Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 2,021
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hoover High School 3

Posted August 21, 2014
- a student
I've noticed a lot of these reviews are really vague and generally unhelpful, so i've taken it upon myself to give an accurate description of the environment here. The students: Very diverse, to the point where caucasian students are the minority. Students are generally peaceful but there is a "bad crowd" of kids, like at every school. The Teachers: The teachers here vary widely. You have some who make it obvious that they love their job and their students, whose classes are very enjoyable. Then you also have teachers who are apathetic or underqualified (it's a known rumor that a football coach is teaching a physics class and students on the football team get better grades than the others in his class). Teachers here are also open to students voicing their opinion. I can vouch for myself that the teachers i've been assigned to have had great teaching skills and we're a joy to be around. The Staff: Counselors are very easy going, except for those who are new to the school. In my experience, they tend to have the best interests for students. Through what i've seen and heard, I assume they prefer to handle matters with students on a one to one basis rather than call parents in.

Hoover High School 1

Posted August 10, 2012
- a parent
HORRIBLE AT COMMUNICATION, GOOD LUCK GETTING ANYONE BESDIES A RECORDED MESSAGE ANSWERING YOUR CALL, EVER!!! NOT EVEN SAN DIEGO UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT, DURING BUSINESS HOURS ANSWERS THEIR CALLS. NO WONDER THIS SCHOOL HAS SUCH LOW SCORES, AND IS NOT A CALIFORNIA ACCREDITED SCHOOL, LOOK AT IT'S SCORES PEOPLE.....


Hoover High School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a student
I love Hoover High School because it has a lot of opportunities for students at that school. There are many programs that help us. Also the vibe there is awesome since nobody discriminates anybody.

Hoover High School 5

Posted February 01, 2008
- a parent
great school...alot of diversty

Hoover High School 5

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hoover High School 5

Posted August 12, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hoover High School 3

Posted August 25, 2006
- a former student
Typical inner-city demographics; student body is very diverse. Low student and parent participation - possibly due to language barriers or efficacy. Teachers genuinely care about teaching and not about the school's prestige or $$$. Negative aspects are hyped. Beautiful yet historic campus.

Hoover High School 3

Posted March 15, 2006
- a former student
The quality of academic programs is just a tadd bit below average. The extracurrical activities has room for improvement not a lot of availability due to lack of student participation. Unfortunately, not a lot of parent involvement.
1 person found this helpful


Hoover High School 5

Posted June 08, 2005
- a parent
The quality of their advanced academic programs is wonderful. The teaching staff allows personal growth and the student if at a higher level of education is allowed to enhance their studies.

Hoover High School 5

Posted March 12, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hoover High School
4474 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA  92115
(619) 344-4500
Last modified Hoover High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hoover High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top