Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ocean Beach Elementary School 2

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
I think the reasons the security issues have been resolved is because of the comments below- thank you for telling the truth. Yes, do your homework and talk to people in your community. OBE does NOT reflect the best in public education. I think the new Principal is a major improvement, however I personally have experienced a 4th grade teacher who has been there for over 20 years who needs to leave her ego at the door and realize she is there to teach. I also know of 3 boys in our wonderful community who had an awful experience in her classroom. I think the OB community is wonderful and I love the people here. Sunset is a better choice and so is Silver Gate.
1 person found this helpful

Ocean Beach Elementary School 5

Posted December 29, 2014
- a parent
The recent posts do not tell the full story. OB Elementary is an outstanding primary school. The teachers are exemplary, the quality of instruction is superior, and the community support is profound. The school is a CALIFORNIA DISTINGUISHED SCHOOL and ARTS ACHIEVEMENT SCHOOL for good cause. The has become the school of choice by those in the neighborhood (and there is school choice in this District) is its own testimony. The teachers are truly responsive and know your child. As for the security concerns, the school is now completely gated. Entrances and gates are locked at the close of the morning open air assembly where parents are encouraged to be present, not just drop their kids off. Each classroom door is now equipped with a "lockdown" easy lock. A new crosswalk was placed in and volunteer parent safety guards are there DAILY. The reality is that Ocean Beach Elementary is confronted by many urban realities and prevails with rich diversity, wonderful community spirit, and true dedication to excellence. As with the previous posts, please do your homework and you will find that OB Elementary reflects the best in public education.
1 person found this helpful


Ocean Beach Elementary School 1

Posted July 26, 2013
- a parent
I have to agree that the security issues are a real problem at this school. It is a known problem that because they are connected to a park and rec field those gates at the back of the school are never locked. It isn't the worst school in the world by any means but there are several other public schools in the area that by comparison are hands down better academically and a lot friendly. While it's true that OBE has an art curriculum it isn't as great as everyone says. One of the most disconcerting things was that at the end of the year several parents were notified that their students art would be on public display at a local bank and that they would like the students to come check it out. That sounded great but the entire thing was a ploy to try to get new accounts which has no place in my kids school. Totally not impressed.
1 person found this helpful

Ocean Beach Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
OB has been an awesome school for my 3 children! I have been there to see OB grow stronger for the past 8 years and would recommend OB as one of the best schools anywhere. There is a joy of learning and a real feel of community. The arts program is fantastic! We will miss our retiring principal but will be right there to support the new one. We were very picky when we toured and researched schools and found OB to have the strongest staff anywhere around.The majority of the teachers are fantastic and if you really know them well, it has NOTHING to do with age. It's about passion and knowledge. Just like in most schools, there are a few teachers that could jazz it up. If there is a problem go see the principal or put it in writing so it can be addressed. Get very involved in the classroom and with events, and don't be afraid to speak up when you have a concern. It's Ocean Beach!

Ocean Beach Elementary School 1

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
adly, with the Principal leaving, I think this school is going to go downhill fast. There are some fantastic parents who work very hard to keep that school up to par but with no library and burned-out teachers (who have taught there 20 plus years) who hate their jobs, I think this school will be back down to a 1 star in the very near future. I will say that there are some fantastic teachers who are younger and have taught there for maybe 5 years or less but their passion and love of teaching is always squelched by the big mama tenured teachers who have been there 20 plus years. There is a definite dichotomy of wonderful, newer teachers vs. the burned out older teachers and nothing really in between. The older, burned out teachers are more like dictators as they like to have the children be seen and not heard. I suggest if you go to this school and this is your experience that you do everything you can to get your child into a healthy classroom with a teacher who has a zest for teaching. It will make all the difference in your child's test scores and overall attitude and aptitude. Unhappy kids in an unhealthy classroom is not a good combination.
1 person found this helpful


Ocean Beach Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter's school has been excellent for my daughter. The staff, teachers and children are amazing. The principal really gets involved.

Ocean Beach Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
It would be hard to imagine a more wonderful school that OBE. A diverse and accepting community, strong academics, one of the best (if not THE best) arts program in the district, and an awesome and supportive group of teachers. It's an incredible place with incredible people. My family just attended the annual fundraiser for the arts last weekend. It was so much fun! I volunteered, along with tons more people, and it was a great experience. Kids hip hop danced, there was an auction, along with the funniest performers we'd ever seen All this raised money to keep the arts going strong. So glad to have two more years at this amazing place!

Ocean Beach Elementary School 2

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
Some good teachers, not a very friendly staff or PTA though. They really sell themselves short. Their fundraising goals are about a tenth of the other schools in the area. They turn down donations and community involvement and they don't tell you what the money will be used for. They could be a really great school they just don't expect much from the students, the staff or themselves.


Ocean Beach Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
What a great community beach school with a strong focus on creativity and art! Teachers and principal are enthusiastic, creative, and caring and are eager to help all students learn and become problem solvers. The staff has high expectations for student learning and teachers genuinely plan curriculum together. There is an emphasis on monthly character themes and children work and play together well. Many parents, volunteers, and university students are active in the classrooms. There's a wonderful positive vibe on this campus where everyone is made to feel an important part of their school.

Ocean Beach Elementary School 5

Posted November 09, 2012
- a parent
We Love OB Elementary! The teachers are wonderful and they care about the children. Whenever I have a concern about my child's academics the teacher is always on top of things giving helpful suggestions to help my child excel and be the best student he can be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ocean Beach Elementary School
4741 Santa Monica Avenue, San Diego, CA  92107
(619) 223-1631
Last modified Ocean Beach Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ocean Beach Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top