Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hickman Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 660 students

Working together as a community encourages our students to think globally
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2013

I think Principal Wrobleski is the best thing that happened to this school! She is very involved. You see her out there before, during and after school compared to last one they had who was very non motivational ( just my opinion). There is great parent involvement from the same devoted parents you always see. The downside is I don't see a whole lot of other parents volunteering. It's always the same ones. I wish more parents would volunteer. As for the teachers, I think a majority of them are very dedicated to helping the kids excel academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

Hickman is a wonderful school. The teachers and administration are very good. Principal Wroblewski is great. She is a strong positive voice that is active, creative, and caring. Wroblewski and her staff are always looking out for the student s best interest. She s been there for 2 years and has made a big difference. The teachers are caring, innovative, and they challenge the students to do their best. There is a small dedicated group of volunteers who run the PTA and Friends of Hickman foundation, and they really make a big impact. More parent participation would be great. The test scores are very good and continue to improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

I have worked with children in a number of schools. Never have I experienced a school like Hickman. All the teachers I have met are dedicated and creative. They have high academic standards and they really care about the children. The principal is so involved, I think she knows the names of nearly all 700 children at the school. Parent involvement is less than at some other schools, but the parents that do volunteer are just amazing. The Halloween bash is always fantastic! I could go to another school, but I used school choice to enroll my children into Hickman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

Jennifer Wroblewski has shown excellent leadership for us (teachers) at Hickman Elementary. She is fair, honest, and encourages us to give 120% to our students...which we do. Our main focus is our students, encouraging them to learn the most information they can in a positive, fun learning environment. We, as a staff, are very pleased to have her as our principal and your children as our learners. If you ever have any concerns, please let us know. We will address it in a timely, helpful manner. We are glad that you chose our school for your children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 15, 2009

Hickman is a school to watch in Mira Mesa. Lacking the pretentious nature of Jerabek, this school has a congenial faculty, friendly parents, and a terrific music program. The new Principal, Jennifer Wroblewski, has shown outstanding leadership skills already, and she is out in front of the school every morning and every afternoon, talking with parents. Security of the campus is a high priority. 'Friends of Hickman' group has big ideas for the school. With its new leadership, Hickman is a high-achieving school with a bright future.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 25, 2009

My child went to Hickman for 5 years and just graduated. We found the teachers to be caring and a cut above your average public school. The students are well behaved and the Principal kind and caring. My student excelled and was excited to go school every day. Hickman rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

This school is so average and has potential but the leadership is non-existent. Most kids are scared of the invisible principal and don't get their voices heard when something does come up. The principal in no way is 'there ' for the parents , possible just to yes you to death. The teachers are hit and miss. Some are fabulous but others need to find a job they like. I dont see my children prospering like they should. Many parents sit around and dont volunteer like they should. Not impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

I just wish there was more things going on at the school. No holloween festival. Dont know what they will be doing for x-mas, still dont have the school pictures yet. Here they have these programs to go eat somewhere and the school gets a percentage of it. They also have the kids sale entertainment books and so on, but where does the money go???? I dont think my child will have alot of fond memories of her grammer school like i did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

My children started attending Hickman in the 2004-2005 year. Hickman was a 5-star back then. Something happened at the end of 2006 and beginning of 2006-2007 up to 2007-2008. The quality of the program plummeted and the quality of the teachers also plummeted in terms of new hires. The grade reporting was changed from traditional to standards-based grading which is useless. In the standards-based grading, the student earns a BA for basic, PR for proficient and AD for advanced. So even though the child earns 100% on all the work, the report card may still say BA because the teacher only covered the basic material in class. There is absolutely no motivation factor in the new grading system. That system is made for low performing schools who are trying to avoid giving students failing grades. The principal is uninvolved and nowhere to be seen out in the school grounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

I attended Hickman as a child over 20 years ago, my son who is currently in the 2nd grade is a tough one, but this school is stead fast in supporting and working with him. I love this school, such diversity and committed teachers, many of the substitutes are retired Hickman teachers. It is a majority Asian school, with parents who speak english as a second language, which results in low parent volunteer percentages. There are not many extracurricular activities but the may be due to county wide budget cuts. I know many of my former Hickman classmates who now have their children attending Hickman. I entrust them with my active 7 year old and work very closely with administration and his teacher because I choose to be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

My son just finished kindergarten at Hickman, and I was sorely disappointed. The principal was invisible most of the time, and when she was present, she was pitifully uninspiring! This leads to overall apathy among the teachers who appear to do as little as possible and still get paid. There is not a great deal of parental involvement, but this is largely due to the lack of enthusiasm among the staff and lack of overall structure to support volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

The school had dumbed down curriculum, uncaring teachers and principal and substandard facilities. Built like a prison, it is a fairly typical school of the San Diego Unified system.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 2, 2006

Average quality academic program, very few extracurricular activities, and average parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

My son just completed 1st grade and the program was intense and fast. There isnt enought music or sports as far as I am concerned at this school. The parent involvement is pitiful. I help out 2x per week and I believe I was the only one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

I am not terribly happy about Hickman Elementary. The parents are great, but the teaching staff and the administration give off an impersonal aire. The physical environment lacks any sort of warmth, and the overall environment is uninviting and, therefore, not great for learning. Also, the three teachers my child has had so far have made so many education-based errors that I am baffled about the lack of quality of teacher training. Our old school in La Mesa was worlds better than Hickman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

My daughter has been at Hickman for over 2 years after transfering from a private school. I always belived that we would have to send her to a private school for her to have a good education. I kept hearing good things about Hickman so we gave it a shot. It was the best decission we ever made. Hickman's curriculum was more advanced than the private shcool, and the teachers there rock. I have never seen teachers who work so hard to make sure every kid not only learns but is shaped into a responsible humanbeing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

I have a daughter presently in the 4th grade, her current teacher is Mrs. Sutherland. She is an awesome teacher! She has shown excellent involvement with her students. This gives Hickman an outstanding name recognition. All around the teaching staff is excellent! All I see is excellence with the school. As a parent I would challenge all parents to get out once in awhile and see your child grow in success with Hickman, be more involved with their education. Volunteer! Plan a special visit with your child, let them know you care about them, that they too are being loved! Just do it! Have an awesome day! Go Hickman!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2004

My daughter went to Hickman for 5 years (K-5th grade)She loves all the teachers and she enjoys this school very much. Majority of the students here are Asian. But, they are extremely smart. They do so well in all the subjects. Especially in computer/technology classes. Go Hickman!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2004

I have 2 children in Hickman, so far this school is great compare to the last one. What I appreciate the most is my daughter's 3rd grade GATE class teacher. Mr. He works hard and really good at communicating with me on anything and letting me know what is goin on with my daugther and how well she is doing. Thank You Mr. M - you are the great treacher and children love you, keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2004

My daughter is in the first grade at Hickman. She transferred from another school in San Diego. It amazes me at how high of a degree the curriculum and the faculty challenges the students. The staff is very motivated, courteous, and enthusiastic. They lead by example and encourage the students to take responsibility. A good example is how every Thursday after school, the students sell popsciles as a fundraiser. The staff supervise and allow the volunteer children to take down the orders, collect the money, and complete the orders. Other activities include the crossing guard program. In addition, my daughter attends afterschool care where she interacts with children from other local schools and on average, it is apparent that Hickman provides a better learning environment. I also like how the school is very diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

893

Change from
2012 to 2013

+6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

893

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females83%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipino81%
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner65%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate73%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females83%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipino77%
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner73%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females69%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipino54%
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state64%

Math

All Students79%
Females84%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipino83%
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner85%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females88%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipino83%
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students85%
Females86%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipino87%
Hispanic or Latino90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females83%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipino94%
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students83%
Females80%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipino88%
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students78%
Females69%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 44% 11%
Hispanic 19% 51%
White 19% 27%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Black 7% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Wroblewski
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (858) 566-9010

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
  • safety patrol
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10850 Montongo St.
San Diego, CA 92126
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 271-5210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Good Shepherd School
San Diego, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT