Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcgill School Of Success

Charter | K-3

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

I love Mc gill teachers communicate well to make sure student success. Also there is programs for before and after school that is guaranteed for your child to be in. McGill has been like a village helping me and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

This is a great school, the staff and principal are very friendly, my kid feel there like he is in his home, it's a small and warm school, family oriented with a lot of activities and a good focus in high quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

This is thee most pityful school I have ever seen in my life. The teacher,s are teaching g a t e students nothing but what they learned last year. They are not challenged at all. I feel there is a lot of favortivity to alot of the student,s due to social economic situations. I would never put my own child into this school and fortunately my step daughter is finishing up her last year there. Also there is so much DRAMA between the kids it,s ridiculous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

My two children have truly taken a liking to school and learning. Here for the past two years at McGill school of success. The staff is caring and knowledgeable. I have a sense of security when my kids are in school knowing they are being taught well. Most of all the activities that involve wholly the entire family, with extreme attention to culture is truly a treat for us all. I do travel a ways to bring my boys to this school knowing that the school goes the distance for our family as well, is greatly appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

My child attends McGill and I am very satisfied with the schools overhal academics and staff, I feel that all the kids have everything they need here at McGill, the staff is very kind, helpul in everything that our children need, they are very welcoming. I Thank McGill for helping me with all my childs needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

I cannot express how dissastisfied I am with this school. I have two children that currently attend Mcgill and in all fairness, cannot wait until the school year is over. I was first drawn to the warm welcomes and friendly hello's but quickly tuned into what most don't see until the third and fourth month into the school year. I This school needs a SERIOUS overhaul. There is potential (i.e. a few good teachers, easy rapport with parrents, close-knit feel) though. The lack of cultural diversity, inconsistency with academic routines in the classroom, poor teacher-student communication, small classrooms and school site, unsanitary main bathrooms used for the day school and after-school programs. I could go on and on and on about this school because I have spent the last five months or so observing. If you are looking for an academically sound and nuturing enviroment, I HIGHLY suggest you look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

This is the second year our family has been a part of McGill. During year one, we traveled almost an hour both ways but the travel was worth the experience. A huge thanks to the entire team at McGill even Mr. Castro who does his job with joy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I just love McGill. It is such a family oriented school. The staff is loving and caring. I have twin boys at McGill. They have been attending McGill since preschool. I decided to move my boys to our neighborhood school for kindergarten but was very disappointed. I brought them back to McGill after two months. The boys are thriving and love McGill. Thank you to the entire staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

I have two of my boys attending mcgill. One in Kindergarden with Mrs. Terry a very very good teacher both my boys have been in her class. My older son that is now in first grade was in her class last year. I like her teaching ethics so much. I requested to have my younger son in her class this year. She is a great Teacher. My older son is now in first grade in Ms. Van Pelt class. She is also a wonderful teacher. The School is just magnificent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I love this school. The staff is friendly and informative. Both of my daughters attended this school and loved every minute of it. McGill staff and parents are supportive with activities and new ideas. I would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2003

McGill School of Success has a great asset they are underestimating! Teacher Ms. Carroll in my opinion is the best Teacher in the 92102 area. My son learned more from her in a semester than two years at neighboring Brooklyn Elementary. I think McGill should give her anything she asks in terms of money, position, and classroom selection in an effort to keep her. I know for a fact that she might be lured away for lack of recognition. This teacher gives quality education that rivals private schools in more affluent areas like lajolla and Coronado!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2003

I have two daughter enrolled in McGill SOS, one is in the pre-school program and the other in Kindergarten. They both just completed a full season and since the beginning of the school year I have seen nothing but academic and personal excellence on both of them. My oldest daughter Jasmine who was in Kindergarten is reading and writing and such an advance rate that it amazes me. My youngest daughter Marissa has come out more in her social behavior and has advanced so much academically that I am very proud of both of them. The school is great with community involvement, extracaricular activities and teaching the children the different facets of various culters which to me personally is a plus. The teachers show great concern of childrens individual needs and personal growth. I feel very fortunate that my wife had decided to send our kids to McGill SOS, and lastly their six to six program is so convenient for the working parents that makes the SOS much more of an outstanding program. McGill SOS (Bravo Zulu) Outstanding job keep up the good work.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

771

Change from
2012 to 2013

+71

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

N/A


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

771

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+71

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

1 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

N/A

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females17%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state40%

Math

All Students43%
Females33%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learner37%
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students34%
Femalesn/a
Males25%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability33%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students38%
Femalesn/a
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 74%
Black 13%
Two or more races 5%
White 4%
Asian 2%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/AN/A
English language learners 67%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Charlene Sapien
Fax number
  • (619) 239-1318

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3025 Fir Street
San Diego, CA 92102
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 239-0632

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Einstein Academy
San Diego, CA


Golden Hill K-8
San Diego, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT