Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 478
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
An outstanding school, with an emphasis on academics. Teachers at most grade levels work together so curriculum is similar in all classrooms. Parent involvement is high and it is easy to volunteer for various activities, PTA positions & Foundation board.

Hearst Elementary School 3

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is over rated. The parents are over involved to the point that their child can do no wrong. The parents buy the teachers and principals support (for their bully children) at the auctions and fundraisers. The bullying has gone on for decades. Parents whose children are bullied move out of the area and you never hear from them. The resource teacher is a gossip, so be careful if you need any kind of learning assistance...everyone in the school will find out about it.
1 person found this helpful


Hearst Elementary School 3

Posted September 10, 2012
- a community member
This school did not even bother telling us that our grandson was reading below grade level. What kind of communication is this? We did not find out until the next year. We could have placed him in a summer reading class. This is not what we expected when we sacrificed to get him into this school. It is also something that should have been covered in parent teacher meetings, as well as in daily communications.

Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2011
- a parent
Our child has now promoted from Hearst. Looking back, our experiences were very positive. The quality, overall, of the teachers was excellent. Their commitment to the students success was obvious. Since a change in principal leadership a few years ago, the morale of the teachers and parent volunteers grew dramatically. The new principal, Jamie Jorgensen, leads with enthusiasm, joy, and inclusiveness.

Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
The Hearst promotes parents involvement in the education of the children. The teachers are fantastic and very involved, even the office staff is genuine involve on the childrens wellbeing we fell our children are in fantastic hands and makes us fell they are safe all the time under great care.


Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hearst Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 31, 2010
- a parent
This is our first year at Hearst, and we have been very impressed with the kindergarten team. The K-teachers work as a true kindergarten teaching team. The teachers are experienced and still very engaged in their professional development. With a grant, Mrs. Baker, along with parents, began a Hearst garden club. My daughter has fed worms, planted seeds and watched them grow, and then harvested the produce, enjoying salad with her fellow gardeners! Every week, kindergartners have a computer lab, library lab, music lesson, and P.E. session. The kids also have art lessons taught by parents. There is strong parent support and involvement at Hearst and a community spirit. The school acknowledges and rewards the kids success, and Principal Jorgenson s weekly message, Make it a great week or not, the choice is yours, builds a sense of responsibility and pride in the kids.

Hearst Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
this is my son first year at the school as a 3rd grader i'm impress of the good organization the principalteachers etc he is loving it .


Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
This is excellent school. I have 5 kids come from this school.

Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hearst Elementary School
6230 Del Cerro Boulevard, San Diego, CA  92120
(619) 583-5704
Last modified Hearst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hearst Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top