Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


McKinley Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
Teachers and staff members: I want to thank you all for your tireless dedication to these kids. I don't know how you do it but you know all of their names and manage to make them all feel loved, nurtured and respected. As a parent, I appreciate the long hours you put in to make a difference in my children's lives. THANK YOU!

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
My family and I LOVE McKinley Elementary! My daughter attended from kindergarten through 5th grade and currently my son is in kindergarten. Through that span the school has continually improved. The teachers are all different but amazing in their own way. In the 7 years that my kids have attended, the McKinley staff have become like family to us. The IB program is implemented very well, I think that it helps nurture my children's global mindset. The location is great, nestled into our beautiful North Park neighborhood. The parent community at McKinley is the BEST. So many volunteer their time and resources, it really makes a huge difference in the school. The principal is new but so far she has been great. Go McKinley Cougars!


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
My son was here from K-6 and he thrived here. I have noticed at his middle school that most of the kids in advanced classes are from McKinley. My daughter is still at the school and I'm not looking forward to her graduating and no longer being a part of this great community.

McKinley Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
I chose staff member only because I can't whose all. The staff and parents have made this school into a community and a family and I am really grateful to so many of them.

McKinley Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
We haven't had a negative experience at any grade level thus far. My son has gone through K-5 and my daughter K-2 so far.


McKinley Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
It does depend on the teacher and grade. I feel my answer is in between just right and too much.

McKinley Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
As an IB school I feel there are higher standards for the kids personal development.

McKinley Elementary School 3

Posted August 13, 2015
- a parent
I wanted to love this school. We tried for two years. However, I must regretfully tell you that my child had less knowledge upon leaving this school two years later than he did when he started. We met with the principal, teacher, and counselors and tried to get our needs/concerns addressed. There were many promises made yet not a single one followed through on. There was extensive bullying from one troubled child on to many other children which was not handled assertively enough. If your child is an average learner this place is probably perfect for you. We loved so many of the children and parents who went to this school, we were terribly disappointed that it didn't work for us.


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
I love this school! I've been in the neighborhood for 25 years and have seen it flourish in the last 5 years. I now have a 3rd grader and a Kindergartner there too. The principal, Julie Ashton-Gray, is amazing. She lives for this school. I am so happy she is our kids principal.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
When we were looking at local elementary schools for our child, we were inspired by what we saw at McKinley. The teachers were caring and the students were engaged. The school's International Baccalaureate (IB) program was really appealing. Best of all, parents were involved in school activities as volunteers. We had a really good feeling about the place. We were selected in the school lottery to enroll and our child has been there for 4 years now. We couldn't be happier with what we've seen. Our child is doing really well in school and my wife and I volunteer when we have time. McKinley is truly one of those "dream schools".

Nearby schools

McKinley Elementary School
3045 Felton Street, San Diego, CA  92104-5218
(619) 282-7694
Last modified McKinley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top