Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marston Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

I have had two children attending Marston, and so far we have been pleased. Dr. Cook is highly accessible and the teachers have been very responsive to my children. My children are doing great academically and are enjoying Middle School. What more could a parent ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

I had the privilege of working in the office of Marston Middle School for a little over one year. I was so impressed with the learning opportunities and student supports offered there. Teachers go above and beyond by providing before and after school tutoring. Marston is a campus that emphasizes college as a given, working with students toward that goal. I think the thing I was most impressed with was that Marston also offers a unique Advisory Program to provide intervention and exploration to students within the school day. These advisory programs change every three weeks and provide a rich and unique learning experience for the students. It gives struggling students a chance to get extra support, students who did not turn in class or homework assignments get a chance to catch up and students have an opportunity to experience a variety of fun and creative learning opportunities from cooking to hockey to pet care to Readers Theater, just to name a few. There is something exciting waiting for each child. And isn t that what school is all about, not only educating our students but instilling the excitement to learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 16, 2014

I have been very impressed with the level of rigor and academic opportunities my children have had access to at this school. The 3 week rotation of exploration classes allow the students to try new activities they might not think to try in another setting. We are excited to be part of this community that is so dedicated to its schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

I have a sixth grader at Marston and I've been very pleased with the school so far. My student is in GATE/Seminar and advanced classes and has been challenged academically. She has also had the opportunity to try new skills with her elective and with the advisory experiences that change every 3 weeks. I feel there is excellent communication opportunities with her teachers and decent communication between the school administration and parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

I recently toured this school and am very excited for my daughter to start there in the fall. There have been lots of changes in the past few years and Dr. Cook seems to have the school on the right track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

This is a good school but the rushed 7-period daily schedule and the crowded environment are not for everyone. One of its unique assets is the wood shop - very few schools can boast anything like it now, and it is getting an upgrade in 2011. The PE department is also very good, with PE (in a uniform, not street clothes) every day. The principal is concerned and involved and does her best to manage a fairly chaotic workplace. The school is crowded, with many students bussed in from low-income neighborhoods - not bad in itself but you hardly ever see those kids' parents. The schedule is hectic, and my child soon learned that their most important task was to keep track of the movement of paper - in and out of an enormous binder that students lug around with them all day. Many times my child complained they felt they "processed" in a "factory", rather than taught or encouraged. With so many students, some teachers tend to be impersonal, and seem to assume that students with unusual requests must be doing something "bad", even if they ask to make up late or lost work, for example. The Dean of students is great though, so don't be afraid to call on him to fix any problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2011

I am an 8th grade student who has gone to Marston for the past three years and though I do agree that it has some good academic programs, the teachers do often lack encouragement. In sixth grade I remember my teachers pushing us harder and harder to get to the top. As I moved up in grades I noticed that the motivations stopped. The people who motivate us students the most would not be the core class teachers, but the Physical Education teachers. One of them has really kept me moving since the day I met him. Sadly Marston will be loosing this man this year and I feel worried that most of the upcoming students will no longer have the man in action to look up to. My school definatly has a horrible problem with bullying and the counselers don't really seem to care anymore. Basically, if you have a conflict, don't go to them.


Posted March 8, 2009

I am very impressed with Marston Middle School. I chose to have my daughter go there instead of her neighborhood school and am extremely happy with the choice. She has made some great friendships, as well as connected with her teachers. I fully recommend this school. The atmosphere is friendly, helpful and we have received help and guidance whenever we need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I have had 2 sons attend this school and have 2 more children about to attend Marston. We LOVE this school. Dr. Cook, the principal, is amazing! She really cares about this shcool and puts her heart and soul into it. Also, the teachers are terrific! Couldn't have had a better experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

I think this school is better than the ranking it is given. I pulled my child out of our local area school to attend Marston, and I am totally satisfied with the decision I made. My child has jumped ahead in leaps & bounds since attending Martson. The teachers here are great & very creative with their teaching methods. My child now loves going to school thanks to the collective effort of the principal, teachers & parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

I think this school is the best there is the teachers are friendly, kind, and they all love to teach. I had difficulty as a student passing classes, but with the help of the teachers I managed to pass. Marston offers a lot of tutoring and programs to help you easily pass your classes. I like this school and my parents do to, I am looking forward to my own children to go to this school as well. I give this school a 5 my experience at this school has been great! I really do recommend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2006

The school is better this year than last. However, the school lacks direction and parent involvement. High achieving students are sacrificed for the sake of students who are pulling their weight.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

Get your child into advanced classes if you can! My son enrolled in both advanced and non-advanced classes. In the advanced classes he made friends with highly motivated students and that pushed him academically. I talked to a lot of other parents to get suggestions on which teachers were best, and which teachers collaborate together (Mrs. Sedgwick was one, but she may have retired? She was excellent.) The principal seems genuinly caring and kind. Mrs. Rich (think that was her name), a vice-principal, was very cold and distant with both me and the students I saw her around. Don't let that discourage you, though-- get involved and this can be a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

I once was a student at Marston back in 1972 but things have changed! The school has been great when it comes to my sons education and concern from teachers also. I do have a problem with the lack of safty and the problem with bullies! I have made complaints and the teachers have been aware of it, but my son is harrassed everyday and punched! Talking to these kids haven't helped and when something was said to them once, my son paid a price for telling, even though they didn't tell them it was my son, they knew. J. Shelley
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

This School tries very hard to stress academics. The 8th grade science program leaves alot to be desired though, it falls short of providing a easy to understand curriculum. The rest of the academic program is good. If you are a parent that likes to get involved there are plenty of opportunities to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

I am very pleased with Marston Middle school. There are excellent teachers and staff. The overall attitude of teachers make students want to achieve. The libriarian is outstanding in her knowledge and going beyond to help students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

I give teacher Joan Schioldager a 5-star rating because through thick and thin, she has been an absolute pleasure to communicate with regarding my daughter's progress. She truly cares about the students and she is always pleasant and respectful to the parents. It is teachers like her that positively impact a student for a lifetime. One can always discuss with her their child's progress and will see how wonderful it is to interact with her. Thank you Marston for having Joan Schioldager at your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2004

It has teachers that not only care about their students, but work very hard to help out as much as they can! Almost all of them take on the responsibility of a club, and stay late for extra one-on-one help. Extra-curriculars are spectacular- I was involved with ASB, Choir, Drama, the Motivation Program, Cheer club, Golf club, etc.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 5, 2003

My son has brought home poor grades the last two years in a row. I do not feel that the teachers or the counselors are doing what they should be to help my son. His test scores CAT6 and SAT9 are college level. The five stars that the 'two parents' gave and the comments they wrote seem lacking. It comes as no surprise that only 'two parents' out of the over 1200 students that attened this school are rating with five stars. I'm sure that my comments will never reach the posted comment board for other parents to read. I rate this school below standard and not worthy of any star rating. My son came from Bay Park Elementary with A's and on the Honor Roll and since his attendance at Marston, his grades have dropped, and he has a lack of intrest and motivation in school work and activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2003

We would just like to thank Dr. Cook for all of the hard work that she, her staff and the teachers provide for the betterment of our children/students. This school is outstanding, and we would recommend Marston to any parent in search of a great middle school for their child. Not only do my husband and I think highly of Marston, but our daughter enjoys the school so much, and thinks the world of the teachers and staff. Please continue the wonderful work, thanks to all of you, my husand and I and many other parents will be able to say that all of you contributed to the success of our children, due to the awesome teaching, discipline and leadership that they received at Martson Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

811

Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

811

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
36%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
59%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females60%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asian67%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability43%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state50%

Math

All Students54%
Females50%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asian58%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students91%
Femalesn/a
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Females62%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asian70%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability17%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to state37%

Math

All Students51%
Females42%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students43%
Females52%
Males27%
African Americann/a
Asian71%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disability9%
Students with no reported disability46%
English learner9%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented70%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate68%
Parent education - declined to state35%

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females66%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asian74%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability15%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate39%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state45%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students79%
Females75%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students55%
Females57%
Males51%
African Americann/a
Asian62%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduate34%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state40%

Science

All Students69%
Females68%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 56%
White 29%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 4%
Black 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/AN/A
English language learners 22%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Elizabeth Cook
Fax number
  • (858) 272-3460

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3799 Clairemont Drive
San Diego, CA 92117
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 273-2030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Whittier K-12
San Diego, CA



Mt. Everest Academy
San Diego, CA


John Muir School
San Diego, CA


Child's Primary, The
San Diego, CA


Riley/New Dawn School
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT