Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ocean Beach Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 347 students

Our goal for our students is to ensure a safe environment.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $468,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2013

I have to agree that the security issues are a real problem at this school. It is a known problem that because they are connected to a park and rec field those gates at the back of the school are never locked. It isn't the worst school in the world by any means but there are several other public schools in the area that by comparison are hands down better academically and a lot friendly. While it's true that OBE has an art curriculum it isn't as great as everyone says. One of the most disconcerting things was that at the end of the year several parents were notified that their students art would be on public display at a local bank and that they would like the students to come check it out. That sounded great but the entire thing was a ploy to try to get new accounts which has no place in my kids school. Totally not impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

Ocean Beach Elementary has huge issues that need to be addressed especially regarding the children's safety. I have lived in Ocean Beach for 20 years and it is my neighborhood school. It is on a main street and there are rarely any crossing guards. Many drivers in OB do not yield to children and me and my children have almost been hit on at least 2 occasions. Also they don't lock the front gate so really anyone can walk in as there is no security and no one monitoring who goes in and out. You're supposed to sign in but no one really does. I wrote a review about the safety issues that clearly needed to be taken care of and my review was removed. I understand parents have passion for this elementary and yes, some teachers are really good but not all. There are a few that really should not be teaching but are tenured and as you know, tenured teachers are hard to get rid of. I could never understand why there was a library at the school that we had bought many books for in the past (bookfairs) but it was closed for an entire year because they couldn't afford a librarian. The PTA is very unfriendly. Do your homework before choosing this school!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2013

OB has been an awesome school for my 3 children! I have been there to see OB grow stronger for the past 8 years and would recommend OB as one of the best schools anywhere. There is a joy of learning and a real feel of community. The arts program is fantastic! We will miss our retiring principal but will be right there to support the new one. We were very picky when we toured and researched schools and found OB to have the strongest staff anywhere around.The majority of the teachers are fantastic and if you really know them well, it has NOTHING to do with age. It's about passion and knowledge. Just like in most schools, there are a few teachers that could jazz it up. If there is a problem go see the principal or put it in writing so it can be addressed. Get very involved in the classroom and with events, and don't be afraid to speak up when you have a concern. It's Ocean Beach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

adly, with the Principal leaving, I think this school is going to go downhill fast. There are some fantastic parents who work very hard to keep that school up to par but with no library and burned-out teachers (who have taught there 20 plus years) who hate their jobs, I think this school will be back down to a 1 star in the very near future. I will say that there are some fantastic teachers who are younger and have taught there for maybe 5 years or less but their passion and love of teaching is always squelched by the big mama tenured teachers who have been there 20 plus years. There is a definite dichotomy of wonderful, newer teachers vs. the burned out older teachers and nothing really in between. The older, burned out teachers are more like dictators as they like to have the children be seen and not heard. I suggest if you go to this school and this is your experience that you do everything you can to get your child into a healthy classroom with a teacher who has a zest for teaching. It will make all the difference in your child's test scores and overall attitude and aptitude. Unhappy kids in an unhealthy classroom is not a good combination.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

My daughter's school has been excellent for my daughter. The staff, teachers and children are amazing. The principal really gets involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2013

It would be hard to imagine a more wonderful school that OBE. A diverse and accepting community, strong academics, one of the best (if not THE best) arts program in the district, and an awesome and supportive group of teachers. It's an incredible place with incredible people. My family just attended the annual fundraiser for the arts last weekend. It was so much fun! I volunteered, along with tons more people, and it was a great experience. Kids hip hop danced, there was an auction, along with the funniest performers we'd ever seen All this raised money to keep the arts going strong. So glad to have two more years at this amazing place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

Some good teachers, not a very friendly staff or PTA though. They really sell themselves short. Their fundraising goals are about a tenth of the other schools in the area. They turn down donations and community involvement and they don't tell you what the money will be used for. They could be a really great school they just don't expect much from the students, the staff or themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

What a great community beach school with a strong focus on creativity and art! Teachers and principal are enthusiastic, creative, and caring and are eager to help all students learn and become problem solvers. The staff has high expectations for student learning and teachers genuinely plan curriculum together. There is an emphasis on monthly character themes and children work and play together well. Many parents, volunteers, and university students are active in the classrooms. There's a wonderful positive vibe on this campus where everyone is made to feel an important part of their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

We Love OB Elementary! The teachers are wonderful and they care about the children. Whenever I have a concern about my child's academics the teacher is always on top of things giving helpful suggestions to help my child excel and be the best student he can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

This school has a truly dedicated teaching staff, a tireless principal, and a wonderfully committed community of parent support. The deep dedication to the development of the whole person at OBE is a rare and a wonderful thing to experience in these days where test scores are seen as the "all" of education...and they are good at that too! My sons have thrived at this school! Our family had a choice. We are delighted to have chosen Ocean Beach Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

Excellent school. The principal knows every child by name! She has a vision for the school which includes academics and arts. She goes above and beyond what is required of her. Most teachers are dedicated and care very much about their students. We have excellent relationships with teachers of both of our children. Parent involvement is strong. The school forms a close knit community, which is wonderful given the diversity of the community. Greatest compliments to all staff of OB Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

The teachers rush through curriculum, they give no atttention to any child who might need extra help. And once you ask for an explanation they get defensive and take it on the child, which make the child be afraid to tell what is going on in the classroom or to ask teacher questions. Principal does run the school with an iron fist, she listens to nobody and usually put the blame on the child, there is no opening for conversation. A couple of amazing teachers and also a couple who are there just for the paycheck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

My daughter can't wait to come to school each day! It's true kinder kids learn letters, sounds, words, and even write and do math. That's called the CA Standards and there are benchmarks each semester that our children work toward. This is a school where kids still paint, draw, sing, and dance while they are learning to read and write. Anyone who spends a good amount of time at the school can easily see kids are happy. I expect the teachers and our principal to hold high standards and be accountable for learning. Thank you OBE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2010

OB Elementary is so focused on maintaining themselves as a 10 school, they forgot that their job is to encourage, socialize and motivate children! My kinder HATES to go to school. She cries everday before school because, in her words, the teachers are mean to her. They drill the children, as they have decided ALL of the kinders have to know how to read and write and do math before Novemember 1. There is no individualism or creativity in teaching. I have attempted to address my concerns with the teaching staff as well as the principal and the district to no avail. I have offered to volunteer in the classroom and was told that it would be better if I didn't! Their focus is on ratings instead of our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I love OB Elementary for lots of reasons. They have an excellent teaching and counseling staff. They are always there for us, in difficult and good times. They are very involved in the community and its best interests that concern the children. They are innovative while still maintaining the basic, good principles of learning. They have bent over backwards to help my grandson and our family in our life experiences. this is truly the best school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

it is a close knit community type of school. they turned 100 years old and it reminds you of days past. the old timer alums shared stories of when they were students (way back when) at the celebration (100th) last year at the town hall that were priceless
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love this school because it is so close to the beach and the kids get field trips there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

We are so glad we chose Ocean Beach over other area schools. Our kinder child had a great year at O.B! His teacher was fabulous and we can't believe what a reader and writer and math wizard he has become. The school provides a unique dance, musical keyboarding, theater and arts program that can't be found in other schools. Also impressive is the degree of hands on science and learning in classrooms. The entire staff goes out of their way to make sure that every family feels welcome and encouraged to be active at Ocean Beach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

Our experience at OB Elementary has been excellent. From an academic standpoint, our expectations have been exceeded. This school offers one of the best arts programs we have seen. Children participate in dance, theater, instrumental music and art lessons. The teachers and principal are enthusiastic, positive, and dedicated. Our parents are active and everyone works together to make this a real community school. The O.B. campus is beautiful and has a computer lab with musical keyboarding, digital stations in every classroom, and a great library. The office staff is friendly and helpful. We extensively researched and toured public and private schools in our area and chose Ocean Beach as our choice. We are so happy that we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

This is clearly the best elementary school I have experienced. Ocean Beach provides an incredible fine arts program where kids have theater, perform plays, learn keyboarding, dance, draw and paint. Student projects, art, environmental Green projects are displayed everywhere. They offer a unique marine science program that prepares 4th grade students for an intensive week at Sea Camp. The principal, teacher and parent leaders are visionary and promote strong academics and high expectations for our children. Their caring environment and enthusiasm nurtures well-behaved and happy kids! There are no pretentious people here, children s accomplishments are celebrated and everyone matters! There is unity and a strong sense of teamwork and everyone is proud that this school has earned the award of a CA Distinguished School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

916

Change from
2012 to 2013

+15

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

916

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+15

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females85%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate78%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females85%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner87%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate89%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females76%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate71%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females92%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner85%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)96%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females81%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females76%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 26%
Hispanic 37% 52%
Black 6% 6%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • California Business for Education Excellence Honor Roll (2011)
  • California Business for Education Excellence Honor Roll (2010)
  • California Business for Education Excellence Honor Roll (2009)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Marco Drapeau
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (619) 224-0141

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • 4th Grade Sea Camp
  • Art club
  • Girl scouts
  • Life Play Productions
  • Running Club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4741 Santa Monica Avenue
San Diego, CA 92107
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 223-1631

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pioneer Day School
San Diego, CA


Warren-Walker School
San Diego, CA



Wildwood Academy
San Diego, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT