Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
An outstanding school, with an emphasis on academics. Teachers at most grade levels work together so curriculum is similar in all classrooms. Parent involvement is high and it is easy to volunteer for various activities, PTA positions & Foundation board.

Hearst Elementary School 3

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is over rated. The parents are over involved to the point that their child can do no wrong. The parents buy the teachers and principals support (for their bully children) at the auctions and fundraisers. The bullying has gone on for decades. Parents whose children are bullied move out of the area and you never hear from them. The resource teacher is a gossip, so be careful if you need any kind of learning assistance...everyone in the school will find out about it.


Hearst Elementary School 3

Posted September 10, 2012
- a community member
This school did not even bother telling us that our grandson was reading below grade level. What kind of communication is this? We did not find out until the next year. We could have placed him in a summer reading class. This is not what we expected when we sacrificed to get him into this school. It is also something that should have been covered in parent teacher meetings, as well as in daily communications.

Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2011
- a parent
Our child has now promoted from Hearst. Looking back, our experiences were very positive. The quality, overall, of the teachers was excellent. Their commitment to the students success was obvious. Since a change in principal leadership a few years ago, the morale of the teachers and parent volunteers grew dramatically. The new principal, Jamie Jorgensen, leads with enthusiasm, joy, and inclusiveness.

Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
The Hearst promotes parents involvement in the education of the children. The teachers are fantastic and very involved, even the office staff is genuine involve on the childrens wellbeing we fell our children are in fantastic hands and makes us fell they are safe all the time under great care.


Hearst Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 31, 2010
- a parent
This is our first year at Hearst, and we have been very impressed with the kindergarten team. The K-teachers work as a true kindergarten teaching team. The teachers are experienced and still very engaged in their professional development. With a grant, Mrs. Baker, along with parents, began a Hearst garden club. My daughter has fed worms, planted seeds and watched them grow, and then harvested the produce, enjoying salad with her fellow gardeners! Every week, kindergartners have a computer lab, library lab, music lesson, and P.E. session. The kids also have art lessons taught by parents. There is strong parent support and involvement at Hearst and a community spirit. The school acknowledges and rewards the kids success, and Principal Jorgenson s weekly message, Make it a great week or not, the choice is yours, builds a sense of responsibility and pride in the kids.

Hearst Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
this is my son first year at the school as a 3rd grader i'm impress of the good organization the principalteachers etc he is loving it .

Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
This is excellent school. I have 5 kids come from this school.


Hearst Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
This is our first year at Hearst and we are having a wonderful, 'healthy' experience so far. We have had many undesirable experiences at other schools and this year my son finally said....'I want to stay at this school!'. Principal Jorgensen is really making a great effort to improve an already magnificent school and the parents come together as a close community and really support each other....We all appear to have the same goal which is to offer our children a wonderful school experience. With art corp and band program, my son is having a blast! Kudos to Hearst....they have the right idea of what a school should be...FUN!

Hearst Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
all my 5 kids go to this school, my kids love this school a lot...nice teacher

Nearby schools

Hearst Elementary School
6230 Del Cerro Boulevard, San Diego, CA  92120-4604
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (619) 583-5704
Last modified Hearst Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top