Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

McKinley Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 399 students

We are an authorized International Baccalaureate Primary Years Program school

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2009

Because it is a wonderful safe place with caring teachers and staff!


Posted October 7, 2009

The teachers are great. I love the relationship i have with my son's teach Mrs. Sonia. She is very thorough and helpful with all my questions or concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

my nieces love to go & the teachers are wonderful


Posted September 30, 2009

Friendly, awsome staff & parents! The best GATE TEACHERS/program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

McKinley has spectacular teachers and staff who produce spectacular students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

My son just started in kindergarten and I am already impressed by the quality of the school program and the teachers as well as the parent involvement and the Principle. My son is very happy and loves to go to school. Although I work full time I look forward to any volunteer opportunies that I can be a part of whenever possible. I considered serveral other schools but I am so happy with my decision to send him to McKinley. I looked for a school with a diverse population, a Principle that was very involved with the school and students(not just someone standing at a distance supervising) a pleasant comfortable environment--a school I knew my son would be happy--this turned out to be the perfect choice. I am even more impressed with the work of the PTC (Parent/Teacher Club)--it is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Wonderful teachers, great parents, diverse student population - a gem that reflects all the great things about the neighborhood we live in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

great volunteer generated art and music programs. Excellent principle. School is now attracting neighbhorhood kids who are in greater numbers opting for public school over private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

This is a school where ''everyone really does know your name.' It's a city school where parents and faculty embrace diversity and try to emphasize values as much as test scores. It's a school that is constantly working to excel and where folks really care about each other. Faculty has been there a long time and most live in the area. It has incredibly strong parental involvement and parents and the community have worked together to raise funds to hire both a music and an arts teacher and have worked hard to advocate for minimal funding cuts at our school. At a time when a lot of potential families are going to private or charter schools or even home schooling their children, many families in our community are ''coming home' to McKinley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

Both my children attended McKinley K-5, and I will truly miss the parents and staff now that they've both moved on to middle school. The staff and PTA rival any '10' rated school, and the tests scores rose every year my kids were there. Don't even think about choicing your kids to a different area...McKinley is the best you'll find anywhere in San Diego.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

McKinley is a welcoming, active, exciting place for our two children, kindergarten and 4th grade. Our fourth grader has been here since kindergarten, and has talented, dedicated, high-quality teachers at every grade. The student body is fairly ethnically and socio-economically diverse. There is a group of highly involved, highly dedicated parents who make sure there are lots of worthwhile extracurricular activities as well as monies to support the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

McKinley is GREAT! My daughter was accepted to a very popular charter school but we decided to go with McKinley. She has learned a lot and I appreciate how the teachers tailor lessons and homework to individual needs. The sense of community is fantastic. More and more students from the neighborhood are enrolling and the choice list is growing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

We looked at several schools for our daughter, and were even accepted into two '10' schools before deciding to attend McKinley. Even though McKinley rates a 6/7 to us it's a top 10! Community and commitment mean lot to us and at McKinley we have found both of these values. Teachers, staff, volunteers and students are fantastic. We highly recommend McKinley!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

I'm in my second year as a McKinley parent and have been fortunate enough for my child to have Ms. Appleby for two years running (she swtiched from K to 1st as we did). We are so pleased with the education our daughter is getting. At six she's singing a song naming all the continents, learning science, math and ceramics and her reading skills just jumped by leaps and bounds. She is very happy and we are enjoying meeting so many neighbors. Check out Ms. Appleby's website to get a feel for the school and what the kids are doing: ms-appleby.com.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

My daughter just started in Kindergarten this year and so far we love McKinley! The Parent Teacher Foundation is very active with lots of events / fund-raisers planned for the coming year. My daughter is learning to spell and read and write at an amazing rate. The teachers are always welcoming and invite active parent partnership in the education process. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

This school rocks! Great staff, great teachers, great environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

I moved to North Park in the Fall of 2001. As a retired language arts teacher, I wanted to volunteer at McKinley. Good thing for me, both the volunteer coordinator and the principal accepted my request and hooked me up with a 'position'. That was 6 years ago and since that time I have had the opportunity to see first hand what happens at this neighborhood school. I see a high expectation academic approach through out the school, which I support as it was my experience as a teacher that students will rise to meet those expectations if mandated. I see an emphasis on respectful behavior/both in the classroom and on the playground. In the lounge I see a comfortable comraderie which plays out in the support teachers have for each other. That is important! Starting in kindergarten, schedule is posted and reviewed. The beginnings of time management? Pat Taylor


Posted June 7, 2007

McKinley continues to evolve as a great elementary school. Last year, a teacher took the initiative to negotiate with a local theater to stage the annual variety show. One June 6, 2007, the theater was packed with lots of families and friends cheering on dozens of McKinley students performing on stage. What other school does that? I have 1 daughter who graduated (and is now at Roosevelt) while another is in 4th grade. The teachers and staff are great. Thanks also goes to the PTA. -Shirley Chin
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

McKinley is a fabulous neighborhood school. My son is so happy here, and there is a very involved PTA. The principal is fabulous and is a strong presence at every school event. There are many fun activities throughout the year including a jog-a-thon, a carnival, a Cinco de Mayo celebration, music concerts and variety shows. I have been impressed with the availability music, PE, and the amount of art children do within their academic areas. The academics are fantastic, my son has come so far this year, and the teachers are dedicated and qualified. It says something that many of them have been there for more than a decade. As an educator and a parent, I highly recommend McKinley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2006

We love McKinley! I knew this was the school for us when my daughter started kindergarten and I soon knew the librarian, the principal, the PTA parents and her teacher all very well. These are key people at McKinley who all strive to make McKinley a success. They have an awesome sports program that carries on as a legacy from Mr. Mike Miller, who won teacher of the year last year for the whole SD county. We feel very blessed to be a part of our neighborhood school. If deciding where to have your child attend school, stop by, McKinley speaks for itself. -A proud parent
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

871

Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

871

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females70%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females78%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females54%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females61%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learner55%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females67%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students84%
Females80%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females76%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented75%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females76%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students81%
Females82%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 49%
White 43%
Black 5%
Asian 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
English language learners 19%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:10 am
School end time
  • 3:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Julie Ashton-Gray
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (619) 281-3478

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Ceasar Chavez Service Club
  • Chess club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3045 Felton Street
San Diego, CA 92104
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 282-7694

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT