Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gage Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2016
- a parent
We have been part of the spanish immersion program at this school for a year now and it is great. The teachers are great and the principal really cares about creating a feeling of community among the students. The PTA is very active as well.

Gage Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2016
- a community member
This community school is exactly that. There are amazing teachers, staff, parents, and students here. We have only had great experiences over the last four years.


Gage Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2015
- a student
Excellent teachers and parents. One community that shares and supports. I feel very fortunate to have my daughters attend this thriving school.

Gage Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
We have been at this school since 2007 & my last child will graduate in 2016. This school has continuously strived to be the best school it can be. Between family nights, volunteer days & the garden that is not only beautiful but educational. All food grown is either served for lunch or given to families to take home and enjoy. Plus all the extra programs Gage has that neighboring schools don't have. Gage will always be our home school.

Gage Elementary School 5

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
When we first moved to California from Nevada two years ago I wasn't sure what to expect of the local neighborhood school to which we were assigned. I was and am still so pleasantly amazed by this gem of a school. Such caring and giving teachers and staff. The sense of community fostered in this school is second to none. My children feel welcomed and cared for. Beyond that they are receiving a well balanced education. The teachers are always willing to make themselves available for the students and parents. In addition to that my daugher is now fluent in Spanish do to the immersion program. This fact alone sets her life up for greater success in the future as a bilingual American. I recommend Gage to any family who wants a good solid education that comes with a family, a community.


Gage Elementary School 1

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
THIS SCHOOL IS HORRIBLE I sent my son Here for 3 years he always came home complaining about the food he told me that the food came from cans and he kept finding hairs in the food and this year a mean lunchlady kept bullying him about eating everything but he brings his own lunch from home! This school does not have a good budget in fact I found out that teachers only get 4 free ink cartridges FOR TGE WHOLE YEAR. THIS year my son had a teacher who bullied the class and kept the people who did their homework 40 minutes after school and let the ones who didn't go. I HAVE COMPLAINED to the principal multiple times she has done nothing about it. That teacher have also kept my son in at recess WHICH IS AGAINST THE CALIFORNIA STATE WDUCATION LAW. Do not send your kid to this school. Kids always get into fights in fact one day I saw two third graders hiring each pther on the floor they have also made this 3 strikes if you get 3 strikes you miss out on a field trip or art project BUT I FOUND OUT THAT IF YOU 3 STRIKES YOU MISS OUT ON GRADUATION! DO NOT SEND YOUR KID TO THIS SCHOOL

Gage Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
Theirs this system 3 strikes in fifth grade if you get 3 strikes you could miss out in GRADUATION

Gage Elementary School 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
I am happy that we decided to attend our neighborhood school. The PTA is absolutely wonderful...from movie nights to campouts at the school! The teachers truly care for their students. I am amazed at all the parent involvement and the school pride at Gage. Our daughter is in the Spanish Emersion program and amazes me that in kindergarten she can understand Spanish when we are an English speaking family. I am confident we made the right decision.


Gage Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
Gage has an excellent program all around. Great, caring staff, parents and kids. Traditional or Spanish immersion available. Many activities during and after school. Good test scores, and yet an even emphasis on tests and quality work. We love Gage, I have looked elsewhere many times to compare--Gage is our home.

Gage Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
My child started at Gage this year, and honestly we were a bit skeptical after looking at some of the reviews. That being said, I could not ask for a better school or environment for my child. The staff, teachers, principal, etc are all very caring and want nothing but the best for each child. We love the morning running program and Fitness Fridays - not to mention all the wonderful activities that Gage provides throughout the year. This school is a hidden gem. I would not want my child to go anywhere else.

Nearby schools

Gage Elementary School
6811 Bisby Lake Drive, San Diego, CA  92119-1918
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 82 reviews. (619) 463-0202
Last modified Gage Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top