Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted March 26, 2015
- a teacher
Hawthorne is a small school with a dedicated teaching staff who are supportive not only of one another but the students and parents as well.

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted February 13, 2015
- a teacher
As a newer teacher, I could not have received a better placement than at Hawthorne Elementary. The staff has embraced me with open arms and works efficiently together to provide our students with the best learning experience possible. Hawthorne has a smaller learning community with teachers that are committed to furthering each child's education. There are many great things coming in Hawthorne's future!


Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
My third child is attending the seminar program in 3rd Grade at Hawthorne this year transferring from a neighborhood school. At the old school he was a failure and we kept getting notices of his misbehaving and failing in class. Now at Hawthorne, he is prospering into a promising student. Mrs. Sherman is paying attention to each student individually instead just as a number. I would recommend to parents of any GATE Certified students to send their kids to this school.

Hawthorne Elementary School 4

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
My child attended the seminar program here, coming from another school that was rated "10" by greatschools.net. Hawthorne has a great seminar program, and this significantly improves the performance of the rest of the school. If your kid is an average student and is not in the seminar program, then you may want to look elsewhere. The fantastic seminar program is keeping this school alive - the regular academic programs are exceptionally weak. Parent involvement (outside of the seminar program) is ZERO.

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2012
- a parent
I pulled my sons from a GreatSchools "10" to go to Hawthorne in their Seminar Program. They went from being bored and underachieving to thriving and loving school. I love that the school is smaller than most elementary schools in San Diego, and that it's economically and racially diverse. Most of all - I love that my kids LOVE school again.


Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2011
- a parent
This school does a terrific job teaching everyone from non-English speakers to Seminar students. It is a small school with a friendly community feeling. The teachers overall are excellent. My one criticism is that the parent involvement is low. That needs to be changed!

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2009
- a parent
I am shocked by the 2 preschool reviews! Those comments should not affect the score of the actual Elementary School. I have never been so pleased with a School, my Son is in the Seminar program and his Teacher Ms. Smith is Tops in my book..

Hawthorne Elementary School 1

Posted April 20, 2009
- a parent
The preschool is not the best. My sons belongings were trashed! No respect. they have no consideration or respect for the parent. Very poor communication bet. teacher and parent. Administration is just as bad.


Hawthorne Elementary School 1

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
My son went to preschool here. Poor communication between parent and teacher. The Principal doesn't even get close to being involved.

Hawthorne Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2006
- a parent
My daugher has been a student at Hawthorne Seminar since 3rd to 6th grade. She has has a challenging, stimulating education that we had no hope of finding after interviewing with many seminar programs and highly reputed private schools. The level of parent involvement changes from year to year, but overall the seminar parent participation has been very high. Some contibute time and money, some just time . Our music program includes an excellent choir, professionally mounted musical theatre productions,with everyone participating. Our art program, with professional artists from outside as well parent artists guest teaching. Our extracurricular program in chess with Larry Evans has produced some excellent chess players. The 3/4th grade teacher, Ms Sherman has very high expectations of the children's abilities. They are inspired to meet her goals. Mrs. Smith is a master teacher in every sense and has prepared her students for the future brilliantly with love.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hawthorne Elementary School
4750 Lehrer Drive, San Diego, CA  92117-1358
(858) 273-3341
Last modified Hawthorne Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hawthorne Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top