Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 1,111
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lewis Middle School 1

Posted November 09, 2012
- a parent
Compared to Hearst, a feeder school, the teacher quality drops but they do increase the volume of mindless homework and cryptic grading systems.

Lewis Middle School 5

Posted February 26, 2012
- a parent
My son is in the seminar program and his seminar teacher is wonderful. She emails me / calls with any issues/problems/etc for my son. Nowadays when people are so busy and not always able to meet with teachers it's nice to know that we get little reminders or just updates via email. Parent connection is great too!! Thank you Mrs Maier for your dilegence and love for your job.


Lewis Middle School 1

Posted October 10, 2011
- a parent
Maybe a n OK school, but not for my son. My son was in the seminar program. I had to call, email teachers 5 times before I could elicit any response from them, I finally just started showing up unannounced after school, that worked pretty well, by the way... I had one teacher tell me not to worry, because I was an involved parent my son would get a good grade. Personally I'd rather my son EARN his grade good or bad and own that grade. My son is at a charter school this year and having an exceptional year. Be involved schools are not one size fit all...

Lewis Middle School 5

Posted April 05, 2010
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Lewis Middle School 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lewis Middle School 3

Posted July 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lewis Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lewis Middle School 5

Posted June 15, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Lewis Middle School 5

Posted April 02, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lewis Middle School 4

Posted August 14, 2007
- a parent
I have 3 kids that have attended Lewis, some years have been harder to get through then others. It really does depend on your child and how they communicate with you. Lewis is a big believer in letting the kids tell their parents if they are struggling. I disagree with that. Overall I think it is a 'good' school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lewis Middle School
5170 Greenbrier Avenue, San Diego, CA  92120
(619) 583-3233
Last modified Lewis Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lewis Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top