Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rolando Park Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 250 students

Rolando Park Elementary School is a special place. We are a family at RPE.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2013

I was a student at RPE, one of the students that excelled in my graduating class and was a favorable student. RPE, from what I remember, is a safe school for students. I am now in college, attending UCSD, and since I am close to home, when I pass by the neighborhood, nostalgia fills me and I still, to this day, am very grateful for being a part of this school. The teachers are wonderful and caring. They truly care about their students and puts in effort to ensure the students are learning. It is what your students make of it, they had programs and supportive staff who was always there for their students. I learned that I am not alone, that there were others in my situation, and after 9 years, I cherish the friends that I made there. We actually had a disneyland reunion last week, but all in all, RPE is an amazing supportive and safe school.


Posted November 5, 2011

I am a resident of Rolando Park & let me share af very awful experiencs I had with this school & its staff that changed my opinion of them. I have two sons & my eldest attended Rolando Park Elementary(RPE) from kindergarten through 5th grade. My eldest was already at Pershing Middle School when this incident happened. My youngest was tested for GATE (Gifted And Talented Education) program in 2nd grade. Since RPE didn't offer GATE, we moved him into Benchley Weinberger for 3rd grade. My son was miserable @ Benchley after one week, so we tried to move him back to RPE. The staff & the principal at that time (2008) told us that we made the choice to leave & they wouldn't accept us back. Luckily I knew a teacher @ Clay Elem. & she was able to get my son in there even though that wasn't our neighborhood school. I am disappointed w/RPE because they should've taken us back; it was our neighborhood school. I tried to meet w/the principal but she refused to talk to me. The staff (especially Veronica) is rude unprofessional. I would discourage anyone who moves into our neighborhood from sending their child(ren) to RPE. I gave them 2 stars because they do employ some good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

I attended Rolando Park Elem. Form the 2nd grade to the 5th grade. All the teachers and staff were amazing, they did nothing but helpful and caring towards me and my classmates. I am now graduated from high school. I have got to say that Mrs. Griswold was a huge part in my eduacation, if it weren't for her i would of never have gotten into reading. I absolutely loved that school , and i recommend it to any parent.


Posted August 25, 2009

i began attending Rolando Park elementary school in the year 1998. i am now a junior at Patrick Henry high school. i love this school and always have. i have many fond memories and i am always around to back it up. i enjoy visiting and seeing the school and the staff that are still there. whenever i get a chance, i love volunteering and being a part of my school. it was a great school and i am so fortunate that i got a chance to be a student. i will always represent my school and i will always love it!


Posted July 1, 2008

I was nothing but pleased with the education my daughter recieved this previous year. Mrs. Griswold began teaching her to enjoy school from the get go, with the patience of a saint she taught her reading, math, spelling and so much more. I can't say how pleased I am that my daughter had such a woderful teacher to begin her long process through the years to come. Thank you Mrs. Griswold I hope all the parents appreciate you as mush as we do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

In all my years at Rolando Park, I have never been as dissatisfied as this year. The new principal is horrible. I tried to approach regarding some issues but she would not make herself available. Phone calls and emails are not returned. Yolanda Lewis is the worst thing that ever happened to Rolando Park. This district needs to pat better attention as to whom they place as principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

This is a great school. It is very roomy and homey there are a lot of nice people and their teachers are very resourceful. I would reccomend this school for every child thats going to a new school because it's sure rolando park will make it feel like home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

If you like the feel of a close and caring community you will really love Rolando Park. The teachers and staff truely care about the students and parents. The communication between parents and teachers is key and constant. It really feels like a family here. I would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2004

Ms. Griswold is absolutely the best kindergarten teacher in the world. By the time my son was finished with his school year in her class, he was reading at a 3'rd grade level. However, in 1'st grade, he was put into a class where some of the students didn't even speak english. He is being slowed down and bored because he wasn't put into the appropriate class. The 1'st grade teacher, has her hands full. She has to somehow teach all of these students who are on all different levels and she just can't keep up. I spend a lot of time volunteering in the classroom and I still can't believe how poorly my sons' class was assembled. Maybe the principal and administration staff should start grouping children by skill level instead of throwing them all together and hoping it works out. I am very displeased with this and I am not the only one. I won't use names, but many of the teachers are not satisfied with the way this school is run and parents alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2003

Ms. Griswold is the best kindergarten teacher anyone could ask for. She instills in her students a desire to learn and achieve that continues throughout the year and into the later grades. Thank you Ms. Griswold. Great Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2003

I think Rolando is a great school for my daughter. I also like the late start because it is convenient for our family. The teachers are great and are approachable which is a nice quality to have. Keep up the good work Ms. Barnes and teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2003

Esta escuela se esfuerza por que sus alumonos aprendan y se superen dia con dia, mi hija asistio 4 anos el pasado 06/11/03 termino su 5th grado y estoy muy satisfecha. gracias Mrs. Patton, Mrs. Mccloskey, Mrs. Murray. siempre las recuerda Michel Fernandez de Jaureguy.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

785

Change from
2012 to 2013

+54

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

785

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+54

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
24%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females59%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students44%
Females36%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Females42%
Males38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner44%
Fluent-English proficient and English only33%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females67%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner72%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females75%
Males35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students60%
Females69%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Females36%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability37%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students53%
Females43%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students65%
Females57%
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 64%
Black 11%
Two or more races 8%
White 8%
Asian 7%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/AN/A
English language learners 41%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:20 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kimberly Meng
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (619) 344-3620

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Salvation Army Ray and Joan Kroc Center
  • Rolando Park Community Council
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Tours with the principal are available by appointment.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mann Middle School
CPMA
Pershing
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6620 Marlowe Drive
San Diego, CA 92115
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 344-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Faith Academy
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT