Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 399
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 48 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


61 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


McKinley Elementary School 2

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
Review the revision posting date.... it will always be very current due to modification and changes on the schools rating posts. Why is almost every post 5 star? No school is that perfect. Good luck.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2014
- a parent
I love this school! I've been in the neighborhood for 25 years and have seen it flourish in the last 5 years. I now have a 3rd grader and a Kindergartner there too. The principal, Julie Ashton-Gray, is amazing. She lives for this school. I am so happy she is our kids principal.


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
When we were looking at local elementary schools for our child, we were inspired by what we saw at McKinley. The teachers were caring and the students were engaged. The school's International Baccalaureate (IB) program was really appealing. Best of all, parents were involved in school activities as volunteers. We had a really good feeling about the place. We were selected in the school lottery to enroll and our child has been there for 4 years now. We couldn't be happier with what we've seen. Our child is doing really well in school and my wife and I volunteer when we have time. McKinley is truly one of those "dream schools".

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
McKinley is an amazing community - I say that because it's so much more than just a school. The parent involvement is high and the teaching standards are excellent. There is great diversity amongst the students which broadens and enriches the lives of all students. I have two students there 2nd and 5th grade. Both are challenged by teachers to excel beyond and the math homework is so tough in 5th I can't do it!! Great leadership by the principal and the supporting staff and team are amazing, caring and beyond helpful. I can't recommend this school enough. It's a real gift to have on our doorstep.

McKinley Elementary School 4

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
The students care. They care for other kids and their school. At larger school performances, there's a real encouragement for a good time. Motivated by this spirit, teachers and student support workers are present and supportative.The school is neither too large nor too small. The student population is a healthy mix of students with a variety of interests and passions. From kindergarten on, my son has had every opportunity to follow his passion for learning and experimenting. As a young creative mind, he has been given a wonderful outlet at school to expose early talents in team and individual project themes. Working in groups and by himself, he has grown in character and intellectually. It's hard to imagine that 5 year old newbie, who's now 10 and going strong. Thanks to McKinley Elementary, I feel that he's prepared for a much more diverse world in the coming years scholastically and in the real world.


McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2014
- a parent
I LOVE McKinley Elementary! We are a true community school that cares for it's kids. The teachers, Principal and administrative staff put the hearts and souls into the kids. They don't just say they care, they show it. And the parents...well we are a great team! From fundraising, to after school clubs, school events, volunteering, being friendly and caring and looking out for each other's kids; our school rocks!

McKinley Elementary School 4

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
My 1st grade daughter is thriving at this neighborhood school. Diverse, creative, and progressive--- this is a neighborhood gem!

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
My son hasn't even started here yet but I already love it! I went on a tour with the principal who is funny, friendly, and made me feel very welcomed at the school. Their way of teach in.g is great. The kids actually matter here !


McKinley Elementary School 4

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
My son just started kindergarten this year. So far we have been very impressed with the community involvement with the school. But the 4 star rating is based on the school sanctioned before/after hour options. The on-site free care program has very limited space and a very long wait list. We applied as soon as we could and were no where near close to getting a spot. The alternative care is off-site with a local YMCA and costs $160/week. This is 2/3 the cost we were paying for a high quality full time preschool! And for, in our case, just 10-13 hours of care a week. We were fortunate to find from word of mouth about the North Park Christian School as an affordable before/after school option.

McKinley Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Great school ! Both my son and daughter go here . It's a great school lots of parent involment . Big part of the community . They offer music, Spanish , ceramics . My kids love it ! Great staff and great teachers!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

McKinley Elementary School
3045 Felton Street, San Diego, CA  92104
(619) 282-7694
Last modified McKinley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
McKinley Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. Top