Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Point Loma High School 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
Point Loma High School graduates many students that go on to the University of California System, Stanford and other great universities. There is an active parent program which provides support to the Administration. The campus continues to make improvements including recent approval of a master plan for new buildings and sports facility. The football field was recently renovated and a new workout facility was constructed.The PL Baseball field (actually at Dana) is being renovated for synthetic turf and will be ready for the next Season. Former PL Alum and MLB Perfect Game pitcher David Wells is now the head coach. There is great school spirit and a wonderful scholastic program.

Point Loma High School 4

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
My son attended PLHS. He struggled at the beginning, but I always found that teachers, counselors and staff were responsive as long as we communicated what our needs were -- no one just steps in. He found that if he worked hard, was respectful to the teachers and looked for opportunities there were plenty of great things to be found there. The students that don't do well are not putting themselves out front, and their parents don't participate by volunteering and getting to know the teachers -- always a big mistake. PLHS is crowded and has a lot of budget issues, but if you work for them they will work for you and your child. A relatively new principal (2013) is helping things as well. A large number of students are bussed into this school and their parents either cannot, or will not, participate so if you have time and a few extra dollars you can make a huge impact here. We felt it gave our son a terrific foundation for college.


Point Loma High School 1

Posted May 29, 2014
- a student
I have to say, this school is one of the worst schools in the san diego unified school district.
1 person found this helpful

Point Loma High School 2

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
It is impossible to get any communication from the school. The counselors don't return phone calls nor emails and are rarely in the office. The principal, vice principal and technical staff never respond to emails or calls and are never in the office to talk to. Our son had no Spanish teacher for the first 6 weeks and we couldn't get him moved into any other class. Very frustrating trying to deal with this school. I'm not happy with the quality of some of the teachers either. Not a good experience so far for a freshman student.

Point Loma High School 3

Posted March 02, 2012
- a parent
Reading the comments about athletes. I have not found it to be true that your child can't make it if they didn't start as a freshman; parents don't volunteer; or that grades don't matter if you are an athlete. Maybe in other sports, but not girls volleyball. You try out every year and every year you can be replaced by someone better. Volleyball is very competitive at all schools, and it's this way everywhere. I do agree with the person complaining about how hard it is to get in touch with counselors. It's near impossible. After weeks of emailing and calling and leaving messages with everyone my husband finally took time out of his day to walk into the counseling office so we could get an appointment with our son's counselor. That appointment was supposed to be today, but our son was never called out of class. Very disappointing. There are some really exceptional teachers at PL. If you can excel you will do well here.


Point Loma High School 1

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
Beware Drugs are a major issue at this school. Councillors do not help and Principle and vice principles do nothing.....that's if you can actually get to speak to them. They do not return calls, they clearly are not that concerned or heard it all before. School police are fantastic but they have a hard task ahead of them with little support. Teachers- there are a number of Great teachers so if you can steer your kid in the right direction and keep them aware from the low life then you will be okay. Be realistic with yourself and dont be fooled in to thinking you can handle it. My advice would be to send them else where.

Point Loma High School 4

Posted September 14, 2010
- a parent
While there are problems at every school, I object to one individual's characterization of student athletics at PLHS. My son started running hurdles as a Sophomore, not as a Freshman. He received daily individual help from a coach over several frustrating weeks until he finally was able to succeed. It is grossly unfair to infer my son or any athlete receives his grades because of sports participation. I will match his class grades, PSAT, SAT or AP scores against your students or any other non-athlete students results.

Point Loma High School 2

Posted September 09, 2010
- a parent
Just be aware of a few things if your kid is interested in sports. If they do not get in as a Freshman, the are pretty much out of luck. Although at try-out they say everyone is equal whether you were on a team the previous yr or not - don't believe it. If you volunteer with the team or your kid was on a sports team the previous yr, you are pretty much guaranteed a spot. See it every year. Also, don't worry about your kids grades, if they are in sports - your kid can get away without meeting the guidelines (a wink and a nod). Got a bully in sports? He/she will be protected your kid is on a sports team. Ain't being in sports great! Don't forget, get them in as Freshmen or your are screwed.


Point Loma High School 3

Posted September 09, 2010
- a parent
I too had bullying issues at Point Loma High which were not addressed to my satisfaction by leadership. The bully was in Athletics so he was "teflon coated" and it was a nightmare for our family. Counselors are awesome and caring. We had good strong teachers.

Point Loma High School 0
no rating

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
I have two children there and have been very impressed with the leadership, teacher quality, and diversity. I have one child with a learning disability and one in the gifted and talented program and the school has done a great job with each kid.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Point Loma High School
2335 Chatsworth Boulevard, San Diego, CA  92106
(619) 223-3121
Last modified Point Loma High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Point Loma High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top