Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 78 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Roosevelt International Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted February 06, 2016
- a community member
Some are amazing, others not so much, again, like the real world. But the ones that have inspired my daughter or "blew her mind" with a history project she loved, really make a positive mark.

Roosevelt International Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted February 06, 2016
- a community member
Some classes are very challenging, others not so much, so I guess it's like life.


Roosevelt International Middle School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted February 06, 2016
- a community member
My daughter has become hyper-aware of anti-bullying campaigns specifically toward treating all kids equal, no matter what their gender identity or race. She also was a member of Circle of Friends where the kids lunch together with intellectually challenged students.

Roosevelt International Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 06, 2016
- a community member
Dr, Casillas has listened to staff and parents and acted on our concerns. She's accomplished an improvement in culture since she became principal in Sept. 2015.

Roosevelt International Middle School 4

Posted February 06, 2016
- a community member
My 8th grader has enjoyed her 3 years here and has had some really wonderful teachers. It's a large school with a very diverse population and I think she enjoys that experience. The after-school program supported by the YMCA staff and PTSA funds has a lot of options. As a parent, I'm excited about our new principal and the increased engagement with both teachers and parents I've seen. I heard from a teacher last night that he's really enjoying an improvement in the culture among the teachers and collaboration since Dr. Casillas has become principal. I do wish more parents would get involved in their students' education through PTSA and school activities.


Roosevelt International Middle School 5

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
My 6th grader is engaged and excited about the projects he is working on. All of the teachers are good, but a few are extraordinary, the kind of teachers you remember for a lifetime. It is a positive and challenging learning environment, the kids are supportive of each other. The after school clubs offer good opportunities to engage with engineering and arts.

Roosevelt International Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 23, 2015
- a community member
Ms Reilly, Ms Pierce, Mme Doyen, and Mr Garcia: Thank you all for making my son's school experience so enjoyable!! I know that as long as he enjoys learning, he will succeed.

Roosevelt International Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 23, 2015
- a community member
My son is learning so much from all his teachers! It's actually how impressive how effective the teachers are, considering the classes can be more than 30 kids. These teachers are good!


Roosevelt International Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 23, 2015
- a community member
I was worried about homework, but my son really doesn't have too much. There is some almost every day, but never too much, at most 1 hr on a heavy day. The math teacher occasionally gives math problems for homework, but the daily homework is a "math reflection:" what did we learn today with 2 examples.

Roosevelt International Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 23, 2015
- a community member
This school takes the IB (International Baccalaureate) principles very seriously, and promotes these values in all the kids in all aspects of school life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roosevelt International Middle School
3366 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA  92103-5299
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 78 reviews. (619) 293-4450
Last modified Roosevelt International Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top