pina, a first grade teacher is also fantastic. She is great with the kids and really knows how to bring out their individual strengths. The school always offers opportunities for family members to get involved in their children's education. Being a PTA member, it's very exciting to see children enjoying school and participating in events in which families can be a part of. My younger son cannot wait to start at Franklin in a couple of years!


Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
Benjamin Franklin, San Diego, Ca. I attended from 1957 through 1960, and I have fond memories.

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2013
- a parent
Part of a group of Kensington Preschool parents committed to supporting our local elementary school. We look forward to our child attending Franklin this fall!

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2012
- a parent
I am so happy to hear that Franklin Elementary is now a dual track school! Now that students can go directly to Patrick Henry High School without having to worry about applying and being accepted through the Choice program, we will be sending our children to Franklin. I love that they will be going to our neighborhood school.
1 person found this helpful


Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2012
- a community member
The School Board has approved a dual track for Franklin graduates, meaning that students can opt to enter Lewis Middle School and then Patrick Henry High School as well as the traditional track. The API scores have been revised upward to 831, so these three schools (Franklin, Lewis and Henry) have 10 out of 10 similar school rankings. The new Principal brings a lot of experience, knowledge and ideas, and there are many new programs. The school garden has received a $2000 Whole Foods grant and the school is partnering with the Copley Y for many in-school and after school programs, including swim lessons. This school is a great one for all K-5 students!
2 people found this helpful

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
We just moved into the neighborhood and we are excited to send our children to Franklin next year. The Principal was very kind and our children just adored him right from the start. We are excited about the smaller class sizes, Weekly Art classes and after school programs that they will offer next year!

Franklin Elementary School 1

Posted February 23, 2012
- a parent
Some teachers in this school should be re-evaluated. Students should be awarded based on their academic performance and not on mere teacher's choice. Academic performance is where the competition is and it is what the student hopes for to be recognized. How can you award a student who just attend class and do not excel on anything? The criteria to award students is on the school manual and yet it is not being observed. It is a waste of talent for a student to attend this kind of school!


Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2012
- a parent
We are new to Franklin Elementary. I am amazed that with all the budget cuts going on in education, Franklin has so much to offer! Students receive weekly art classes, unique P.E. activities such as yoga with a professional instructor, 5th grade dodge ball, and swim lessons for 1st and 2nd graders (for FREE), La Jolla Playhouse opportunities, and field trips for every class (paid for by the PTO)! The academic rigor is top notch: my Kindergartner is already reading at a 1st grade level. They are even starting a school garden. I love all the community activities and parent involvement. We just went to Family Movie Night in the Auditorium and had a blast! Overall, we couldn't be happier with our choice.

Franklin Elementary School 5

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
Awesome School small classes friendly staff and very active parents! It is my child's first year and I could not be happier with my choice!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Franklin Elementary School
4481 Copeland Avenue, San Diego, CA  92116
(619) 344-3000
Last modified Franklin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Franklin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top