Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roosevelt International Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $390,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 19, 2013

Roosevelt is doing pretty well. It has come up from an API score of 714 in 2009 to around 830 the last two years. Both of our children like it there and are getting A's in advanced placement IB courses, so it works for us. The school district does include some poorer neighborhoods, which unavoidably brings some problems, but the school is doing its best to help those kids and give them a chance to go on to a good program at SD Hi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

Terrible school - moved to get my students into better district (both my children are GATE). Students must be self motivated or will fall through the cracks. Many disruptive and disrespectful students take away from those who want to learn. The positive programs within Primetime have been cut which leaves little going for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

This school should not even get one star it is TERRIBLE. I went here for seventh and eighth grade. In seventh grade it was AMAZING. The principal, Dr. Garcia, was a great leader and really stepped up to the plate. But then the short stick was drawn...literally. The principal is unprofessional; he does not even act as if he cares about the parents, staff, or students, and does not care about anything or anyone else. He took out all sports EXCEPT for cheerleading and exercises control over the students by bribery. My friends who still attend that school tell me that he has fired most of the old staff (which was impeccable) and hired a new staff (which are the exact opposite). I am not sure what motivates this man, but it sure is not the well being of this school and the people in it. The teachers, however, are EXCELLENT and they devote themselves to helping students in any way possible. They go out of their way to help a student succeed, regardles of their race, talent, education level, and backgraound. Though the principal is not very supportive, this does not mean your child will not thrive- it all depends on the person.


Posted July 24, 2013

this school needs new administration!! hopefully they get a new principal that will actually return calls and emails
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2013

this school is horrible...i have attended it for 3 years and this year was my last. It was horrible because the teachers are biased, kids are making out where ever you go, there are 3 pregnant girls, and its just crazy. the only people there that make it a good school are the 8th grade teachers.


Posted February 10, 2013

This was a great school but the current administration is uninspiring and ineffective. This used to boast one the best after school programs in the district and it has been replaced by something less than daycare. There are bright spots such as the top academic programs, cheer team and music program. However, these programs were mostly due to the work of the previous administration and staff that ran them. Such a shame to see a great school deteriorate because of the current leadership.


Posted February 6, 2013

This is my son's last year at this school and I think I am going to be probably the most happiest come promotion day. For the past 3 years, I've had nothing but problems with the Principal and several teachers regarding my son. I'm a very involved parent and my goal has always been to work with staff, teachers and administrators to ensure my son is receiving the education he is entitled too. For the first two years, I was only notified when my son was doing poorly in a class by a progress report. The teachers would fail a child without notifying the parents. There needs to be an administrative change at this school, it has been poorly ran for 3 years due to the current Principal. Roosevelt has not successful reached California's standards for the past 3 years, the whole time this new principal came on board. I'm just so glad I have 4 more months until we are done with this school! Please parents do your research before enrolling your child. The presentations they put on to get your child are great but the actual experience there is awful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

I have to admit, this is a great school because I'm a great student. The world language program is divine while my seminar classes are interesting and enjoyable! (Seminar is the highest level, there's normal classes, gate or cluster, and then seminar.) I was even given the choice to take a high school level math class. In addition, the extra curricular programs are amazing! I am currently enrolled in Circle of Friends, ASB, and cheerleading. All these programs are free and so much fun! However, there are the bad kids and teachers that ruin it for everyone. I don't expect to get along with all my teachers but sometimes they're just unreasonable. Also, as mentioned earlier, the PDA enforcement is not strict so you do see a bit of it now and then. So if you're child is sheltered, I would recommend something else, perhaps private school?


Posted November 22, 2012

It's not a very good school. The curriculum is okay; could be better and the children are very disrespectful. The P.D.A code is horrible! Wherever you walk there's couples making out. I hate this school and I'm glad that it's my last year. Also, the principle made our school stupid and hired a lot of teachers that the students don't like. I wouldn't recommend this school. It was the worst 3 years of my life.


Posted June 4, 2012

My son has attended this school for 2 years. Being a parent and having open communication with the teachers and administrative staff are very important to me. I get none of that from the teachers. My son was doing poorly in school without my knowledge until the progress reports came home. I contacted the teachers via email and voicemails and had no response. The ones that would respond would email a couple weeks after I had sent mine with follow up emails. I have left messages for the attendance staff and principal through phone and email with no response. In my eyes the staff at this school is very lazy and clearly does not care about the education of their students. If you are a parent about to enroll your child, I would search for other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

I know that lots of people say this is a great school but frankly its not. Ive been here three years and im about to leave for high school. This school wasnt that bad but its not great either. Since the zoo is right next to the school whenever you go run in PE you can smell all the animals... its not a nice smell. Anyway also some teachers here can not relate to you at all. Its like they dont even care. Sure the classes are small but what good is it if the teacher doesnt even try. Overall a good school but not the best...


Posted April 13, 2011

I erolled my daughter to this school although it's 6 miles away from our house based on good reviews and recommendations of teachers and principal. It's worth the trip, my daughter is excelling academically due to good teachers and very low student-teacher ratio. Less than 20 students per teacher. In one of her class, there's only 13 kids. Their after school program is really good and free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

Dangerious school/most kids are out of control If you care about your kids do not send them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2010

I sent my child to this school based on all th great things i heard about the staff and the principal in particular. Unfortunately she is no longer there. New principal seems lost and ineffective. Many new teachers who seem overwhelmed and unable to understand middleschoolers. PTO meetings are not highly attended. Some of the staff members are great but there are a few bad apples that make me wish I had choiced my child out oif this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

My son has attended Roosevelt now for all three years, about to go to SDHS IS school. I cannot thank all his teachers enough for the incredible challenge and care they have given him. He has been transformed as a student. The IB MYP program is excellent, focusing on big ideas, and the 6 to 6 is the best ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

The students have so much potential and the teachers are incredibly supportive.


Posted April 22, 2010

Hi, I am a new student here and I <3 this school. I am in Girls In Scinece, and Newspaper. It is great - they give great disiplin but still makes school fun. We have our P.E teachers- Mrs. Trochman and Mr. Payne- for 6th grade. There great. One thing that I am very apreciated is that your councelers dont leave you they come with you during 6th,7th,and 8th.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2010

I really love Roosevelt! I went there for 6th, 7th, and 8th grade and graduated last year and am now a student at SDHS School of International Studies. Roosevelt really prepared me for high school and I feel the things I learned there will continue to help me my whole life. I still go back to visit all the teachers, who are amazing! I can talk to them about anything, and still do!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2010

this school is really excellent! i am a cheerleader and i have been in guitar club and fern street circus! this school has very great gate and seminar programs! the teachers do all they can to help you get to college! i also think that the staff are very encouraging! this school has improved over the years. being the san diego zoo's neighbor can be very noisy at times but that doesnt matter. if you want your child to go to a wonderful school and to be in a sport or group to have fun in, then i highly recommend this school. i have been going to this school for 2 years and i am an advanced cheerleader. before and after school there is a 6 to 6 program called primetime. the 6 to 6 program includes hoework club, activites, cheer, fern street circus, tae kwon do and more!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

This is my daughters 1st year and the International Studies is very structured and all the staff seemed to be very involved in the students education and motivating. Everyday my daughter comes home excited to tell me what she learned that day. I haven't seen her so intrigued with all that she is learning until this year. This program is a great motivator for my daughter who is now starting to ask questions about college in her future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

792

Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

792

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
52%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
45%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
25%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females54%
Males50%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented77%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to state24%

Math

All Students50%
Females52%
Males49%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability24%
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented78%
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate81%
Parent education - declined to state21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students92%
Females94%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females58%
Males52%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability20%
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to state19%

Math

All Students33%
Females34%
Males30%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability33%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented52%
Parent education - not a high school graduate19%
Parent education - high school graduate23%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate48%
Parent education - declined to state14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students49%
Females54%
Males43%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented77%
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate52%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females56%
Males56%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability13%
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate21%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to state40%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students12%
Females12%
Males13%
African American8%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino9%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability17%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only15%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate11%
Parent education - high school graduate13%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)11%
Parent education - college graduate19%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state8%

Geometry

All Students79%
Females59%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented79%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students63%
Females62%
Males66%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state38%

Science

All Students63%
Females60%
Males65%
African American74%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to state40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 65%
White 14%
Black 10%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/AN/A
English language learners 22%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Arturo Cabello
Fax number
  • (619) 497-0918

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3366 Park Boulevard
San Diego, CA 92103
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 293-4450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Aseltine School
San Diego, CA


Museum
San Diego, CA


Balboa City School
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT