Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

US News reports out of 28,561 high schools, 6,000 received honors- Serra High School is one of those that received recognition. Serra High School is in the top 15% out of the 6,000 recognized high schools recognized. Dr. Mays has continued to focus the school on academic success.
May 08, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
US News reports out of 28,561 high schools, 6,000 received honors- Serra High School is one of those that received recognition. Serra High School is in the top 15% out of the 6,000 recognized high schools recognized. Dr. Mays has continued to focus the school on academic success.
Posted May 08, 2016

Serra High School 2

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
Serra used to be a great school, until Mr. Mays became principal. Since that time the school has steadily gone down hill. Student and faculty/staff morale is at an all-time low. Heck there are teachers that are looking to be transferred because of Mr. Mays. When bad things happen, very little is done to protect kids because Mr. Mays is more concerned with his image then actually doing his job. He is narcissistic, condescending and feels he is superior to everyone. It's sad actually, when after almost 4 years of your child attending a school that they truly loved, that they cannot wait to graduate to get away from this man!


Serra High School 4

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
My family has been very pleased with our local high school, Junipero Serra. My oldest son is involved with sports, takes AP classes, has a diverse community of friends and gets good grades. My youngest son is excited about finally being able to attend this Fall. Our family volunteers, attends school events and stays connected with the faculty, sports teams and other parents. This makes for a great school experience. There are some teachers & staff who are obviously waiting for retirement, but the same could be said for any public institution. We are happy with our decision to attend and support our local school. I wish more families would do the same which will only improve the quality of education and campus experience.

Serra High School 4

Posted February 05, 2014
- a student
When a person first walks into the campus of Junipero Serra High School ones perception of the school changes based on what one does in their high school year and which teachers you get. Personally there are things I like about this school such as the ranges of diversity in this school to the people in the school. Who the people are defines the school and this school it is way harder to define the cliques. That is a major plus. Yet the school as a ego and "We love fried chicken" just about sums it up. Personally i am not in thrill of the condition of the school yet the programs and kids make up for it. I am in NJROTC in which some minor repairs could drastically change the outlook on this unit. I am a fan of JROTC i see how it establishes patriotism, creates young leaders and more mature people yet leadership rests on the staff and how they impact the lives of the cadets. All in all this depends on the bias of the kids. you do not have to be a mastermind to be in this school just take the classes which are a necessity which some people like I hate. I am not a fan that when I am an senior next year it is either regular or AP classes oh well, got to deal with what you got.

Serra High School 2

Posted December 18, 2012
- a parent
to the parents who think they will get involved and make it better . good luck the administration at this school can counter any possible common sense you have about your childs education. the front office needs to be fired !!


Serra High School 2

Posted October 22, 2012
- a parent
Counselors and a very few of the administrative staff need much to be desired. It was a GREAT thing that .. ...... retired before this school year began. Until contact with this situation, my children and family previously experienced competant, engaged, energetic, motivated reliable, knowledgeable experiences with other school administration and personnel with other schools. Until this exposure, a counselor who was consistently poorly representing a school and poorly advising students by being largely inattentive and extremely aloof, was something very foreign to me and my family; however, it seemed this counselor was heavily protected by the administration. WHAT AN OVERALL DISAPPOINTMENT..

Serra High School 4

Posted September 22, 2011
- a parent
I disagree with the way the other poster has characterized the drug problem at Serra High School. The drug problem is throughout San Diego County. While we all struggle to watch our kids and filter who they interact with, I kind of think it is a bit unfair to blame the problem on the school. We live in a different time with all of the cutbacks in our school system and as parents we should be getting more involved with the school, not tearing down staff credibility. I usually never comment on sites like this but I have looked at a lot of the schools before selecting Serra through the Choice program. Serra High School is a good school as long as you stay involved with the school and your kids life. San Diego Unified School District is NOT a place to send your kids to school if you are an "autopilot parent."

Serra High School 4

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
We've been very pleased with our boys' experiences at Serra High. One of our sons is graduating & is off to U of A! He had many opportunities in his 4 years at Serra to prepare for the college-life that is ahead of him (successful sports teams, student leadership, academic clubs, AP classes, & fun clubs). He performed well on his SAT's, and was accepted into many top colleges, including schools in the UC system. Our other son, a sophomore, continues to shine as well. He is consistently being challenged and getting straight A's. He too has been on a successful CIF playoff sports team, is involved in Key Club, AP club, and takes full advantage of all that Serra has to offer. We are so thankful that our kids chose Serra High, & are blessed that the school is in our own backyard!


Serra High School 2

Posted March 07, 2010
- a student
I would not send your kid's to Serra. The administration is very distant. Some the teacher's are very kind and care about the student's but about half of the teachers seem like they just don't care about the student. In their defense, most of the students don't care about themselves. The students are mostly rude, interruptive and unintelligent, with a minority of the school being tolerable. The faculty and community seems to pump money into the sports programs, even though only a few of the teams at Serra are consistent let alone consistently good. The VAPA department has great teachers, with Mrs. Howell being one of the best theatre teachers and Mr. Rea being one of the best band directors in the county. The only problem is, the VAPA department recieves very little money at the district, school, and community levels. They do work very hard with what they have.

Serra High School
no rating

Posted January 20, 2010
- a student
well i really enjoy going to Serra, although i feel some of my classes could be more organized i think that overall this is a good school. the sports programs are good and they involove the students in many clubs and extracurricular activities. the teachers could work on their relationships with students, but they do provide tutoring after school one on one with your actual teacher and not just a random student. this school has room for improvement but what high school doesn't? i love it here(:

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Serra High School
5156 Santo Road, San Diego, CA  92124-2037
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (858) 496-8342
Last modified Serra High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top