Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
San Diego, CA
Students enrolled: 251
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
This is the first year my girls have been here. It's the fourth elementary school my oldest has attended, and I feel it's the best by far. It's small, personable, and very comfortable. All the teachers and staff are great, and the principal is a true gem. I can't say enough good things about this school.

Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2012
- a parent
Excellent school overall! The staff excels in teaching and the campus is safe. Although it is small, the teachers properly care for students and teach them what is needed to be taught in order for them to succeed.


Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
My son will be attending Sequoia for the 3rd year. The staff is amazing. The school although smaller then most really cares for the success of the students and communicates with parents when necessary! Our test scores are really good and attendance is off the chart!

Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted July 02, 2012
- a parent
This is my girls first year at Sequoia from Pennsylvania. We couldn't be more pleased. This is a wonderful, hands on school. The teachers, principal, staff and PTA are amazing. The teachers truly care and take pride in their job and school. I love the fact that the principal is very approachable and remembers all of his students and parents. Coming from a large school, this is a refreshing change. We love Sequoia!!!!!

Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2011
- a parent
Sequoia is a great school!!! Its classrooms are being updated with Promethean boards and all children have access to technology. New programs that show real world application of computers are being implemented. Along with this, there is a new PE teacher. She is spunky and really gets the kids moving!!! Another great bonus to Sequoia is PrimeTime. The staff is friendly and well organized. The children attending this before and after school care enjoy their program. I also love the PTA. The programs that the PTA brings in - acting classes and trips to the theatre, show children there is so much more in this world. The PTA tries to create programs and events to encourage more parent involvement. They are open and welcoming to any and all volunteers. The best of all is that the teachers and staff really make the effort to know our families. I feel as if Sequoia Elementary is an extension of our home.


Sequoia Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
It is a very good School. Teachers are very nice & intelligent. Excellent & Friendly environment. My Son is studying in this school. Over all Good School.

Sequoia Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
It is a very good School. Teachers are very nice & intelligent. Excellent & Friendly environment. My Son is studying in this school. They just need to see other Best school Dist. to compare, how to advance this school to next level. Government should not cut the cost for the schools. I wish Sequoia to come up with flying colors.- Over all Very Good School.

Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
This one of the best schools in the San Diego Unified School district. Recently, the school received two of the most prestigious honors a school can earn - California Distinguished School and Title I Academic Achievement Award. The new principal is very intelligent and kind. The teachers work hard and develop great relationships with the students and parents. My child has loved every teacher she's had at the school.


Sequoia Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
Sequoia is a hidden gem! Excellent and caring teachers who motivate all kids to want to learn and grow, a welcoming atmosphere where families know they are welcomed, high parent involvement including an active PTA, academically strong, and a principal who took a little school that in a sense was a diamond in the rough, and brought to surface the intangibles that make Sequoia shine. The success of this school is truly a school community effort. To top it off, has earned the honor of being named a CALIFORNIA DISTINGUISHED SCHOOL!

Sequoia Elementary School 1

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
School is not properly equipped to deal with special needs children. Staff is not trained properly in addressing these needs. Staff is rude, constantly losing paper work. New principle does not take parents concerns seriously.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sequoia Elementary School
4690 Limerick Avenue, San Diego, CA  92117
(858) 496-8240
Last modified Sequoia Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6
Sequoia Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top