Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hickman Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 20, 2016
- a community member
Homework is fun work. If a child can spend an hour or two on a cell phone or iPad or any other electronic device, they can be motivated in doing fun-work. It doesn't hurt to learn something that will benefit them through life.

Hickman Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a community member
Yessiree! My grand daughter is proof positive of this! Determination and can-do attitude! Great support from the office staff, the teachers n Ms. Pace!


Hickman Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a community member
If my grand daughter ever came home crying (which she has never done) and she's happy, then I know there has been no disrespect.

Hickman Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a community member
Of course it does! Our grand daughter would not be enrolled otherwise. Oh the teachers are great and so is the office staff! It's very diverse and everyone seems to get along. No stress, nothing negative.

Hickman Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2016
- a community member
Me. Pace is an awesome principal! We love getting phone messages of upcoming events n being informed. There is always much to do but I feel there are many activities that parents can pick n choose from. Our grand daughter admires her ( we purchased an organ with a microphone n she felt so comfortable using the microphone n mimicking Ms Pace about why everyone was in the cafeteria due to the rain etc.) I have heard Ms Pace talk at many assemblies and I was tickled to hear my grand daughter speak like her. That's great! A warm and fuzzy moment! Ms Pace is positive, outgoing n full of energy (excellent principal!) I love all the after school activities too! Who doesn't love soccer and basketball? And the holiday activities? Awesome!!!


Hickman Elementary School 4

Posted January 15, 2013
- a parent
I think Principal Wrobleski is the best thing that happened to this school! She is very involved. You see her out there before, during and after school compared to last one they had who was very non motivational ( just my opinion). There is great parent involvement from the same devoted parents you always see. The downside is I don't see a whole lot of other parents volunteering. It's always the same ones. I wish more parents would volunteer. As for the teachers, I think a majority of them are very dedicated to helping the kids excel academically.

Hickman Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
Hickman is a wonderful school. The teachers and administration are very good. Principal Wroblewski is great. She is a strong positive voice that is active, creative, and caring. Wroblewski and her staff are always looking out for the student s best interest. She s been there for 2 years and has made a big difference. The teachers are caring, innovative, and they challenge the students to do their best. There is a small dedicated group of volunteers who run the PTA and Friends of Hickman foundation, and they really make a big impact. More parent participation would be great. The test scores are very good and continue to improve.

Hickman Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
I have worked with children in a number of schools. Never have I experienced a school like Hickman. All the teachers I have met are dedicated and creative. They have high academic standards and they really care about the children. The principal is so involved, I think she knows the names of nearly all 700 children at the school. Parent involvement is less than at some other schools, but the parents that do volunteer are just amazing. The Halloween bash is always fantastic! I could go to another school, but I used school choice to enroll my children into Hickman.


Hickman Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2010
- a teacher
Jennifer Wroblewski has shown excellent leadership for us (teachers) at Hickman Elementary. She is fair, honest, and encourages us to give 120% to our students...which we do. Our main focus is our students, encouraging them to learn the most information they can in a positive, fun learning environment. We, as a staff, are very pleased to have her as our principal and your children as our learners. If you ever have any concerns, please let us know. We will address it in a timely, helpful manner. We are glad that you chose our school for your children.

Hickman Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a teacher
Hickman is a school to watch in Mira Mesa. Lacking the pretentious nature of Jerabek, this school has a congenial faculty, friendly parents, and a terrific music program. The new Principal, Jennifer Wroblewski, has shown outstanding leadership skills already, and she is out in front of the school every morning and every afternoon, talking with parents. Security of the campus is a high priority. 'Friends of Hickman' group has big ideas for the school. With its new leadership, Hickman is a high-achieving school with a bright future.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hickman Elementary School
10850 Montongo Street, San Diego, CA  92126-2629
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (858) 271-5210
Last modified Hickman Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top