Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Museum 4

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Of all the positive things I could say about the Museum School, the most amazing thing to me is the depth of knowledge my children posess. I attribute this to the project-based teaching style that encourages students to truly learn and understand topics (rather than reciting a list of facts).

Museum
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Most of the teachers at the Museum School are passionate about their subjects and students.


Museum
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
It's a long school day that ends at 4 pm. So while there is not a lot of homework, I appreciate that as there is not much time after school for homework between extra-curricular activities, family time, and dinner.

Museum
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Most staff have high expectations of their students and foster a culture of striving to be and do your best.

Museum
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Administrators and staff encourage open dialogue and use a variety of forums to promote compassion, caring and empathy. One example are talking circles led by the Director.


Museum
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
The school's “Community Goals” teach children to be responsible citizens, productive workers, creative healthy individuals, problem solvers and self-directed learners.

Museum 5

Posted April 02, 2016
- a community member
Amazing school! Diverse curriculum, enthusiastic teachers, and involved school community. My children are receiving the equivalent of a private school education at the Museum School. Art, Music (Eastern and Western), Kitchen Science, Drama, Spanish are just a few of the "extras" that many public schools aren't able to offer any more. We love the Museum School!

Museum 5

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
I love the Museum School! Every day, I feel lucky that my daughter gets to go to this great school. I love that the curriculum is diverse (in addition to science, math, social studies, and literature, it includes music, sewing, Spanish, and art). And kids are engaged since it focuses on project-based, active learning. The curriculum encourages students to be self-directed learners; creative thinkers; and problem solvers. Not only is there a no-tolerance policy for bullying, the kids really take that policy seriously and look out for their peers. The staff and teachers are amazing and really care about the social emotional development of each child. And staff and teachers always willing to talk about issues and answer questions. Truly, this is an amazing school!


Museum 1

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
Many of the teachers and classes were great. The principal, while a kind man, is ill equipped to deal with bullying issues. My child was bullied so badly we moved to another school with less than 4 months left in the school year. Twice we went to the principal who asked my child for direction on what to do. He then gave a speech on "kindness" to the students (the entire class, not daring to single out specific students). What happened to zero tolerance? What happened to consequences? I'm quite sure the parents of the bullies were never made aware of the extent of their childrens' behaviors. I hope it wasn't because of the generous donations that those parents made, or the fact that the parents and the principal had long-standing friendships outside of school. Whatever the reason, it was a horrible experience I wouldn't wish on anyone. The bottom line is that we left because my child didn't feel safe.

Museum 3

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
The good: Principal and many teachers are passionate about learning and providing arts/music/community outreach opportunities for the students As one parent said to me, "Phil sold us on the school". Small school, one class per grade all the way from K-8. The not so good: There were two very disruptive children in the class who had various behavioral issues. Their parents were lovely and I admire their patience and courage in dealing with their children's specific issues. However, "mainstreaming" these children meant one child popping up and going all around the class playing with various stations. During the times I was in the classroom I could see how much this distracted kids, and seemed to egg others on to act out as well. And this would be the case all the way until 8th grade. My child went from top of the class for reading to the bottom. Not sure what could be done, but I elected to opt for private school and am happy with the turnaround I've seen in learning, behavior, etc.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Museum
211 Maple Street, San Diego, CA  92103-6527
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (619) 236-8712
Last modified Museum is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top