Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 2,376
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 52 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Scripps Ranch High School 1

Posted March 30, 2015
- a student
This school is stupid. The staff is very rude to the students. For example my stomach was hurting and I went to the nurse, but she got furious and started complaining. The teachers also made fun of my projects. Don't even think about sending your child to this school.

Scripps Ranch High School 1

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
SRH is an extremely backward school. Parents that expected something like Marshall Middle will be very disappointed - almost zero use of the web for posting hw assignments or class materials, a block schedule that makes no sense, a private web site that seems to distance the school from standard DIstrict information and supports including the more functional web pages for the teaching staff. Academics at this school are not as good as they appear since, despite being a neighborhood public school, it seems that they find ways to eliminate some of their lower performing students. Obviously, the neighborhood is not very diverse and so neither is the school but it sounds like a prejudiced 'coding' in those the reviews that mention the wish that outsiders could be kept out of this school. Teachers are mostly OK, with relatively few in the weird and bad, category, the behavior of many of the top administration is atrocious in ways you will not have experienced before as they show complete lack of normal civility and professional behavior towards students and parents. I am looking forward to my children leaving this school.
7 people found this helpful


Scripps Ranch High School 4

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
Player selection for the Scripps Ranch women's varsity soccer team has more to do with politics than soccer. School guidelines regarding the selection of athletes are not based on individual merit and are purposefully vague to enable the coach to make whatever decisions he sees fit. This allows the coach to promote his club team within the school soccer program and "blackball" any athletes that he personally does not like, regardless of athletic ability/skill. The school does not question these "coaching decisions" and the coach seems quite comfortable in making them. This has been happening for awhile now, and all of these factors do not put the best team on the field... That's not a secret either.
2 people found this helpful

Scripps Ranch High School 2

Posted November 19, 2014
- a parent
The school and academics is great but the extra curricular activities such as sports was a let down when I witnesed it for myself that the unfairness, politics, and the little racisim that still exists amongst the students in this school. Aside from grades and gpa sports is a very big part of my child's life and is a big factor when colleges look at accepting a student. My review is based on two years of witnessing this unfairness and happened to wait an extra year to see if it was just coincidence. Big let down staff and students...
5 people found this helpful

Scripps Ranch High School 1

Posted November 06, 2014
- a student
This school sucks go to another school cuz its better for you. go somewhere else that is better than this school
4 people found this helpful


Scripps Ranch High School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a student
My school is Scripps Ranch High School. It is an excellent high school I have ever seen!:)

Scripps Ranch High School 5

Posted November 09, 2013
- a student
Scripps Ranch High School is amazing! The teachers and faculty are involved with the students, they're helpful, and they include ALL students in activities. The classes are challenging but teachers do offer tutoring almost every day (depending on the teacher) AND the teachers are friendly and understanding so if you do not understand a certain subject or you need extra help, there's afterschool tutoring on Tuesdays and Thursdays after school for an hour and that includes ALL subjects. Math, language, science, english, EVERYTHING. Scripps Ranch High is the best to go to!

Scripps Ranch High School 1

Posted May 01, 2013
- a student
WORST SCHOOL EVER! It is full of bullies and mean people. The teachers never teach and are so annoying. The so-called "Block Schedule" sucks. You have to sit in a class for 2 HOURS and do nothing. The school also doesn't have A/C and the heat barely works. In the morning, the classes are freezing cold and people usually fall asleep during class. Then during the afternoons people are sweating and the class smells really bad. The bathrooms at this school are nasty. They smell really bad and they don't even have paper towels. They have really cheap hand dryers that blow cool air and most of them are broken. And don't get me started on the rat problem. There are rats in the ceiling everywhere. They chew stuff up and are disgusting.
10 people found this helpful


Scripps Ranch High School 5

Posted August 13, 2012
- a student
This is an Awesome school! I l really do luv it here, at thsi school!

Scripps Ranch High School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school. I really don't know why so many people decide to leave Scripps or have there children not attend it in favor of a private school. Scripps is much closer to most of those parents and the school's scores and alumni rival that of many private schools. Maybe they don't like the kids that aren't native Scripps Ranch (which makes up a small minority of the population, but noticeable) and I tend to agree, but that's up to the district not the school. I give the school a 4.9 out of 5 if I could and would give a complete 5 if they would do the right thing and only let local kids go here.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Scripps Ranch High School
10410 Treena Street, San Diego, CA  92131
(858) 621-9020
Last modified Scripps Ranch High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Scripps Ranch High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top