Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
56 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Language Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 01, 2015
- a parent
Cada Una de las personas que son parte de la escuela, principalmente a Los maestros de kinder porque son ellos los que hacen placentero el despertar cada mañana y querer ir a la escuela.!!

Language Academy 5

Posted November 01, 2015
- a parent
Mis 3 hijos están en el programa de francés, y la disciplina y el entendimiento de un tercer idioma les ayuda a desarrollar más su celebró. Cada uno de sus maestros han sido parte escencial de ello. La escuela es más que perfecta.


Language Academy 5

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
My son has been in the French program for 6 years, and we have been very happy. The teachers, for the most part part, love what they do and help each child succeed. The office staff is fine. Consider how many parents and kids they have interrupting them all day long, and you could understand any short tempers. Just be polite and you'll have no problems. My son is fluent now and has no issue understanding French when we travel. The only drawback is more on the state of California. Theres no budget for art or music so the programs are extremely limited, and sometimes run by volunteers.

Language Academy 3

Posted March 04, 2015
- a parent
Both of my kids have had caring and competent teachers in the last three years that they have attended this school. However, it is a different story for the office staff. The receptionist is rude and hostile to the parents -- I'm not sure what the problem is but perhaps she needs to get some help. Both of my kids are afraid of her and I think they would be very reluctant to go to the office to ask her for help if they ever needed it. My other concern with the school is the growing class sizes. The fourth grade classes are so large that I don't believe that the teacher has time to get to know the students very well. These are the main reasons why we do not plan to return to the Language Academy next year.

Language Academy 4

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
The school concept is amazing. My children have learned an amazing amount at this school.. the teachers have an irreplaceable love for the students. The staff..... whole different ball game. If I could have my children finish through 8th grade without EVER stepping foot into the office it would be a blessing. They are rude, dishonest and just very unpleasant. They don't problem solve, talk to parents and students like second class citizens and make it very apparent that they HATE their job or life for that matter. I have seen the longer the office staff is there.. the more the self righteous attitude. Its very unfortunate to have such a great program but the "faces" of the program ruin the experience.


Language Academy 4

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
I know everyone has their opinions but I've been a room mom for years and I get very involved in the school programs and issues. That said, as a room mom I got to say, yeah the principal is not at all easy to work with, she feels like she does not have to involve parents in anything but that one negative thing should not affect the amazing teachers and programs that this school has. To those parents who can not give a clear answer to what is going on in their students lives at school, become involve! Visit the class, join a club with your student, be there and participate. Get off the he said she said and actually experience things for yourself. I love this school and I am very passionate about it.

Language Academy 1

Posted August 15, 2014
- a community member
Don't go here! The teachers scare the students, Bathrooms aren't clean, sooo much freedom so they're not strict enough Even parents are suspicious of the teachers because of What their kids say

Language Academy 4

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
This school has recently gotten new leadership and needed it. Arce is perhaps not the best PR administrator, but really is passionate about education. She has turned some parents off, but that was because communicating with them and selling them on her decisions was not her top priority. Her priority is the kids and working to better the quality of their education at our school. She has done an amazing amount in just one year and I look forward to seeing what she will be able to do as long as we are lucky enough to have her.


Language Academy 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
The new parking lot, parent pick-up zone and landscaping is another fantastic addition to the infrastructure of an already academically and culturally rich school. This coincides with development that is going on in the SDSU area in general that will make this neighborhood an even more interesting place to live. A previous reviewer mentioned that recent changes here represent a turnaround at a "failing" school. However, the school has been "failing" only in the sense that it hasn't met targets for its subgroups in standardized tests; tests that have finally become discredited and done away with by the State, by the way. The CSTs have always been a poor measure of true learning and won't even be given this year in most grades. Even so, LA's overall API has consistently been above 800, which is the state target, and its subgroups that haven't met the target (and traditionally don't do so statewide) are very close to the target of 800. But to label a school "failing" for this is ridiculous. I have two children at this school and for me, at least, the fact that they have been learning both English and their mother's native language in school is an amazing success.

Language Academy 3

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
The new principal arrived last year and inherited the HUGE burden of turning around a school that has been failing for the past years. She is up to the task! Her management style may not be of the liking of some (angry parents always complaining but offering no solution to help) but she is the leader the school needed so bad to get better. Over the course of one school year, she has put in place a few modifications that are certainly efficient, for the benefit of the kids and the teachers alike. The school looks better, is better and, finally got equipped with books in French for the French program. The task to be accomplished is still huge, but I am pretty confident things are going to get better and better thanks to the leadership of a principal who believes in quality education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Language Academy
4961 64th Street, San Diego, CA  92115-2602
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (619) 287-1182
Last modified Language Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top