Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Scripps Ranch High School 2

Posted November 29, 2015
- a parent
This school tells school that placement tests will not affect child in any way then it affects placement when child does not try their best. They tell me that they have 30+ years experience,and there attitudesare similar to 30 years ago as well.

Scripps Ranch High School 5

Posted May 10, 2015
- a student
About the negative reviews on this school, all i have to say is that it really differs from what you choose. For example, one says that the kids in class are always sleeping and doing nothing, but that's for lower level classes such as regular biology. This is so because the students are not that intelligent or, as mostly the case, not that willing to do homework. This is why the teacher does not force you that much, because you choose to be in a easier class. In AP or Honors, everybody is crazy studying.


Scripps Ranch High School 1

Posted April 17, 2015
- a student
I would never go back to this school. This is filled with snobby rich white kids who are only open to being friends with other snobby rich white kids. I felt so alone at this place. The teachers were unsupportive of me while I was going through a rough time during the months I attended. Staff only favors the overachieving, upper middle class kids. Don't go here if you're not any of that. Attend MMHS, it's much more lively and accepting.

Scripps Ranch High School 1

Posted March 30, 2015
- a student
This school is stupid. The staff is very rude to the students. For example my stomach was hurting and I went to the nurse, but she got furious and started complaining. The teachers also made fun of my projects. Don't even think about sending your child to this school.

Scripps Ranch High School 1

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
SRH is an extremely backward school. Parents that expected something like Marshall Middle will be very disappointed - almost zero use of the web for posting hw assignments or class materials, a block schedule that makes no sense, a private web site that seems to distance the school from standard DIstrict information and supports including the more functional web pages for the teaching staff. Academics at this school are not as good as they appear since, despite being a neighborhood public school, it seems that they find ways to eliminate some of their lower performing students. Obviously, the neighborhood is not very diverse and so neither is the school but it sounds like a prejudiced 'coding' in those the reviews that mention the wish that outsiders could be kept out of this school. Teachers are mostly OK, with relatively few in the weird and bad, category, the behavior of many of the top administration is atrocious in ways you will not have experienced before as they show complete lack of normal civility and professional behavior towards students and parents. I am looking forward to my children leaving this school.


Scripps Ranch High School 4

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
Player selection for the Scripps Ranch women's varsity soccer team has more to do with politics than soccer. School guidelines regarding the selection of athletes are not based on individual merit and are purposefully vague to enable the coach to make whatever decisions he sees fit. This allows the coach to promote his club team within the school soccer program and "blackball" any athletes that he personally does not like, regardless of athletic ability/skill. The school does not question these "coaching decisions" and the coach seems quite comfortable in making them. This has been happening for awhile now, and all of these factors do not put the best team on the field... That's not a secret either.

Scripps Ranch High School 2

Posted November 19, 2014
- a parent
The school and academics is great but the extra curricular activities such as sports was a let down when I witnesed it for myself that the unfairness, politics, and the little racisim that still exists amongst the students in this school. Aside from grades and gpa sports is a very big part of my child's life and is a big factor when colleges look at accepting a student. My review is based on two years of witnessing this unfairness and happened to wait an extra year to see if it was just coincidence. Big let down staff and students...

Scripps Ranch High School 1

Posted November 06, 2014
- a student
This school sucks go to another school cuz its better for you. go somewhere else that is better than this school


Scripps Ranch High School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a student
My school is Scripps Ranch High School. It is an excellent high school I have ever seen!:)

Scripps Ranch High School 5

Posted November 09, 2013
- a student
Scripps Ranch High School is amazing! The teachers and faculty are involved with the students, they're helpful, and they include ALL students in activities. The classes are challenging but teachers do offer tutoring almost every day (depending on the teacher) AND the teachers are friendly and understanding so if you do not understand a certain subject or you need extra help, there's afterschool tutoring on Tuesdays and Thursdays after school for an hour and that includes ALL subjects. Math, language, science, english, EVERYTHING. Scripps Ranch High is the best to go to!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Scripps Ranch High School
10410 Treena Street, San Diego, CA  92131
(858) 621-9020
Last modified Scripps Ranch High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Scripps Ranch High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. Top