Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sequoia Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
The entire staff, teachers and administrators, are EXCELLENT! It is nice to see adults treating children with respect. I am so glad to be the parent of a Sequoia Dragon as well as a Sequoia Blue Jay myself.

Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a first grader this year. The school's principal is very involved with the day to day operations and interacts with the children in a respectful way. He talks to them directly. All of the teachers I have met are outstanding and the child care program (Prime Time) is top notch.


Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
This is the first year my girls have been here. It's the fourth elementary school my oldest has attended, and I feel it's the best by far. It's small, personable, and very comfortable. All the teachers and staff are great, and the principal is a true gem. I can't say enough good things about this school.

Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school overall! The staff excels in teaching and the campus is safe. Although it is small, the teachers properly care for students and teach them what is needed to be taught in order for them to succeed.

Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
My son will be attending Sequoia for the 3rd year. The staff is amazing. The school although smaller then most really cares for the success of the students and communicates with parents when necessary! Our test scores are really good and attendance is off the chart!


Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted July 02, 2012
- a parent
This is my girls first year at Sequoia from Pennsylvania. We couldn't be more pleased. This is a wonderful, hands on school. The teachers, principal, staff and PTA are amazing. The teachers truly care and take pride in their job and school. I love the fact that the principal is very approachable and remembers all of his students and parents. Coming from a large school, this is a refreshing change. We love Sequoia!!!!!

Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2011
- a parent
Sequoia is a great school!!! Its classrooms are being updated with Promethean boards and all children have access to technology. New programs that show real world application of computers are being implemented. Along with this, there is a new PE teacher. She is spunky and really gets the kids moving!!! Another great bonus to Sequoia is PrimeTime. The staff is friendly and well organized. The children attending this before and after school care enjoy their program. I also love the PTA. The programs that the PTA brings in - acting classes and trips to the theatre, show children there is so much more in this world. The PTA tries to create programs and events to encourage more parent involvement. They are open and welcoming to any and all volunteers. The best of all is that the teachers and staff really make the effort to know our families. I feel as if Sequoia Elementary is an extension of our home.

Sequoia Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
It is a very good School. Teachers are very nice & intelligent. Excellent & Friendly environment. My Son is studying in this school. Over all Good School.


Sequoia Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
It is a very good School. Teachers are very nice & intelligent. Excellent & Friendly environment. My Son is studying in this school. They just need to see other Best school Dist. to compare, how to advance this school to next level. Government should not cut the cost for the schools. I wish Sequoia to come up with flying colors.- Over all Very Good School.

Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
This one of the best schools in the San Diego Unified School district. Recently, the school received two of the most prestigious honors a school can earn - California Distinguished School and Title I Academic Achievement Award. The new principal is very intelligent and kind. The teachers work hard and develop great relationships with the students and parents. My child has loved every teacher she's had at the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sequoia Elementary School
4690 Limerick Avenue, San Diego, CA  92117-3220
(858) 496-8240
Last modified Sequoia Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sequoia Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top