Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Nye Elementary School 2

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
We had 2 wonderful years at Nye with wonderful staff and great teachers but this year we've been really disappointed. This year Nye had 2 or 3 excellent teachers transfer out and they were replaced by mediocre ones. The teacher my son got this year is absolutely worthless. Lazy lady. Dry lady, no passion in her teaching at all. It's been somewhat of a shock after having 2 excellent teachers 2 yrs in a row. There are also new clerks in the office this year. The clerical supervisor retired in June and there's new hires and these ladies are pretty rude, give parents big time attitude. They're always passing the buck, very lazy. You call for help and they tell you to 'call back next week'. Any questions, you get the same answer, 'call back'. They don't even try. So many parents have commented the same thing. This new office staff is not helpful at all like the secretaries last year. Also, the this Principal is on her 3rd year at this school and she's pretty much to herself. She's not one of those Principals who knows students by name. She stays in her office and is not very receptive to suggestions, doesn't have an open door policy. If you want to speak with her you have to leave numerous messages, stop her in hallway and you still have to set up an appontment with her. Anyway, very disappointed with the changes this year. Nye was such a great school, really disappointed this year and I can't stress enough how bad the new hires are - terrible! The teachers are great but that new office staff has to go! They really need to hire an office supervisor to supervise the office staff. At the very least, the Principal should be doing it and she's not.

Nye Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
I do not feel Nye is developing compassion and care to all it's students because if it did the Principal would not tolerate certain behavior from certain members of her staff. Ignoring it is unacceptable. She's one of those Principals that no matter what issue you may have, she always defends her staff, no matter what (especially the staff that are her friends). If the matter is regarding the well being of a student or mistreatment of one, she always defends her staff. Very pro HER friends, not pro students well-being or empathetic towards parents.


Nye Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 08, 2016
- a parent
Nye has excellent teachers with the exception of maybe 3 of them who are no good. The Special Ed teachers are horrible, always yelling at the kids. The recent new hires aren't even to the caliber of what Nye is known for and if any parent has issues with any teachers, my guess is that it's going to be with these new teachers who come from other schools and think their behavior from their previous school is okay at Nye.

Nye Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
Academically speaking, Nye is the best elementary school in the area (hands down) . Every school is going to say they're the best but the proof is in the scores and if you do the footwork you'll find the information. Compare the scores of this past school year (2014-2015) to other elementary schools in South East San Diego area and there's no comparison. That alone should be enough to enroll your children into this school. Nye is always the top 1 or 2 schools in the area. It's in a good safe neighborhood, school is immaculate and all the parents you'll interact with are pretty nice. I've never had any issues with crazy moms or dads..lol. Quite a few of the teachers are firm, but they are excellent teachers. Your child will learn, so if you feel you have a strict teacher, hang in there, it does pay off and the majority of the teachers do care for the students' well-being. I have 3 kids enrolled now and my 4th just graduated last year and he's at middle school now. Middle school has been pretty much a breeze for him and I attribute it to his excellent teachers at Nye. I'm grateful to have this school for my kids and would recommend it to anyone.

Nye Elementary School 3

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
My children have been going to this school for the last few years. This school year a new principal was hired by the Superintendent which allegedly had parent input. This is the wrong principal for this great school. The morale for both the children and staff has greatly diminished in the past few months. The principal is never available and though states that she has an open door policy, it's very clear this is not the truth. In past years we have had good interaction with the past principal yet this principal appears very standoffish and appears that her priority is not the children. I am concerned that with morale so low, that the great teachers at the school will leave and the quality of education will decrease. I am concerned that special education will be the highlight for this school and feel that the regular students will be ignored. What I feel has been a great school with the highest test scores in this area will start to go downhill with the leadership in place. It saddens me that I may have to move my child because of where this school seems to be headed.


Nye Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
This will be my son's fifth year as a Nye student and I couldn't be any more satisfied with the education that he has recieved. My son has an IEP and the services that are provided to him help him to maximize his fulliest potential and be the best student he can. Thank you Nye

Nye Elementary School 5

Posted December 19, 2011
- a parent
As a parent,My dauhgter has been going here for almost 3 years. This is the BEST school (elementary school) ive ever seen. I prefer this school for anyone looking for a good elementary school. Every Student deserves this school. Every single staff including the teachers and principals are amazing and care about the students. The principal even stands outside in the parking lot saying "good morning" to everyone. I love this school i wish when my daughter leaves this school i can find another school just like this one. This school is great you have to come here. :)

Nye Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 30, 2008
- a parent
My son has attended this school for five years. I have had opportunity to meet the majority of the staff and can honestly say I have not met one teacher who did not exude the utmost enthusiasm and authentic concern for their student's education. The principal is concerned with students and not numbers. I feel everyone genuinely cares about my child. I highly recommend this school. I will truly miss this school once my son moves on to middle school.


Nye Elementary School 4

Posted February 23, 2007
- a parent
My son has been at this school for two years now. They are great! I would highly recommend this school to anyone moving to San Diego. The teachers are great and they really care about their students there. Their special education program is tops!

Nye Elementary School 3

Posted March 23, 2005
- a parent
Has excellent program for Special Education Students. Parent involvement is a good thing if you want to be informed about the events in your childs day.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nye Elementary School
981 Valencia Parkway, San Diego, CA  92114-6574
(619) 430-1200
Last modified Nye Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nye Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top