Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pacific Beach Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 673 students

We are best known for IB Middle Years Programme.
 
 

 
 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $479,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

This is my son's first year at MBHS. So far, he has been very pleased with his experience. The teachers are very supportive and approachable and are very responsive to email. We had one issue that was dealt with quickly. I like that the IB curriculum is challenging and promotes global thinking. I like that it is a smaller high school with many opportunities to succeed in whatever interests a student. Socially, my son is very comfortable there. It is a diverse population and the students are very supportive and encourage each other to succeed. I would recommend this high school if you are looking for a smaller, more personable environment, that is a diverse, real world experience where the student can be responsible for his/her own success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2014

This is our first year here and my 7th grade daughter loves it. The staff are great and very easy to communicate with. Any kind of bully that happens is dealt with immediately! I love that they have an IB program and sports facilities! Very happy with this school. The staff is very involved with school programs. Tutoring twice a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2014

My child loves it so far. This is our first year. The workload is fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2014

Daughter has been there for 2 years has had a few run inns with a few students since last year they have been pulling the race card on her for being a white girl threatening to beat her rear end for some time now so last week the two girls corner my daughter mind you my daughter is on honor roll and in sports pretty well rounded kid not saying she is perfect but as a parent you know what I mean so the girl starts getting violent shucking my daughter while the other girl taunts her I have always taught my daughter that fighting is not the answer but when being picked on or bullied and especially the big one for me is they put there hands on you you have fill right to defend yourselfe with any means so after the girl kept shuving my daughter my daughter snapped and beat her rear end and for defending herselfe gets expelled out of school seriously it made me sick to my stomach I guess what we have learns threw all this is if you're kid gets bullied and they finally fight back at pbms not only if they don't run away like a coward and finally fight back they will be suspended
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

Both of my children attend Pacific Beach Middle. We love it there and we could not ask for a better education! Both of my children attended a private school before attending PBM and the education and academic opportunities they have at PBM far outstrip what they could receive in private school. Parent involvement has vastly increased over the past 2 years I have been at the school. You can see a visible change all throughout the campus and new activities that are taking place. So happy to be part of this neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Our family loves Pacific Beach Middle School! Our son is in his 3rd year there as an 8th grader and our daughter is in 6th grade. The IB program is amazing and provides more in depth learning plus helping my kids to be motivated learners. The teachers really seem to care and show pride in the school. What my kids love most are the organized lunch sports leagues that keep them active during the lunch break and the afterschool sports offered. We are so thankful for the opportunities at PBMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

I have been with this school for a year now and it has been a great expieeence. Our scores have gone up very much and I'm proud to say I went there. There are many great activities and projects to work on. It keeps you busy and exited. I think the school can approve of helping bulling, like the teacher said because students are under enough stress as it is to get things done and when they are trying to get things done but, they are thinking of the insident. so, thier not 100% focused which makes thier grades go down. Plus they don't want to remember that school as the place where they got Bullied, they want to think of it as a fun and exiting place to be.


Posted July 12, 2013

I, like many people in PB, was concerned to send my kids to the local middle and high school because of the long standing poor reputation. Along with most of his class, I decided to send him there. He's been here for 2 years and is doing great! He's an honor student and is thriving. We have attended the open houses and met all his teachers and they seem to geniuinely care about students and are enthusiastic about being there. Everyone was approachable and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

While this school may show satisfactory performance on standardized testing, administration (the principal, specifically) does little to nothing to protect its students from bullying. The bullied are blamed and the horrific acts are brushed under the rug. When the bullied child's grades drop because he/she is depressed and giving up in school, this is taken into account to the child's detriment when bullying concerns are brought up by parents. I am glad my children do not attend PB Middle School, and I would not recommend it to anyone whose child may be bullied. If your child is a bully, don't worry. They won't get a consequence- Sincerely, A special education teacher
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 30, 2012

I work with children professionally & am a mother. PBMS is hands down, by far, the WORST school I have ever seen. Some of the teachers have already received their pink slips & have a apathetic, cavalier attitude. The administration is uncaring, unconcerned, and shockingly pompous for individuals who have chosen this as their career, yet are doing such a poor job. The principal doesn't even have a working voicemail. Bullying is rampant, racism is real and omnipresent, yet apathy and helplessness is embedded in the PBMS culture. If you're the type of parent that barely slows their car when dropping off their child in the morning, this school will be great. It looks ok on the surface, and maybe your child will get lucky. God knows if you send out an email to your child's teacher, you wont be bothered by one in return. But if you are an involved, concerned parent, RUN AS FAST AND AS FAR AWAY AS YOU CAN. As far as Dr. Martel, the principal? She is a prime example of what happens as bullies age...mean, patronizing, duplicitous, and unable to accept or acknowledge fault...thus, a large part of why PBMS is the way it is. Children everywhere will be better off for her retirement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

As a student, I know what PBMS is really like. This is my second year at PBMS, and I am loving it. The teachers are not so strict as to punish every little flaw and scare students. They do not let kids run wild either. Some people do not like the fact that the school is about mostly Spanish-speaking, but I think it is good to play and learn with other cultures. I have even learned a few words from them, mostly about soccer. The International Baccalaureate program is fantastic because we learn about the whole world and what is happening in it. If we know the current problems, wars, and politics of the world, we can turn those situations around in the near future. We are, after all, the voting citizens of the United States in a few years. This school is equally devoted to the teaching of both boys and girls, and there is no racist problem either. Once again, I love PBMS and I highly recommend this school.


Posted January 2, 2011

If you are considering this school for your children watch out. One in seven students is on an IEP plan. This means that the PBMS administration identifies one in seven students as having a learning disability. The administration aggressively pushes these special education programs to students who are not performing well without explaining the drawbacks of the program or other alternatives to parents. Minorities are overrepresented in these programs. Also, once your child is on an IEP plan, only the team can decide when the IEP plan is no longer needed. What are the benefits to this school to have so many IEP students? Does the school receive special funding for these students? Are IEP students test scores considered a special category so they don't affect overall test scores for the school? Statistically, what is the number of hispanic students that attend vs. the number that are identified as having a learning disability? What is the number of students nationally that are identified as having a learning disability vs. the one in seven rate at PBMS? These are questions every parent should ask if they are asked to participate in an IEP meeting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2010

As a parent of three boys who have either attended or are currently attending PBMS, I couldn't be more happy with the educational rigor, opportunities for personal growth & phenominal staff at the school. All three of my boys work hard and have consistently achieved outstanding grades. The physical education program is superb as well, which for my active boys was the perfect balance to the educational challenge. The Spanish language and band options provide additional enrichment. I would recommend this school for any SD student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

The secret issue with PB Middle is that their system is set up for girls, so the majority of boys don't get good grades. Even boys with good state test scores don't get good grades. A couple years ago, some parents figured out that only about 15 of the 95 7th grade boys could get a B or better, yet over 50 of these boys scored high on the state test. Reportedly, these numbers got worse last year. PBMS could be a great school if they would address it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

PB middle has consistently exceeded my expectations. My student has spent the last two years at the school and we wouldn't think of going anywhere else. The staff is amazing, teachers and administration alike. Almost every teacher my student has had has been incredible and gone above and beyond. They all are very good at parent communication, I usually get an email back the same day I send one. The IB program and the extra clubs and activities offered are great. Its wonderful to see that even with all the state cuts, that the staff and active parent community has found a way to keep these going. I am so happy my student has had the oppurtunity to attend here. We had no idea when he started 6th grade that it would be such a positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

My daughter started her 1st year this year and had an absolute wonderful transition for 5th to 6th grade. Her teachers are so amazing...they are full of inspiration and support. The positive reward systems that are in each class and throughout the whole school continue to keep my daughter motivated. All the parent involvement and cooperation from the staff to start new programs, go on field trips, create clubs etc. are a huge reason my daughter loves her school. I want to Thank all the staff and the parent volunteers who make this such a well rounded school!!!!!! GO PBMS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

My daughter started at a different middle school in 6th grade and hated it. PBMS is a wonderful school with excellent academics. We really like the uniforms. The students have a feeling of a small school environment because the way things are setup. It is a very challenging school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

My son has had a great 3 years of middle school, through the support of the IB standards. He can think in a more advanced manner than I didn't learn until college years. What a terrific experience it has been!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

We have a son attending now and another that has graduated. We are particularly impressed with the IB programme, along with some of the truly outstanding teachers at this school. Big kudos to the principal, Julie Martels, and to Mr. G!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

My daughter has excelled at this school since the day she began 6th grade. She has now been honored for the third year in a row with the National Junior Honor Roll Society award. Her teachers go above and beyond with their caring, concern and teaching methods to make sure that all students can do their best. I am thankful we sent our daughter here and happy that my son will be attending in another year. The staff here can't be beat.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

823

Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

823

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
66%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
54%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
47%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
27%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
92%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females61%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate37%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state60%

Math

All Students71%
Females61%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females60%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state55%

Math

All Students53%
Females49%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented76%
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students53%
Females51%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented42%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females55%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate49%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to state38%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students16%
Females14%
Males18%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino9%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability18%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only29%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate8%
Parent education - high school graduate21%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students82%
Females71%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented79%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students55%
Females47%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability16%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state44%

Science

All Students59%
Females51%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 52%
White 29% 26%
Black 4% 6%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Spotlight School for California Association of IB World Schools (2009)
  • Home of 3 CA IB Middle Years Educators of the Year (2012)
  • CA Coach of the Year (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Dance club: hip-hop
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:25 am
School end time
  • 2:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Principal Ernie Remillard
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • eremillard@sandi.net
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (858) 270-8063

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Inquiry-based
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Trans. for VEEP & SpEd only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Futsal
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Field hockey
  • Flag football
  • Futsal
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club: hip-hop
  • Game club
  • Gardening
  • Missoula Theater
  • Model UN
  • Robotics club
  • Sports Fishing
  • Student newspaper
  • Surf Club - PB Locals
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Bookfair
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Please join us during our monthly tours. See our IB in Action. Visit us at www.sandi.net/pbmiddle. Like us on facebook at www.facebook.com/pbmiddle.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Kate Sessions Elementary: An IB World School
Pacific Beach Elementary School
Crown Point Jr. Music Academy

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mission Bay High: An IB World School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4676 Ingraham Street
San Diego, CA 92109
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 273-9070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Paul's Lutheran
San Diego, CA



The Evans School
San Diego, CA


All Hallows Academy
San Diego, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT